Pinarello Dogma Frames

Available At:
Dogma

The human body is symmetrical. But there's an inherent asymmetry to how your bicycle catalyzes the power you put into the pedals. It's easy to visualize, for example, how in a high-wattage effort your right chainstay is torqued more acutely than the left. The cause is obvious: Your crankset, chain, and cassette attach to the right side of your bike. It's more than just a chainstay issue, though. Power is absorbed unevenly across your bike as a whole. The Pinarello Dogma Carbon is the first dedicated effort by a manufacturer to design a frame that creates an equilibrium by conceiving and constructing each side of a frame individually. Thanks to its asymmetrical design, the Dogma Carbon is Pinarello's lightest bike (40g lighter than the Prince Carbon at 950g); it provides maximum drivetrain efficiency with no degradation of ride quality; and between the sculpted tubes and sparkling "Diamond" paint treatment it's the loveliest Pinarello we've ever beheld. During the design process of the Dogma Carbon, Pinarello calculated the variance in frame distortion (left side of the frame vs. right side, at multiple points in the frame) first by using finite element analysis, and then they confirmed their calculations in laboratory testing. In comparing one side to the other, they found simultaneous variances of up to 3mm in deflection. The real-world implication is straightforward: When building a frame in the traditional fashion, i.e. with two symmetrical halves, it's easy to over-build the non-drivetrain side of a frame, adding unnecessary harshness to the ride quality, as well as excess weight. Likewise, it's easy to under-build the drivetrain side, allowing for power-robbing frame flex in an attempt to de-stiffen the ride quality.Couldn't Pinarello just add more layers of carbon or tweak the fiber orientation in order to beef up the stiffness on the drivetrain-side of the Dogma? That would've been inadequate. Stiffness is more a function of tubing shape than wall thickness (hence the evolution of frames with mammoth tube diameters) -- which brings us to the heart & soul of the Dogma concept: Pinarello made the effort to fully map out the asymmetrical forces exerted on each side of a frame. Armed with this information they then build an asymmetrical frame, each half of which is uniquely optimized for these different sets of forces. For the first time ever, the left and right halves of a frame aren't a mirror image of each other.The asymmetrical design of the Dogma Carbon is subtle -- you won't notice it from across the room. But when you're within touching distance you'll see how the right half of the top tube is rounded, while the left half is more squared-off. You'll see how the right leg of the Onda FPX1 fork is bigger and more curvaceous throughout its circumference in comparison to the left leg. The left chainstay is more muscular as it approaches the bottom bracket shell, and the right chainstay is less substantial there but gains significa

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
ROLEX   Road Racer [Oct 30, 2011]
Strength:

stiff and light, very responsive frame, I like the diamond color paint. Sexy pinarello lines, it's a work of art.

Weakness:

none!!!

Dead sexy frame, beautiful, really a head turner bike,highly sought frame out there. When I use my colnago no one really bothers to look but when I jump on my Dogma it's a different story and feeling.

Similar Products Used: Colnago EPS
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Alan   Road Racer [May 14, 2011]
Strength:

Beautiful, a real head turner.

Weakness:

Uncomfortable and heavy. WAY overpriced!

I bought the Dogma as a seccond bike to my Time RXR Ulteam. I thought the bike was the most beautiful bike I had ever seen and it had great reviews. I am very dissapointed. I am not sure I believe that it is made in Italy as they claim. The seat post is junk and you are stuck with it. The cable routing is not very good and caused some bad shifting because it was hanging up on the

Similar Products Used: Time RXR Ulteam, Orbea Orca.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
1
Jpddrake   Recreational Rider [Feb 07, 2010]
Strength:

The Ride and the reliability. We opted for full Dura Ace equipment, Look pedals, and Zipp wheels. Never a problem!

Weakness:

I have no complaints after 3 years+. The amazing thing is it was so far ahead of everything else out there, I still feel as though my bike is brand new!

I bought the bike at the encouragement of the experts at Coral Way, when I was looking for a strong, light, comfortable ride. This bike has really exceeded all expectatations. When I read the comments front others about paint chipping I was amazed, because I have never had any chipping. In fact the finish today is as good as ever despite a couple trips to the pavement. With the carbon forks and read triangle, the ride is smooth and comfortable.

Similar Products Used: I had a Colnago, before and before that a Schwinn Paramount, which goes back a few years, but was a great bike!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Rohovit   Road Racer [Jul 30, 2008]
Strength:

Stiff and super fast. Great Looking

Weakness:

Price. But you get what you pay for.

Dogma's are the sexiest bike on the road. This bike is super fast and very comfortable. It climbs like a champ and the decent is an amazing experience on this bike.

Similar Products Used: Specialized Roubaix
Colnago C50
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
wilmar13   Road Racer [Jan 19, 2007]
Strength:

Good sprinting and out of saddle power over 1200 watts, yet comfy and reliable (I have put over 30,000km on mine with lots of bad pavement, no problems)

Weakness:

It is expensive, it isn't especially light, and the paint is not too great (scratches easily). Also when it rains I gete some water down the seat tube from somewhere... perhaps all bikes do this, and this is the first one I noticed it with.

It seems the Dogma has suffered from some intital quality problems, but I have none from mine. I am a large powerful rider and the Dogma is the best frame I have ever owned in terms of ride comfort and stifffness. I guess you could say pick any two: comfortable, stiff, cheap... guess which the Dogma isn't...

Similar Products Used: Cannondale Caad 5, Litespeed Ultimate
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
Pinarello1966   Recreational Rider [Apr 09, 2006]
Strength:

Strength, responsiveness, comfort, stability, design

Weakness:

Price

The Dogma's magnesium frame is very light, extremely stiff, highly responsive, yet ultra smooth and comfortable.

The carbon Onda forks and seatstays are not just for show - they absorb all the buzz that the harshest of roads can throw at them. Handling is precise and the bike remains manoeuvrable and highly stable at speed.

Pick of the Dogma paint schemes is a simply awesome red, white and black job, which is infinitely preferable to the revamped design on the FP where the white paint has been replaced by silver stickers.

And as previous reviewers have rightly stated, Dogmas look ridiculous with Shimano, so just don't go there....

Similar Products Used: Pinarello Dogma FP with similar setup.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
wunderkap   Road Racer [Aug 29, 2005]
Strength:

Feel and Strength! The magnesium frame is very light, strong, and responsive which makes the ride safer. It makes the aluminum and Ti bikes feel harsh and carbon bikes feel like cardboard. The Lord Blue color is awesome but I wish there was white paint where the silver accent stickers are like Fassa Bortolo. I love the comfort and the look of the Onda carbon fork and rear stays. Campy is a must on this bike, shifts flawless. Steering is very accurate. With the Zip B2 carbon bar w/Specialized BG Bar Phat under the cinelli cork tape and the smooth magnesium Stella Azzura ViseVersa Stem the bike is ultra comfortable with no jitter. Its probably the only bike I can get away with using the rock hard Selle Italia SLR Carbon seat where it feels like I am sitting on a couch. I have had no paint chipping. I can't figures out how it can be so stiff yet so comfortable at the same time. Petacchi just won today at the Vuelta with his Dogma. He has won more races that anyone else for the last two years with his Dogma. That’s good enough for me.

Weakness:

None. I love the beefy welds. I don't really care for the silver accent stickers.

Feel and Strength! The magnesium frame is very light, strong, and responsive which makes the ride safer. It makes the aluminum and Ti bikes feel harsh and carbon bikes feel like cardboard. The Lord Blue color is awesome but I wish there was white paint where the silver accent stickers are like Fassa Bortolo. I love the comfort and the look of the Onda carbon fork and rear stays. Campy is a must on this bike, shifts flawless. Steering is very accurate. With the Zip B2 carbon bar w/Specialized BG Bar Phat under the cinelli cork tape and the smooth magnesium Stella Azzura ViseVersa Stem the bike is ultra comfortable with no jitter. Its probably the only bike I can get away with using the rock hard Selle Italia SLR Carbon seat where it feels like I am sitting on a couch. I have had no paint chipping. I can't figures out how it can be so stiff yet so comfortable at the same time. Petacchi just won today at the Vuelta with his Dogma. He has won more races that anyone else for the last two years with his Dogma. That’s good enough for me.

Similar Products Used: Cerverlo R2.5 Carbon, Gios, Guro Carbonio'TI
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
David60   Road Racer [Jun 17, 2005]
Strength:

NONE!

Weakness:

Magnesium tubes, Pinarello name, Pinarello Customer Service, stickers, paint chipping off, broken chain stay, what a pure waste of money!

Bought a new Dogma 8 months ago. It broke in half without warning at the bottom bracket / chain stay joint. Paints had chipped off everywhere. It is as stiff as fence post and totally uncomfortable. Under guarantee for two years, Pinarello Italy takes 3 weeks to answer me. Then they propose a DogmaFP for 500 euros out of my pocket! Another two weeks and then send a "used" Dogma that had been previously ridden with visible wear and tear marks on it. This is not science-fiction but the God's truth. Finally, the "distibutor" here in France gave up and displayed excellent Customer Service by sending me an email stating that I would have to pay for the changeover fees from old frame to replacement frame. Dear readers, I strongly dissuade you from purchasing any and all Pinarello products.

Similar Products Used: Colnago, Fondriest
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Number9   Road Racer [Feb 10, 2005]
Strength:

Precise handling, stiff platform. Excellent crit bike. In absolute terms, this is a fabulous frame (mediocre "value rating" score is due to price-performance ratio - that said, I think it's worth the price, YMMV)

Weakness:

Welds are bit clunky looking for a $4K frame, but no functional weaknesses noted. Price might be considered a weakness because for a bit more than half the price you could get a Prince - which is almost as good (albeit a bit heavier).

Super quick handling. Excellent sprint platform having a comfortable ride (not as plush as a C50 though). Similar in handling to the Prince, but lighter and somewhat smoother riding. Price noted is for frame only.

Similar Products Used: Other bikes are Colnago C40 B-Stay, C50 HM, Pinarello Prince
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-9 of 9  
Available At: