Leader Bike LD-796R Frames

Leader Bike LD-796R Frames 

DESCRIPTION

The 796R is our flagship road frame. Full carbon construction yields a road frame that is light, incredibly stiff, but still comfortable for the all day ride. The challenges of every frame builder are lugs, bonds and welds. But the hefty advantages of Full Carbon main tube construction usually comes with a headache of a price. So here it is, the impossible combination of weight, stiffness, comfort and price.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Jun 09, 2008]
physiodamo
Road Racer

Strength:

well built, race/general warranty, COST, post purchase help and communication with leaderbikes, comfort, traditional geometry looks.

Weakness:

Best to make sure your bike builder removes the rear hanger and locktites it into place, i don't think this is a factory job. not a weakness just beaware!

Great looker, excellent seemless construction, traditional geometry. Looks the bidness with the XXX lite carbon Bontragers, white Selle Gel Flight seat, black tao bottle cages and of course durace groupset. Total weight(complete, incl pedals just look keo classics, so there is a couple of extra grams to lose, and bike computer) is 7.4kg.

In a race, it is fast across the flats, quick up hills, handles well down hills. It's stiff and responsive in a sprint (not that i can sprint) and is willing to go when asked going up ( added to buy the XXX lites.

I was always told, a fast bike standing still, is still standing still, a bike needs an engine, if you are budget concious, then for the price i paid all up for this bike (5500 kiwi) you would struggle to get all these specs on a new bike for anywhere near that!

Similar Products Used:

Trek,

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 14, 2008]
ifouiripilay
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Price, if the geometry works for you I'd buy it again, warrenty, stiffness, semi compact. the feel for the road

Weakness:

none yet.

This is my first full carbon bike so I'm unable to really compare it to another full carbon bike but comparing it to my steel and carbon/alum and full alum bikes in the best this has felt the best to me (keep in mind the geometry were pretty different amoung them). I have a full DA set up w/ deda stem and bars, mavic ssc wheels w/ceramic bearings. Though it's not the lightest bike I've had, it's reasonable. I recently road it in solvang full/half century and I couldn't be happier w/ the performance.

Similar Products Used:

giant ocr, fuji team pro, salsa la raza

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 27, 2007]
Kevin Donnelly
Recreational Rider

Strength:

I'm an "in between" size and this frame is a perfect fit.

Great bike, light weight, and a steel for the price. Not only a great ride, but great looking ride too.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 11, 2007]
James
Road Racer

Strength:

The frame is stiff when stomping on the pedals, but comfy for rough pavement and cobbles. It decends rock-solid at over 50 mph, and corners well in criteriums. The great dampening on rough roads feels like your rear tire is low, but it is not whippy.

Weakness:

The Derailluer hanger is a little short, I can't get a 27 gear on the back for mountain climbing. Also, because of the front shifter cable running thru a hole in the BB, it shifts a little harder than I like. I ran a piece of teflon tube thru there and its fine. I found about a cup of water in my BB and lower rear wheel stays from riding in a couple rain storms.

I was really skeptical that a carbon frame could be had this cheap, or any of their aluminum frames also. But, the quality is there. I am amazed. Go to their site to find it.

Similar Products Used:

Aluminum 3.0 Crit Cannondale w/105
Steel Giordana w/Ultegra
Aluminum Bianchi Reparto Corse w/Dura-Ace
Auminum Masi w/Dura-Ace

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 21, 2007]
danielhaden
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Longer life of lugged carbon construction.
No flex because of lugged carbon construction.
Excellent service--very friendly and upfront.
Comes in the right size! This is a particular in-between size that no other vendor has.
A short top tube that facilitates low handlebars (actually feels nice!) to stop backache. Yay!!
Its a team bike!

Weakness:

The stronger, longer lasting version of carbon frames, whether Titus or Leader (and many more) shares the same tiny caveat. They're heaver, and this means that components will cost a bit more.
However, any Campy drive and some Rol wheels is enough to make it fly just fine. If you're going to cover it (or any of its peers) in Shimano, well that is going to cost a bit.
So, just use some sense and watch the weight. Since the Campy+Rol solution is actually inexpensive, then this weight issue really isn't a flaw at all.
So, no weaknesses whatsoever.

I went shopping at my local Trek store for a bike that fits without the backache.
That means top tube is to be a smaller figure than bike size.
The 1500 and 1000 WSD (fortunately a blue color) have the top tube shorter than the bike size (like Specialized Roubaix, but less price); however, they all came only in too small or too large.

They recommended the Leader 796R frame in size 55. That's right. The Trek dealer recommended the Leader frame for a person seeking a comfortable reach with performance.

I call Leader to verify the sizing as their advertisment instructs. They were very pleasant, matter-of-fact honest, and came through quickly despite the fact that they were quite busy.
Chris and Sal were top notch on service. It was like a phone call to Mayberry.
Thanks guys!
Come to think of it, their after-sales service was much better than pre-sales service. And, I really like that.

Similar Products Used:

Scott, Giant, Trek
The Scott could not fit.
The Trek was very competent, but not specific to me.
The Giant had very crazy steering, but was almost as quick as the Scott (except in no particular direction).
The Trek WSD size 54 had my proportions, but was too little and the 57 was too big.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 13, 2007]
pdlpshr
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Climbing, stiffness of the bottom bracket (minimum sway), acceleration, paint/ clearcoat- so far. PRICE!! Bang for the Buck! Looks good too!

Weakness:

none so far, minus the fact that the bike club doesnt know who leader is..But who gives a frick? Not me, cause I dont want to be riding the bike that everyone else has just in other colors, thats borderline homo/wannabe.

I have ridden, carbon since the early days of specialized epic, look 281, then look 381, swapped to specialized m5 (with the canoe cutout on the seattube), colnago hybrid, next went to litespeed tuscany Ti with carbon fork then back to another look 381 team model, which I still have and last summer I bought a Scott CR1 Duval Team frame and fork and dressed it out in Duraace 10spd with Ksyrium ssl wheels. The Scott was the absolute best climbing, riding, responsive bike I have ever owned, but I paid over 2000.00 just for the frame and fork from a buddy of mine who owns a bike shop that gave me the demo model at his cost. I love this bike with the exception of the clearcoat and how they have the front derailleur mount. Within months the seat tube started bubling under the clearcoat and especially around the front derailleur mount. It is under warranty review right now. So in the meantime, I bought this leader bike to ride while my Scott is being worked out, and let me tell you. I am as happy or more happy if that is possible with this 600.00 leader frame and fork. It handles Identicle or even better then my Scott CR1 that I am tempted to take my replacement Scott frame and fork and sell them on ebay and just keep riding the Leader.

Similar Products Used:

Scott CR1 and the Look 585 /381 team

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 04, 2006]
C Evans
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Climbing, Smoothness

Weakness:

Wheelset

Seems to be a great product for price, full carbon with Shimano 105. After assembled weighed 19.7 lbs. Wheel set alittle weak. Back wheel has been trued 3 times. Overall very satisfied, could have spent a lot more and still ben short on quality

Similar Products Used:

Cannondale 3.0

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 26, 2006]
BRADTEIWAZ
Road Racer

Strength:

CLIMBS, CORNERS, VERY SMOOTH ON THE ROAD,
GOOD ACCELERATION

Weakness:

THEY SHOULD HAVE PUT A BRAZE ON FRONT DERAILER, AND NOT A CLAMP.

Here is a rather odd story, i used to have an alloy frame from leader, the bike was what was left over from several other bikes. GT ZR 1000 AND A GIANT .
ANY WAY.The bike was worn out so i passed it on to a friend.
And bought a trek Madone 5.2 brand new.
It was a great bike but it did not climb or accelerate like the alloy leader frame.
so i decided to ditch the Trek frame and fork and try out leaders new 796R with there new carbon fork. All the ultegra, bontrager goodies were swaped over from the Madone.
I have to say it is faster up hills and is quicker off the mark than the trek
it also rides and corners beter . It is smooth, but lively.
Hands down its a better frame, even if no one has ever heard of A Leader.

Similar Products Used:

GT ZR1000 GIANT TREK MADONE 5.2

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.