Specialized TriCross Comp Cyclocross Bike

TriCross Comp

Versatile aluminum CX bike with carbon fork and shaped tubing. The Comp version has lightweight retro-look high-flange Roval wheels.

User Reviews (18)

Showing 1-10 of 18  
brad   [Jun 12, 2012]
Strength:

Versatility. Quick. 2012 comp is drop dead gorgeous in terms of finish. Light enough to shoulder. Stable with panniers and rack. Comfortable ride.

Weakness:

Front reflector mounted on handlebars, which takes up valuable real-estate. Instructions that come with it, like all bikes in my experience, give absolutely no details on such things as adjusting brakes or derailleurs.

I bought this bike as a commuter and light tourer to replace an 18 year old cannondale hybrid. I've fitted it with a rear rack, occassional paniers, and an ortlieb bar bag on the front, and fenders. It really rides well. dampens out ground issues, quick to start, stable. Really nice components (105). I even like the stock seat. The tires are great too. I was suprised at the high amount of pressure they are spec-ed for.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
shannon   [Mar 27, 2012]
Strength:

105 groupset
extended wheel base for stability
Threads for racks and fenders
comfort oriented stance

Weakness:

front fender installation is a bit awkward due to recessed brake bolt
front fork recall
narrow stock bars
seat feels a bit square and flat.

2012 tri cross comp. Nice minimalist look, with red understated bling detailing. Bike of all trades, and nice groupo. Replaced the bars for wider 44cm version, feels way better. Nice upright stance, suitable for town riding, and long haul touring. Easily attached fenders and rear rack for commuting, though I had a time getting the front fender to mount on the back side of the fork. Recessed brake bolt required creativity. The down tube has a portion of the tube exposed, where it connects with the bottom bracket. pro or con; just different. The bell on the 2ndary brake levers is a nice touch.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
M Brown   Recreational Rider [Oct 24, 2011]
Strength:

Good looking fast light perfect entry level.

Weakness:

Had a front brake recall and replace fork all repairs covered.

Awesome bike, rookie rider with no experience wanted multi function bike to help get started riding. Changed tires to a set of roads for logging miles and getting fit. Howeve did a 25 mile ride on cross tires.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John   Recreational Rider [Oct 18, 2011]
Strength:

Responsive/fast yet very stable.
Rides/shifts great.
Tire wear.
Rack/lugage capable.

Weakness:

Can't think of any.

Best bike I've owned. Great all around bike for recreational riding, commuting, century rides, light touring. Rides and shifts great. Resonsive yet stable so I prefer it to my old road bike (if I unexpectedly hit sand/gravel or potholes, I no longer think much about it - with my road bike I'd be freaking out). I've never been so motivated to get out and ride in all kinds of conditions. Tires are wearing better than the road bike. Couldn't be more satisfied. Love the look of the large, chrome hubs.

Similar Products Used: Lemond Road bike.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bob auchmutey   Recreational Rider [Jun 26, 2011]
Strength:

except above mention a great road bike for rust belt roads. rided and handles very well on our anything but silky smooth michigan roads. love it on trails as well.

Weakness:

above mentioned garbage shimano shifter. will not buy another bike with shimano nor replace this transmission with one.

have now logged several trousand miles on this bike. overfall a very good ride. but one major beef.the drivetrain has been prone to shift on its own since the warranty went out of course.saw same complaint in another review. have changed chain and sprocket.bike shop has been very accommodating but as of yet no help from specialized. was pedaling up a steep hill with my cycling group when then drivetrain once again shifted itself and locked up.the result was a fall in which i was skinned up and almost run over by another cyclist.shop i bought it from has been very accomodating . a couple of the employeessaid they have been made aware of similar problems on other machines with the 27 speed ultegra mountain bike trannie .i will be replacing it with another system at considerable expense.this system is flawed and i have the scars to prove it.888

Similar Products Used: wjfe has a specialized that has performed very well in all facets. puchased on changed same day.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
El Gigante   Commuter [Jan 28, 2011]
Strength:

Light, easy to shoulder
Smooth, seamless shifting
Great steering, very responsive
Nice blend of aluminum and carbon in frame
Bosses for racks and fenders

Weakness:

Burrough CX tires very thin - easy to puncture

Got a great deal on a 2009 TriCross Comp at Cynergy Cycles in Santa Monica, and was blown away by the ride. I commute about 16 miles a day (round trip) through downtown Los Angeles and was looking for a comfortable, durable ride. Previous bike was a Specialized Crossroads hybrid that was tough as nails but heavier than a tank. The Comp has a very comfortable geometry, has well spec'ed components, and a great wheel set. Mine is stock with the exception of a set of Shimano PD M524 pedals - love the matte black, silver color scheme as well.

Have about 1200 miles on the bike in six months and have had no major problems to speak of.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
PK   Commuter [Jan 23, 2011]
Strength:

Tough as old boots - great wheels - comfortable frames. Swift. Good general purpose gearing.

Weakness:

Borough CX tyres that come with it are useless - puncture horribly and often - seem to seek out thorns. Also original brake pads are poor - replaced with Kool Stop and it's like having new brakes.

Bought to replace old Edinburgh Cycles tourer that I was suffering from abuse as a long distance commuting and fitness training. The TC Comp is excellent - as fast as most road bikes in the real word of potholed roads, headwinds, rain and traffic - but it can also (with the right tyres) go off the beaten track better than most MTBs. All in all - the a do it all pretty well bike

Similar Products Used: Mountain Bikes and Touring Bikes
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
alicja   Commuter [Sep 13, 2010]
Strength:

Extra breaking options, weight, carbon front fork, ability to add lots of drink bottle, easy to add touring racks...

Weakness:

the color! (Brown not being a favorite) and like everyone else the brakes good be at least V's

2008 tricross comp double. This was a replacement for a bike that was stolen, and i couldn't be happier. I have had it for just under 12 months, and have gone from never riding to over 2000km in the that time. I love having the extra brakes and its a great ride for someone with no road riding experience.

Similar Products Used: Kona Mini Mula
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Jlong   Recreational Rider [Aug 08, 2010]
Weakness:

See the Review Summary

Bought a Specialized TriCross Comp in the fall of 2009. Selected the bike because it seemed to provide a blend of robustness with speed. Well, it certainly isn't robust--the absence of quality is astonishing for a bike in that price range--and for a bike whose customers are buying it, in large part, for its promise of quality and reliability.

Following are some specific examples--they range from relatively trivial to unacceptable. But they all point to an unreliable design and inferior quality.

> The front, handle bar mounted, reflector's screw loosened and the reflector fell off during the second or third ride.
>The rear derailer required adjustment after a small number of rides. It failed to shift properly, or shifted at unexpected times.
> The plastic handle bar end-caps need to be pushed back in regularly.
> The pedal reflector needs to be pushed back in regularly.
> The front derailer regularly--during routine shifting--pushes the chain off the chainset's large chain ring.
> The quick release breaks are indeed quick to release, but replacement--due to tight cable tolerances at the release point--is often an ordeal.
> The factory stock tires are thin--they are no more sturdy than road bike tires. I've had flats and have seen the trivial causes. Had to upgrade one tire, and will have to upgrade the other soon.

In all, my 1988 Cannondale road bike continues to be much more reliable.

Similar Products Used: Cannondale Road Bike
Trek, Cannondale Mountain bike
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
mustang1   Commuter [Jul 07, 2010]
Strength:

Super comfortable with stock 32mm tires (@80psi, 200 lbs rider, 95kg)
Love the copper brown color
Good expansion such as rack front and rear, full size fenders, three water bottle mounts

Weakness:

Toe overlap during tight slow speed turns like the ones I negotiate in traffic. I learned to deal with it.

Review of 2009 Specialized Tricross Sport triple.
Very comfortable, do-anything kind of bike

Similar Products Used: Condoer Agio, Surly CrossCheck
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 18  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.