Electra Bicycle Company Townie 21 Hybrid Bike

Electra Bicycle Company Townie 21 Hybrid Bike 

DESCRIPTION

The Townie 21 is perfect for intrepid travelers desiring the most comfortable way to see the countryside. Electra's awesome Flat Foot technology lets you keep your feet on the ground while in the saddle. Pedaling is easy with the quick-shifting Shimano 21-speed drivetrain and the plush saddle, wide tires and SunTour suspension fork make cruising super smooth. Plus, the linear-pull brakes make sure you've got the stopping power you need.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 90  
[May 14, 2018]
bikable


Strength:

Comfortable, comfortable, comfortable.

Weakness:

A rust machine! After owning this bike for eight months, three of which it was stored inside over the winter, numerous parts of the bike are ENTIRELY RUSTED chain, pedals, etc.. Have been riding bikes for decades have never had one rust out. Would be a better idea to buy three bikes at costco for the same price if this bike is designed to only last less than one year.

Price Paid:
$550
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2017
OVERALL
RATING
1
[Apr 06, 2017]
Tim Hooper

Strength:

Very solid,comfortable,quite,shifting is right there,
Could not be happier ??

Weakness:

The seat is very comfortable,but I've found around 10 miles
Into a ride my butt needs a rest,i did buy a gel fitted seat
Cover and now my 15 miles a day is just fine.. ??

It has to be the most comfortable bicycle I've ever had,
I'm 65 years old and enjoy riding every day. This is a
Wonderful fit.. 5 STARS Recommended HIGHLY ??

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 03, 2017]
Jessica
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Balance, comfort, quality and easy to lift

Weakness:

None so far

I haven't ridden in over 12 years due to knee and hip replacements that limited my range of motion. I went in to Sun Cyclery in Phoenix, AZ to look at another brand of crank forward bike. Josh spent a lot of time with me and ultimately suggested the 2017 Electra Townie Women's Bike. He took the time to listen to me and customize it to my requirements (shorter crank shafts and a seat post that put me back a bit farther to allow me to comfortably pedal). I could hardly contain my excitement as I was pedaling around their lot! I was able to bike again! I got it home and could hardly stop riding it! It is so easy to pedal and shift and safe to stop and put my feet on the ground. I can sit upright and not put pressure on my wrists.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 03, 2016]
Dana

Strength:

Comfort comfort comfort! Sturdy but light for size. durable, EASY to put on bike rack, nice looking. Great bike especially for someone with carpal tunnel, or any kind of back, shoulder, arm pain from leaning down or forward to hold handlebars.

Weakness:

None

Love love love this bike! The seat, handlebar, and pedals are all placed so perfectly. I have carpal tunnel, so normally any length ride gets to be quite uncomfortable after a short time. Also way more comfortable SEATING- if ya know what I mean!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 12, 2016]
Vickie

Strength:

This is by far the most comfortable, best riding bike I've ever had. My hands would go numb on my hybrid bike but have never experienced it on my Townie. It is worth the money. Do yourself a favor and try this bike if you are looking for comfort. It shifts smoothly and is just a dream to ride. I love being able to place my feet easily on the ground when I come to a stop instead of tilting the bike way over because my seat is so high (that full leg extension is not needed with this bike and I easily achieve 16 mph). I am a pleasure rider - recently retired - but averaging about 300 miles/month. The BEST bike EVER - expertly assembled and tuned by The Bicycle Center in Port Charlotte Florida

Weakness:

NONE

Best Bike Ever

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 17, 2015]
Fran

Strength:

Nice looking, paint job holds up, shifts well, flat foot technology!, sturdy.

Weakness:

A little heavy.

Purchased the bike Spring 2013. At first, I wasn't sure about the ride, it is a little different. Took a few trips to adjust, but absolutely fine with it now. I had to get a bike rack that adjusts to its length, and being a woman's style, chose the platform rack and a hitch. I have put over 3,000 miles on it, with no problems. Ride on paved trails and city streets. Even took her up to 18 MPH once (a pit bull was chasing me). 21 Speed is a little overkill for my riding, but I had to have it. Did change out the seat, because it felt like a tractor seat. Tried a gel and it's o.k. Eventually ended with a leather Brooks saddle, minimal padding (really none) and narrow. People were shocked at how much I paid for it, but this is a bike which will last for years and it is far less expensive than the average road bike. I can't say it enough, get your bike from a bike shop if you plan to spend much time on it. If you buy a bike for $150.00 that is what you get. I am really happy with the purchase even after two years of riding.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 24, 2012]
Mary
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Comfort, low gear,accessories,light enough to lift up into truck,durable

Weakness:

Look a bit dorky on it

I purchased a light blue 21 Townie in fall of 2009 and 2 weeks later my husband bought a dark blue one for himself. Since then we have ridden close to 3,000 miles. Every time I get on the bike I remember how much I love it! The seat is comfortable although he switched his out for a gel one, I think the stock one is fine. I like the reciprocal, flat foot technology as it is easy to get on and off. The smooth round tires allow it to roll surprising easily with little drag. The gearing range is quite adequate for rec path riding and we have had no problems not having a low enough gear for steep hills, which we can climb sitting down. We have had no mechanical problems and have them tuned up every summer. I got the rear racks and black Townie bags which attach securely and have two side pockets, a roomy main compartment and a mesh section on the top for tucking maps and carrying handles which can be used for straps to hold a coat. I carry too much stuff! I didn't put a drink holder on mine because it was awkward and instead got the small Townie pouch which straps on the frame. I can put a water bottle in it and there is a nice pocket for phone and chapstick! The only complaint is that all of the zipper tabs on the bags have broken off, I attached rings to solve this problem. We ride in the southeast most of the year on rec paths or rails to trails and then haul the bikes to Colorado in the summer. Sometimes I wish I would look more sporty or speedy while riding, but then I realize that's not me and my Townie is the perfect fit.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 20, 2012]
peter franz
Recreational Rider

Strength:

comfort

Weakness:

none

i just bought my 21D yesterday and cant get off the bike. its that amazing to ride. u will never have to stop after a few minutes and rest ur arms, back or behind. u can ride for miles and miles without stopping to rest .

the aluminum body just hurls u forward with ease and since u r riding a low profile frame u can manuver much better , do tricks or simply get out of any traffic situation much faster than if u were on a taller bike, cuz u can easily put ur feet flat on the ground and stand rather than fall off the bike. wat can i tell u. worth every penny. go get one

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 17, 2012]
Ant

Strength:

Overall feel of the bike is great! The 21 speeds are good also.

Weakness:

None

Purchased it for riding around w kids in california neighborhoods.(hilly). Purchased the fender kit, carrier rack and enjoy the ride. Grew an itch to do some trails so purchased some heavy tread off road tires, removed the fenders and replced tubes with ooze tubes for self punture repairs. Hit the trails hard and sure nuf was a very comfortable ride! The dip in handle bars is great for leaning into your hill when the grade is very aggressive. When my legs started to weaked, dropped it into the high gear and managed to make it through my ride partially sitting. Looks pretty cool too. Its cool and worth the money. Turn it into a trail bike and you'll love it too!,,

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 27, 2012]
isaiah

Strength:

Comfortable, comfortable. No other bike can match its design. Smartest bike on the planet,
no neck or wrist pain anymore. Pleasure to ride!

Weakness:

could have been designed with a lighter frame.

Great Bike, subject closed!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 90  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.