Kona Jake Cyclocross Bike

Jake

As one of world's more adept bicycles, the Jake is able to ride everything from pothole-ridden sub-Saharan highways to gravel commuter paths to mud-riddled cross courses. The Jake sees a newfound splash of cherry upgrades in 2012: new internal rear brake cable routing, the ability to step up from a 9-speed to a 10-speed Tiagra, a new Shimano Tiagra/105 drivetrain, and the same tires as the Major Jake. All at a great price that keeps the wind feeling free as ever.

User Reviews (15)

Showing 1-10 of 15  
mtb_bub   [Dec 26, 2015]
Strength:

Looks and performs much better than the price tag suggests. Fast,smooth, comfortable, super crisp shifts.

Weakness:

None so far

Brought as a rough country road mile eater on sale from Currumbin Cycles in QLD. Service was fantastic and bike arrived promptly, undamaged, and took less than 20mins to build and set up. First ride was amazing, bike is light, fast and super comfortable for an alloy frame/fork combo. Roads around here are rough pot-holed and gravel mixed, this bike handled all with aplomb. I swapped the stock Challenge Grifo tires out for a more road specific tread, so can't comment on the Grifo tread wear. Horses for courses and all you know.
Overall super impressed with the bike and service from Currumbin cycles. Highly recommended.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jon   [May 15, 2013]
Strength:

easy to clean

Weakness:

Not a racer
Not a Mtb
Not a tourer

As a consumer of one, I found several flaws.
The Tyres supplied were of poor quality in relationship to ether stance of the usage the bike was designed for.
The seat was not comfortable after a 100kms, which reduced the overall impression that the bike was made for longer rides.
The bottom bracket started to break down after 980kms, which impaired the longativity of the rest of the drive train.
The stock bar & tape was average quality and did not inspire one to want to grab the bike and ride off into the sunset.

I can’t knock the frame and forks, the wheel builds were fine which they should be as a mass produced units.
It comes down to Kona to show they are in control of their product, if they wish to just flog off bikes and make maximum profits: this is done well
But If they wish customers to return and pay out a load of our hard earned credit, I could only advise there are bikes from rival companies who have the frames made in the same Taiwanese and put a better package together.
I hope not to offend anyone, but inform my personal ride result after 13,5000kms around west/east Europe..

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Reb   [Oct 02, 2012]
Strength:

Smooth, comfortable ride on road and trail

Weakness:

a tad heavy

I have a 2010 model. For the price, this bike is terrific. The shop I bought it from actually recommended I go with higher end, non-stock tires and wheels. I suppose that's one reason I like the bike so much, considering what other reviewers have mentioned about the stock tires. I also changed the saddle. Mine is black and yellow, which is great where I live (Pittsburgh) Go Steelers!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Lloyd Bray   [Mar 27, 2012]
Strength:

Decent components, 22.6 lbs with cage, bottle and pedals, comfortable for short upper bodied riders, 1149 price tag, great off road, 3 rings up front, decent color, good value

Weakness:

Mud tires (for road), weight (could be lighter) paying for the Kona name....

I bought this as an entry into the world of road bikes. I also like trails and there is a lot of gravel around the Hat so I thought I'd try the xcross bike. I hate playing with flats and I thought this bike would be better for that problem. I'm primarily using this bike to commute and train on the highway. Supposedly this bike has a strong frame also (I weigh about 225) I guess we will find out. Once I put some k's on the bike I will do a follow up review, let you know how it's holding up.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ambrose99   Recreational Rider [Mar 30, 2011]
Strength:

Everything works smoothly

Weakness:

None

The original tires wore out quite quickly. I agree with another reviewer who says to get quality tires.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Luc Mercier   Commuter [Jul 17, 2010]
Strength:

Extremely versatile. Great for long and short distances, with or without load and can handle potholes, gravel and other places that road or touring bikes can't take.

Shifting is almost spotless. Comfortable and feels good. The 2009 red and white model looks great.

Weakness:

You need very good tires! Most people don't take the original tires and go for something more slic. If you do this, make sure you get very resistant more high-end tires. The Jake can take a beating, but low-end road tires can't. I threw out my first pair after 1000km and about 10 flat tires.

The 2010 model, although that shouldn't change anything, doesn't look very good with its greyish paint.

2009 Jake - 2000km. Bought it after researching for a long time. I was looking for something for (sometimes ruff) commuting but also for the occasionnal lond distance trip. I got exactly what I was looking for, for an undecent price.

I recently took it for its first long distance. Montreal - Ottawa in two 110km days, with full camping gear. It handled super smooth with a lot of weight.

I love this bike. It fits perfecly with "serious commuters" and for people who have versatile needs. What I wanted was a racing bike that could take a beating and load. The Jake is, considering its price, the best value out there for those needs.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ambrose   Recreational Rider [May 18, 2010]
Strength:

Smooth ride, excellent gear change, reliable off road and on marginal road conditions.

Weakness:

The front gear downshifter--you need to check you are in the right gear as it doesn't always work smoothly.

I have a 2010 Jake and I'm very happy with it. Everything works smoothly @ it is a comfortable and enjoyable ride. It performs well off-road and in the gravel. It also handles potholes and bumps smoothly. If like me you are a recreational rider, you won't need a more expensive model than Jake. Congratulations to Kona for an excellent bike.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
kirbach75   Commuter [May 17, 2010]
Strength:

Pretty happy overall. I will upgrade the seat for sure though.

Weakness:

So far It's solid for my uses. I wish the 2010 came with the top brake levers but that's my only gripe.

I ride 14 miles a day to work and also use this bike for pulling my daughter in her trailer. It's been a really great ride. It handles well on fire roads as well.

I also think the Tiagra group is actually pretty nice. It shifts really well and feels very similar to 105 to me.

Similar Products Used: Specialized Tricross single. Lemond Poprad
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
MercRidnMike   Recreational Rider [Dec 14, 2009]
Strength:

50-39-30 is decent range up front. Good value for the money, quite versatile (easy trail, commute, light touring, long distance). Handles well loaded.

Weakness:

Tiagra rear freehub (dead after 750 km), gearing a bit tall (esp. coming from a mtb). P2 fork isn't really set up for a front rack.

Review is for a 2009 version (the menu only goes to '07). Price in CAD.

Bought this bike to take the commuting and long distance rides off my 5x5 FS Mtb. It was fairly cheap, had decent kit and could readily do the commute.

Some have said it is a little too tall in the gearing...yeah, I'd agree. I did the Alberta Ride to Conquer Cancer w/40# in the panniers and it was tough getting up some of the hills...I fixed that with a different cassette.

Generally a great value but some hiccups hold me back from going for a 5 overall.

Similar Products Used: Nothing post 1979 (I've got some oldies around that I tried to use for the same purposes)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
tick   Commuter [Apr 07, 2009]
Strength:

price, quality parts, snazzy paint job, rack and fender mounts too.

Weakness:

none so far

Bought one of these few weeks ago as a dedicated commuter. 38 mile round trip, so i wanted a stable, fast bike that would hold a heavy pannier well. it surely does that and more. i'll proabbly do some quick tours on it this summer as well. awesome bike! rides great and looks good too. sure it isn't a race bike, but i wasn't interested in a race bike. almost got the jake the snake for the 105 parts spec..... then i decided against it since it ride in the rain and transport the bike in the back of the truck! when i wear out all the parts, i'll buy a whole new bike!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 15  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.