Giant Cypress SX Hybrid Bike

Cypress SX

Frame Material: Aluxx SL aluminum
Frame Angles: Unspecified
Sizes: 15", 17", 19", 21", 23"
Colors: Black
Fork: Giant
Rear Shock: Not applicable
Brake Levers: aluminum linear-pull
Handlebar: aluminum flat bar
Stem: aluminum
Headset: 1 1/8" integrated aluminum
Front Der: Shimano Tiagra
Crankset: FSA CK600, 30/42/52 teeth
Rear Der: Shimano 105
Pedals: aluminum cage w/clips & straps
Tires: 700 x 28c Michelin Dynamic

User Reviews (7)

Showing 1-7 of 7  
Stuart   [Mar 03, 2014]
Strength:

Very fast and reliable. It looks good for the price. It has very high quality components and is stiff because of the rigid fork which makes it more nimble and feels like your more in control.

Weakness:

The shifters are very big and you may accidentally change the gears while riding up hill. recommend buying different shifters but that's about it.

Fast and reliable bike I bought it in 2013 for 180 dollars on ebay and was worried at first. When I got it and purchased new pedals and had a tuneup I never regretted the purchase. Great bike!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
tjholdemu[   Recreational Rider [Nov 14, 2009]
Strength:

Shifts smooth, fast for a hybrid, upright seating position, 25lbs,

Weakness:

Finding handle bars that really allow you to take full advantage of this bike.

This is an amazing second bike to compliment my road bike. Its fast, handles well and is very comfortable. I like the fact that I can be nearly road bike fast in the road but when the opportunity presents itself to jump on the side walk or hit a trail its very capable.

Similar Products Used: trek 1500
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Martin   Recreational Rider [Mar 15, 2008]
Strength:

LIGHT, WELL-BUILT, STURDY, FAST, ROAD BIKE GEARING, AMAZING STOPING POWER (YPK PADS), NO NOICES DURING RIDE, SUPER QUIET.

Weakness:

?? EXACTLY WHAT I HOPED FOR. OK, WELL I WOULD NOT WANT TO RIDE MORE THEN 50 MILES IN A DAY ON IT. AFTER SUCH LONG DISTANCE, IT STARTS TO FEEL UNCOMFORTABLE.

I WANTED A BIKE I COULD RIDE THE STREETS ON AND PLUS NOW AND THEN SOME LIGHT TRAILS AND LIGHT-AGRESSIVE URBAN RIDING. I CHOSE THE SL MODEL FOR ITS LOOKS, BUT TODAY I KNOW IT WAS A GREAT CHOICE. IT HAS HIGHER LEVEL COMPONENTS THAT NEVER LET ME DOWN, IT IS LIGHWEIGHT, YET STURDY, AND CAN BE DRIVEN AGGRESSIVELY. I ALSO PUT 1.5" TRAIL TIRES ON IT AND TOOK IT FOR A 40 MILE EPIC RIDE IN THE MOUNTAINS (DIRT ONLY, NO PAVEMENTS). NEEDLESS TO SAY THE BIKE WAS FLAWLESS, THE CARBON FORK ACTUALLY MADE THE RIDE SURPRICINGLY SMOOTH. ALTHOUGH I NO LONGER TAKE THE BIKE IN THE MOUNTAINS (GOT NRS FROM GIANT)I KNOW THAT I CAN IF I HAVE TO. THE BIKE WAS RIDDEN FOR THREE SEASONS AND STILL RIDES LIKE NEW.

Similar Products Used: MY FIRST AND ONLY HYBRID BIKE
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Gflash   Recreational Rider [Sep 10, 2005]
Strength:

Good components for the price. Mountain Bike handling (for those who like this). Fast for a hybrid.

Weakness:

SRAM Half-Pipe shifters should be changed to shory versions or trigger shifters. Entry level crank, but can't complain for the price I got this bike for. 15" frame is a bit odd looking at first but looks should not be the primary reason you get a bike.

I am not a hardcore roadie and do a mix of off and on road riding. I needed a second bike which was more road oriented but wanted to keep the mountain bike handling and stability. For someone with this requirements, the 2004 Giant Cypress SX is an excellent choice. Got a great year-end clearance discount from my LBS ($425) which is a great price for the components this bike has. Thought the SRAM twist shifters were odd and did not like the half-pipe size shifters. But they worked really well. Changed them out to shortie versions and added better grips and bar ends. Although Giant classifies it in their road/comfort range, it is road bike fast. Cruising along at 20-25 MPH is a breeze. As the previous reviewer said the 15" in frame looks a bit odd (I'm a short guy so this frame fitted me the best). But lowered the stem and handle bars, raised the saddle for optimum leg extension and it is a lot more agressive looking and definitely not a comfort bike. Keep the bike maintained and you will prevent any odd noises and creaks. Entry level square taper crankset could should be updated to a splined crankset. Do not get the 2005 version that is definitely a comfort bike with suspension fork (unnecessary if you want a fast road bike set up) and granny saddle. For a mountain biker, it is a great road bike alternative but may not appeal to hard core roadies. Definitely a great bike for the price.

Similar Products Used: 1984 Bridgestone road Bike 2004 Cannondale F300 moutain bike
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
N2GLOCK   Recreational Rider [Aug 05, 2005]
Strength:

Not too many that I can think of. MTB style brakes stop okay. Ulterga rear der.

Weakness:

Very strange geometry. The 15" frame looks like a "Munchkin Bike". Brakes are pretty good but pads are cheap. Front der. is entry level. Seat is a joke. Wheels have to few spokes for the kind of riding this bike is intended for.

I am writing this review on behalf of my wife and her model is the Cypress SL. Anyways, she is very unhappy with this bike. She has had it for almost a year now and she just can't seem to get comfortable on it. I installed a shorter stem, a riser bar and we've played with the seat position alot and nothing seems to help. The first time she took it out for a long ride she could not sit down comfortably for 2 days after because of the seat that came on this bike. This bike may be okay for cruising the strand at the beach or maybe short commuting, but serious use is out of the question. This bike has a very odd geomety and I don't think that it's for everybody. My wife usually rides on a 15" frame but she had to opt for the 17" instead because the 15" was way too small. The frame also seems to flex alot as it tends to creek loudly while climbing hills out of the saddle. The parts mix is also kinda strange. Tektro v-brakes and cheap pads. Ulterga rear der. and enrty level front der.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
a236729   Recreational Rider [Jul 04, 2005]
Strength:

Sloping top tube, geometry, quality components fairly light.

Weakness:

none really. maybe slightly lighter tires that utilize a kevlar bead instead of wire would be a better choice.

After trying a handful of hybrid bikes this bike felt to have all of the best combination of characteristics. It has Ultegra rear derailleur, a fairly agressive position and balanced geometry that aids in going faster than the more upright position that many hybrids have. Shifting is crisp, the wheelset is relatively fast for this type of bike, stock seat is comfortable. Also, it is nice to have a carbon seat post and fork to absorb some of the vibration. 2004 Cypress SL has better, more agressive geometry than the 2005 Giant FCR series. In my opinion, Giant has made a mistake in eliminating this bike from their offerings.

Similar Products Used: Cypress SX, Specialize Sirrus, Marin
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
robertinchico   Recreational Rider [Nov 26, 2004]
Strength:

Frame is stiff, carbon fork smooths out bumps. Gearing is quite tall and the low spoke count wheels are speedy and the bike is surprisingly light. Very easy to ride in a speedy recreational manner, without the full on situation of a road bike.

Weakness:

Having been on mountain bikes, an adjustment is needed to avoid bumps with the slender tires and of course railroad tracks, curbs, potholes etc are felt through the aluminum frame as there is no suspension. The front derailleur is a Shimano mid-grade and is only fair.

This Bike, mine is actually the Cypress SL, is a perfect introduction to slim tire bikes from someone used to mountain bikes (mostly full suspension). Those not accustomed to the road-position, can get used to the joys of road riding without committing to a complete change to a road position "tuck". The flat handlebars/stem are like a mountain bike's position but average speeds are higher and the slender tires are not for thrashing off pavement. This bike will not blow the bank as an intro to road bike riding, and pavement riding, and street riding. The compact frame fits well, as lots of adjustment is always possible with the brake levers, headtube stack, stem position, shifter location, seat height and fore/aft position.

Similar Products Used: Felt speed bikes and Specialized Cirrus models - both were heavier, had downgraded components at the same price point and no sloping top tube fit
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-7 of 7  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.