Masi Speciale Commuter Bike

Masi Speciale Commuter Bike 

DESCRIPTION

  • Fork: Masi Lugged CrMo Steel w/ Fender Mounts
  • Headset: Ritchey Logic V2 Threadless
  • Crankset: Alloy 42T Chainring
  • Pedals: Alloy Cage w/ Clips & Straps
  • Stem: Masi ATS Adjustable Height System

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Feb 11, 2012]
Moises Campos
Commuter

Strength:

Road tires and high quality craftsmanship.

Weakness:

None.

I bought this bike back in Jan 11. Packaging for the bike was as expected, very solid. The set-up for the bike is nice and easy and required only basic tools to get her up and running within 10 minutes. So, with that that said, this is great for someone looking to buy an affordable, high quality, and stylish bike. Flashy colors, big tires, comfortable to ride, though maybe it is a bit on the heavy side, but nevertheless smooth, fast and simple and the flip-hub feature, which gives you the option of riding in fixed gear, is a great addition. I ride this in Austin, TX where there are a lot of hills and it is a little less than ideal, but very manageable once you become familiar with the area. So, maybe if you live in a hilly area and are new to biking then a single speed may not be what you are looking for (but to each their own!). Here in Austin there is a big bike scene so naturally a lot of people ask about the bike. They always seem surprised when I say it was only 220 and I keep hearing how much of a steal it was. And by the way, the colors are a huge hit; I get compliments on that all the time. Also, please take into consideration that you are not getting road bike tires. The tires seem to be cross or hybrid, meaning they are much bigger and thicker than road tires. Though, to be fair, I am not sure what the actual tire type is called. The tires also say 80 PSI max but that, to me, felt low and prevented the bike from catching that speed that I knew it had. So I ride mine at (the not recommended!) 110-120 PSI, which feels great and allows me to catch all the speed I want. Final note on the bike: the tires are a bright mustard yellow while the handlebars are a darker more true yellow.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 05, 2011]
blakcloud
Commuter

Strength:

Steel frame, flat crown fork, good value for the money.

Weakness:

The crank is a boat anchor at best. The bike is heavier that I would like but as I said for the money you can't complain.

For the money this is a great bike. It does exactly what it was designed to do and does it with aplomb.

First you start out with a steel frame and flat crown fork which gives it that old world charm. No oversize tubing here. The geometry of this frame is designed around stability. If you want a bike that hugs the corners and is tight, this isn't for you. If you want a stable comfortable bike, then consider this one. My car analogy is this is more like a Cadillac rather than a Ferrari.

It comes with Ritchey bars and stem which is a nice touch. The rest of components are so-so but you need to expect this for the price of the bike.

Having 32c tires for commuting is something I would have never thought of but now wouldn't never go back to something smaller. The large air volume soaks up all what the rough roads have to offer. The Kenda tires are bullet proof.

Overall I love this bike, so much so I purchased a second one and I am turning it into a 1 x9 speed. With it having horizontal dropouts for single speed or fixed and a derailleur hanger, you have many options of what ever your needs are.

The sizes can be a little wonky where it jumps from its 53 to a 56. I have my bike set up like you would a Rivendell. Normally I ride a 54, sot he first bike I bought was a 53 but the tube was too short. Then jumped to the 56 which is really a 55 and it fits much better in the cockpit. The third one is also a 56.

If I could change one thing it would be do lower the bottom bracket just a little bit. The problem with most single speed/fixed bikes that are used for commuting have a bottom bracket that is too high. This is unnecessary in a commuter bike.

Similar Products Used:

Kona Paddy Wagon
Raleigh One Way
Both these bike have incredibly high bottom brackets.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 06, 2011]
SamMcChord
Commuter

Strength:

Solid and comfortable frame. Easily customizable. Metallic brown color looks great.

Weakness:

Breaks could be a little better. Could feel a little more nimble than it does.

Solid bike. No frills. This single speed gets the job done.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 07, 2010]
Brian Fahl
Commuter

Strength:

Smooth and simple: Frame is solid and forgiving. Nice wheelbase really lets you get trucking. While the components are not top of the line, they are more than adequate. With so many options to customize this bike, by the time that the components wear out is about the time that you'll know exactly how you want to customize the bike.

Weakness:

Seat isn't very comfortable. I swapped it out for a Selle An-Atomica...now i'm in heaven.

I really like this bike. I'm fairly new to commuting (going on two years now), but I have tried several different bikes for my 20 mile round trip commute. and this bike has been the best of the bunch. This isn't a custom-made steel frame, but it's solid, the welds are good and it's smooth and comfortable for my 200+ lbs. As discussed below, the components aren't any great shakes either, but they are more than adequate. The best part of this bike is how customizeable it is. If you're not sure whether you want to ride SS, Fixed or Geared, this bike lets you do it all. Also, the people at Masi were very helpful as I was researching the bicycle and made me feel comfortable about the company behind the bike. Lastly need to give a shout out to the folks at Ben's Cycle in Milwaukee -- they were awesome!

Similar Products Used:

I have commuted on a Kona Smoke and a Specialized Allez. The Masi is a much better ride than either of those.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 03, 2009]
bpford59
Commuter

Strength:

simplicity, comfort and looks!

Weakness:

none yet!

This bike is sharp (rootbeer color) and it caught my eye as i was browsing for a singlespeed. most comfortable of the other singles, fixies i test rode.
can't wait to ride it more.

Similar Products Used:

specialized, gt,

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 15, 2009]
clmrt
Commuter

Strength:

Color, style, heavy-duty wheels for people like me @ 240 lbs.

Weakness:

Seat, freewheel, pedals, clips, chain, possibly the seatpost.

I talked myself into buying this bike. After living with it for a while now, and putting ~200 miles on it, I'd have to say I'm less than satisfied.

What you get is a basic Taiwanese butted CroMo frame with a cool color and nice fork, decent wheels, unique bars and tape, competent brakeset and that's about it.

The seat creaks, and the seatpost isn't too comforting what with the huge cutout making room for the light. The freewheel died after 20 miles. The chain is noisy, replaced by a $20 SRAM. The pedals both developed clicking after about 100 miles.

Overall I'm not too thrilled with myself - Masi didn't do this to me, I did. I spent about $350 more than I could have for a similarly specified bike, or could have spent that ~700 on a really nice conversion.

Think hard about what you want and what you're looking at before you drop the coin.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
[Dec 10, 2008]
ecouslin
Commuter

Strength:

strong handles the curbs and potholes really well.

Weakness:

seat position and wheels seem to be a bit delicate

Great bike so far quiet, strong, and very light. I set this up a strictly commuter bike. I enjoy blowing off steam after work riding home. I am a big rider 215 and with my stuff for work have about 220-225 on the saddle every day. I will return after the winter is over to re-evaluate this bike but so far so good.

Similar Products Used:

redline monocog 29er and trek xo1

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 10, 2008]
eric
Commuter

Strength:

Quiet strong and light enough to carry on my shoulder up 4 flights of stairs.

Weakness:

I would like to get lighter stronger rims these just seem like they might bend before too long. Also the saddle is a bit uncomfortable and takes some getting used to. Swapping it out as soon as I get some money saved.

I wanted a light all around steel bike. I went into the store looking for a giant or trek commuter style bike. The owner put me on to this bike. I swapped out the bars for bullhorn bars and the brake levers to the time trial style. I also put on some bontrager carbon forks, and wider tires. This bike is amazing,handles the curbs and potholes really well. Its quiet and not to fancy so most people dont even look twice at it, which is good because I still have it. My only complaint is the wheels. I am a big rider 215 and with my bags for work maybe close to 225 on the saddle. I think the wheels might be to delicate for the ride day in and day out. I will update in the next few months to let you know how its holding up to the daily ride.

Similar Products Used:

Redline monocog 29er single speed, Trek xo1.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.