Fuji Bicycles Cross Cyclocross Bike

Cross

Frame Material: X-Fusion Quaternary Aluminum
Frame Angles: 72.0 head, 73.0 seat
Sizes: 49cm, 52cm, 54cm, 56cm, 58cm, 61cm
Colors: Red
Fork: Fuji Carbon
Rear Shock: Not applicable
Brake Levers: Shimano 105 STI Dual Control
Handlebar: Ritchey Comp
Stem: Ritchey Comp
Headset: 1 1/8" integrated aluminum
Front Der: Shimano 105, bottom-pull/clamp-on 31.8mm
Crankset: FSA Gossamer, 38/48 teeth
Rear Der: Shimano Ultegra GS
Pedals: Not included
Tires: 700 x 32c Ritchey Speed Max Cross

User Reviews (15)

Showing 1-10 of 15  
Martin S.   Road Racer [Oct 27, 2012]
Strength:

Good FSA componets.

Weakness:

Fuji constumer service and warranty.

Since we don't have the Fuji cross RC I will post on the fuji cross. I had this bike for 1.5 years I races Cross for only a season. At the end of the season I realized it had a crack in the non drive side chain stay. I talked to Fuji costumer services and they told they could not help me since it was over a year. They would sale me a frame for a EP price that was $500 for the frame. They would not stand behing they product and give me a replacement frame don't bike Fuji bikes it woul like to ride safe.

Similar Products Used: Cross bikes
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Trevor   [Apr 27, 2012]
Strength:

Lightweight, good groupo, and durable. Great for on-road and off-road. Paint (gold with metal flake).

Weakness:

Brakes are not good in dry conditions, let alone mud or snow. No rack mounts.

I bought my 1999 Fuji cross used, but in great shape. It is a steel frame bike with full Ultegra group. Aside from needing new brake pads and the shifters needing cleaned up, the bike has worked great for every thing I have wanted. I ride a lot of kansas gravel roads with big chunks of limestone rock, and this bike always feels undercontrol and rides very smooth (steel frame). It has a factory 39/53t crank which is a little large for more cyclocross bikes.

Switch to road tires, and I can keep up with most of my buddies on aluminum/carbon bikes. It is about the same weight as an aluminum Trek 1000 with 105s.

It would be nice if it had rack mounts, but it the frame looks smooth with out them.

The brakes are bad. The stock Shimano cantilevers are low-end and just dont work very well. I replaced the pads with some all weather pads and it helped. I am still no happy though, so I ordered some TRP cantilevers. Hope they will be better.

I greatly injoy riding this bike and have had no major issues.

Similar Products Used: 1983 Reighley Capri, 1987 Miyata One-Ten, 1993 Schwinn Traviler
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Duran Valdez   Commuter [Apr 04, 2011]
Strength:

Eyelets for front and rear racks/fenders. 2nd set of brake levers provide a lot of extra control when you don't have your hands in the hoods. Handlebars are raised which adds a lot to comfort over long distances--also, clearance for fatter tires makes the bike a lot more versatile. Quality 105 components used all around.

Weakness:

Break pads are weak. Replace with some Kool Stops and you'll see a major improvement. Tektro cantilever brakes also require a lot of finessing before they provide adequate stopping power. Stock wheel set is heavy. Stock seat is a throwaway.

Been really enjoying this bike since I bought a 2009 version in mint condition from a guy off Craigslist. The bike is designed for cross, but with some alterations it becomes a really great bike for light touring and commuting. I slapped some fenders on it, a rear rack,and swapped the double crank for a triple. Now it rides great in almost any condition. I'm looking forward to taking it down the CA coast this summer. If I ever had the choice between losing this bike and my Fuji Team I'd have to say that I'd give up the Fuji Team--my Fuji Comp could be 90% as good with the addition of some skinnies. My carbon road bike, however, could never do half as much as my Fuji Comp.

Similar Products Used: Fuji Team
Giant OCR 2
Scattante CFR
Scattante 660
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
cluster1   Triathlete [Mar 13, 2011]
Strength:

Durability, handling, gearing

Weakness:

weight

Fuji Crosspro (2009) is an amazing bike. After riding if for 6 months (through the winter) I can sum it up thusly... all it does is work perfectly. I raced in a cyclocross in PA and it was rock solid. I ride towpaths and city/country roads, and my confidence is very high on this bike at speed, next to cars, on hills, turning, wherever.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
mattlreese   Recreational Rider [Jan 29, 2010]

I actually have a 2009 bike but this site will not let me list my model past 2007.
I have very impressed with this bike, it is performing far better than I expected it would and at $900 I feel like I got a steal. You will not find a bike better than this anywhere at the sub $1000 price point. I waited until this bike went on sale for $900 (which it does often) and you get another 10% back to spend on other bike stuff at performance like clip in pedals, or a computer etc. This bike will even beat out many bikes in the 1000 – 1500 price range. If you are looking for a low cost bike that will perform like it is costs a lot more this is the bike. There are cheaper road bikes out there but none that are any good.

Setup:
I am not really a racer though I do compete sometimes in beginner races. I have this setup as a touring bike. I put some fatter durable tires and I plan to get a rear rack for some long distance rides. Eventually I do plan to cross with this bike, but I have not yet.

Pros:
1. 105 drive train including an ultegra rear detailer. The 105 is the best drive train out there when price vs. performance are considered. The ultegra and higher series perform the same but are lighter. The lower series will not shift as smoothly as the 105 series does.
2. Carbon front fork
3. While the bike is not super light it is not super heavy either
4. Lifetime tune ups at performance – I do most of my own work but I did take my bike in for a tune-up when winter started because I knew I would not be riding in a while. The guy had some free time and did it on the spot for me anyway, and he did a very thorough job.
Cons:
1. A lot of reviews claim the bottom bracket is crap. So far I have not had any issues at about 500 miles but it is something I am prepared to replace if it goes up. There not that expensive.


If you are looking into a new bike, this is one of the best entry/mid level bikes out there.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
livin4lax09   Triathlete [Mar 14, 2008]
Strength:

-Carbon Fork
-Color Scheme (Black, White, and Red)
-Strong Frame
-Components
-Adequate gearing for cross
-Quiet rear hub

Weakness:

-stock brakes aren't great
-top handbrakes get in the way if road racing
-a little heavy for cross
-seems to need tune-ups more than usual

I was lucky enough to pick up an excellent condition fuji cross comp on craigslist for $500, and switched out my recently bought motobecane with it. I had only ridden less than a month on my motobecane, but instantly loved my fuji so much more. For the price, it's a decent bike. Pretty durable frame, a bit more aerodynamic than others for road racing, and just a comfortable ride. It's a little heavy for a cross bike, but if you switch out the stock rims you can take a fair amount of weight off. The top handbrakes are also beneficial at times, but if road racing, they're pretty much useless and don't allow for tri extensions to be installed. Again, decent component set for the price, 105 rear and Tiagra front.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
ecospc   Road Racer [Oct 05, 2006]
Strength:

Light, Ultegra/105 mix, Ritchey SpeedComp tires (awesome!), comfy saddle, inexpensive.

Weakness:

none

Killer bike for the money. I wanted to race cross as well as commute to work, but I had little money to work with. I looked at the Lemond Propad, Bianci Axis, Redline Conquest, and the 2005 Fuji cross line, but nothing appealed to me of became avaliable. I was able to pick up the 2004 Fuji Cross online and it was a great buy. The 2005 Fuji CX models had two levels and neither one fit my needs. Too heavey, oddly speced, over priced. The 2004 is speced very well and just as light as much more expensive bikes. The handeling is great, the ride is nice, light weight, and all at a good cost. I have ridden this bike hundreds of miles in the past year and it holds up very well. Even the Ritchey wheels that came with it have held up to full on cross racing. I figured these wheels would be shot in a week, but I have taken them over trials that MTB bikers avoid. Although, I am a little guy, so larger people might not have the same luck. Even though it is a few years old at this point, I would buy the same bike again today if the situation was the same.

Similar Products Used: Orbea mitis, Cyfac Proxidium, 2005 Fuji Cross Pro.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
dmdwyer   Recreational Rider [Sep 18, 2006]
Strength:

Light, quick handling. Very good components for the buck spent. Compare most Ultegra equipped bikes and this one stacks up competitively on all fronts. Yes, bike companies always skimp on something with production bikes, but this is a reasonable choice.

Weakness:

None really. This is more my issue, but I did mount SKS fenders on this bike, which fit ok except the back fender had to be mounted on the front derailler pulley. Again, racers need not pay attention to this, but just in case someone wants to put fenders on this bike, you can. Don't plan on putting a rack on this, but it does have eyelets.

Excellent Bike. Ridden mostly in an urban environment. I switched out handlebar for a 44cm. Mine is the 2006 model with 10 speed Ultegra. Quick handling, very light. Wheels are sturdy, although some racers may wish something more exotic. For the average rider, they are fine. Excellent all around bike. I couldn't be happier with the choice. Other bikes looked at were the usual suspects: Bianchi, Felt, Specialized. The Cross Pro seemed well thought out with rack and fender mounts available for those like me who want an all around performance bike. Racers might not care about this, but I did.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
CX Racer   Road Racer [Jul 27, 2006]
Strength:

Frame is pretty stiff, expecially around the bb area. Geometry is excellent...longer top tube and I like the lower overall position of the bike to the ground, expecially for racing...keeps my center of gravity lower in the corners, unlike the euro cross frames. With the carbon fork the ride quality is good and stable, plus I have an standby suspension post/seat combo to use on the real bumpy courses which keeps me in the saddle pedaling while the others are having fun riding their mechanical bulls (yee-hawww!). Good price point as compared with other models.

Weakness:

Mine has the cable routing under the BB. I've noticed the new model has everything along the top tube...which is a good thing in CX racing.

Great bike for both racing and recreational riding/training. Go anywhere and have fun. Great bang for the buck.

Similar Products Used: Trek X01, Ridley Crosswind, Alan Ultra
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jwiffle   Recreational Rider [Jun 25, 2006]
Strength:

light, strong, disc tabs on fork.
Geometry--I like the slacker angles a cross bike gives over a true road bike, since I am mainly a mountain biker.

Weakness:

1. 130mm rear spacing. Came with disc brake tabs in the rear, but 130mm rear spacing. Most disc hubs are 135mm spacing, which means it is a very expensive upgrade to switch to discs in the rear. 'course, if it was a steel frame, I'd just shove a mtn hub in. But it is aluminum, so I'm just leaving the canti brake on the back and put a disc up front.
2. Not a lot of clearance to run much wider tires than the 32c it came with. might try some 38s, but will have almost no mud clearance.

Overall, the Fuji Cross Pro is a great bike. I got it to be a road bike, but because my mountain bike has been in disrepair at times, I have used it off road quite frequently. And I have used it on much more technical trails than cyclocross are usually taken on. It has handled it all well. I've even raced it in local mtn bike races-just for fun, didn't really do well, though still, more me than the bike holding me back. Of course, it is a much rougher ride off road than my mtn bike. The carbon fork dampens road vibrations, but it isn't any suspension fork off road!
I liked the fact it came with disc tabs, and have put a disc on the front--not really needed on road, but the extra stopping power is nice off road. It was kind of annoying that they kept 130mm rear spacing even though they put disc tabs. It means you can't just throw on a mtn hub, and every option I found was quite expensive (wheels don't come with disc hubs). I had to leave it as is. Not really an issue, but I just would have liked the look of discs on both ends.
Anyway, overall it is a very good bike, and I have thoroughly enjoyed riding it on road and off. I did notice on the 06 versions they have done away with the disc brake option.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 15  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.