K2 Bike Enemy Cyclocross Bike

Enemy

Frame Material: 7000 aluminum, double-butted
Frame Angles: Unspecified
Sizes: Large, Medium, Small, XSmall
Colors: Team Colors
Fork: K2 Cyclocross
Rear Shock: Not applicable
Brake Levers: Shimano 105 STI Dual Control
Handlebar: Ritchey Biomax
Stem: Ritchey Comp
Headset: 1 1/8" threadless Ritchey
Front Der: Shimano Tiagra, clamp-on
Crankset: TruVativ Elita, 39/48 teeth
Rear Der: Shimano Ultegra GS
Pedals: Time ATAC Alium
Tires: 700 x 38c Ritchey Speed Max Cross

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
fritts   Road Racer [Jan 14, 2009]
Strength:

Responsive, but comfortable frame. Quick, but not twitchy. Builds pretty light.

Weakness:

none really. Will upgrade brakes for this season just for more power and better feel.

Actually a 2004, no option in list. Put on fenders and used as commuter for 3yrs while mending an injury; worked great. Still use it almost everyday as such. Finally able to race cross this year and it did especially well. It's also done very well as a back-up road bike for nasty road days or when dealing with flats. Putting on a good set of road wheels really wakes the frame up. The fork upgrade really makes the difference in cross races. This bike is the do-it-all and makes me smile in all conditions.

Similar Products Used: Jamis, Redline, Ventana
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
m_s   Recreational Rider [May 08, 2008]
Strength:

Weight, handling (very neutral, goes where you want it but not twitchy, great on and off road), flattened top tube makes shouldering comfortable.

Weakness:

Carbon seatpost makes me a little nervous on a cross bike, especially one like the Enemy with a compact frame, which equals a lot of post showing. So far it's been solid. I only weigh 150 pounds though. Also the compact geometry makes ordering the right size easy, and is nice on techy trails, but makes it a little harder to pick up the bike in a race.

Great race bike for the money, and surprisingly light considering it's ull Tiagra With light tires and no other modifications (well, a diferent sadle, but it's as heavy as the stock WTB) mine is right under 20 pounds. Good handling, decent tire/mud clearance.

No fancy parts but K2 didn't skimp anywhere either. Just solid stuff that works.

Similar Products Used: Kona Jake, Jamis Aurora, a few other borrowed bikes.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Clark   Road Racer [Oct 31, 2007]
Strength:

Light, resposive, stiff.

Weakness:

Frame material

Bought this bike off of ebay. Rode it for 2 years, and notice to today that there is 4-5 crack in the headtube. The bike said that it is material failure. I never rode this bike off. I was using it as my winter bike.

Similar Products Used: None, first cross bike. Going to buy a Redline now.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
TiLuvr   Road Racer [Nov 25, 2006]
Strength:

Just the right amount of flex to keep it comfortable on the road. After a season of cyclocross I am impressed with how tough the frame is. It is a nuetral geometry and has good trail manners, also good on single track.

Weakness:

XL frame is a bit small for someone 6'-3' and over. Aluminum fork is harsh on the road but nice for CX racing.

Bought a frame set and built it up for cyclocross racing. Price, geometry, and past experience with other K2 frames led me to choose the Enemy.

Similar Products Used: K2 MOD5
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Ron S   Recreational Rider [Oct 19, 2006]
Strength:

Decent component group, good value, reliable.

Weakness:

OEM rims (Alex R1.0) did not hold up to a heavier weight rider (220 lbs). After replacing them, everything has held up well.

My Enemy has held up well in it's first 2200 miles. (May-Oct of 1st year of ownership)Components haven't needed babying and all have performed as expected.

Similar Products Used: Previous ride was a CrMoly Schwinn 1988 Traveler. Work horse solid, completely relable.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
kuhneng   Recreational Rider [Nov 26, 2004]
Strength:

Great component value Better than average stock pedals (Time Alium). Strong (but heavy) wheelset

Weakness:

Bars get fatter (~35mm) near the stem, making it challenging to fit accessories Heavy (but strong) wheelset

Awesome cyclocross / trail bike with a well thought out component setup. Bought this bike a few months ago to replace one that was stolen, and I've loved every minute on it. The ride is laterally stiff but decently compliant vertically. Carries are nice with the flattened shaping of the top tube. Excelent value in components, someone made some excelent choices when trading cost / performance / succeptability to damage. The stock setup includes Tiagra, 105, and Ultegra components.

Similar Products Used: Canondale Bad Boy (with cross tires)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
noreaster   Commuter [Oct 27, 2004]
Strength:

comfortable, quick, rugged, and most importantly, FUN TO RIDE!

Weakness:

The stock Avids, plus the tires are cyclocross specific - not ideal for road use. Oh, and I had to rig a custom setup for the rack, since the enemy doesn't come with rack eyelets (even though they say it's "rack ready")

This is my one and only bike - I use it for daily commuting (20 miles round trip), weekend trips, quick jaunt to the store, you name it. This bike rocks, I once had a Cannondale roadbike in the early 90s and was wonderfully surprised at how comfortable this bike it, aluminum has come a long way. I love everything about this puppy, 'cept the stock brakes - the Avids were just too wimpy for my full rig so I exchanged them for Empella froglegs, now it's perfect. I also had a super strong wheelset built and now use the stock ones as spares. This is the ideal do-it-all bike at a good price.

Similar Products Used: Ibis Hakkalugi
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mehoskins21   Recreational Rider [Apr 08, 2004]
Strength:

Aluminum. A parts package all the gear- heads just marveled over. Richey rims, tires,Hubs, and bars. Ultegra rear derailler, 105 shifters, truaviv Isis 39-48, ultegra 12-25, and selle italia XO saddle. Disc brake compatible. Stiff.

Weakness:

I would use a 12-27 for a little more low end gearing for off roading. Brakes set up backwards for cylecross. Wheels a little heavy but rugged. bike could be a little lighter.

I rode the k2 Enemy All aluminum) right off the showroom floor and was suprised at how plush it felt next too my Jamis Nova (all steel with rock shox post). It was very comfortable and responsive. and so far has been an absolute pleasure ride. I am not a cycle cross racer but like mounts that are versatile ride. The jamis is more towards the road bike while the Enemy is more towards the mountain bike. This was the main appeal for me. I also want to commute and ride off road and find this bike fit the bill nicely.

Similar Products Used: Jamis Nova 2003. An equally good ride but a little more roadish. Uses road gearing and a triple to get low end gearing Both are fast.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.