BMC Team Machine SLR01 Road Bike

Available At:
Team Machine SLR01

It might not be about the bike, but maybe; just maybe; the bike can help you find that missing edge and land you squarely atop the podium. It might not be the Tour de France, and you might not be Cadel Evans; but winning is winning. Is it because of the BMC Team Machine that Cadel won the Tour? It's not the only reason, but as he and any other professional will tell you; without the best equipment, you're not going to win any race, let alone the Tour de France. With nearly one decade of ProTour pedigree, and now a victory in the world's biggest race, you will not find an inch of this frame that hasn't been refined to perfection. BMC has approached the concept of comfort and efficiency from many angles and every solution is present in the 2012 Team Machine SLR01; comprising a system they refer to as "Tuned Compliance Concept." The seat stays, seat post, and fork have all been designed to provide ample vertical compliance to keep you comfortable and in perfect contact with road, while always keeping an eye on performance. This allows you to keep pedaling as hard and efficiently as possible, on even the rougest of roads. As what seems to be an all too common practice in bicycles these days, BMC provides us with plenty of three-letter acronyms to describe their design process; no matter what they're calling it, it's working! Their ideologies, vision, and practices have produced a bike that is undeniably BMC; at the pinnacle of performance and design. Complete with all features of the next generation of bicycles: -Tapered steertube with integrated headtube -BB86 Bottom Bracket -Semi-integrated seatpost

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
Contrarian Capo   Triathlete [Mar 10, 2015]
Strength:

Extremely comfortable for a race bike. Shock absorption is very impressive. Stiff in the right places. Out of the box components are excellent. Gorgeous design.

Weakness:

Fairly expensive - but worth every penny.

This review is for the 2015 Team Machine BMC SLR01 w/ Dura Ace mechanical. $9,000 sticker price in the US. I am a triathlete primarily and so I split time on a road and tri bike. I ride about 150-200 miles per week in the warmer months and I don't do road racing, just tri's. I looked at a ton of bikes and test rode several during my search. I am writing this review primarily because I could not find any non-professional reviews for this machine. I was in a car accident 3 years ago (car totaled from behind on the freeway) that left me with pretty bad whiplash and I could not ride more than 20-30 miles for about 2 years without severe neck pain. For the last year i have been adding miles and decided to find a bike that was good enough to race on but also somewhat comfortable. This is the PERFECT bike for me and anyone looking for a comfortable performance ride. It is very shock absorbent, but there is no question it is a race bike. This is not a touring bike. This is the bike that Tejay Van Garderen and Philipe Gilbert ride. The DT Swiss hubs and wheels that come standard are exceptional wheels for all around riding and climbing. The components are all very high end from the stem to the seat to the bars. I have had the bike about 6 weeks and logged a bit more than 1000 miles. My longest ride was 102 miles with a few other 70 plus miles rides. I have NEVER felt better physically after a long ride. There is something about the absorbtino that you have to try to believe - it is just plain comfortable. I did not think you could get a race bike that felt this good to ride. After a proper fit and 1000 miles I am a huge fan of this machine. No question it is pricey, but you can feel where the money went. Highly recommend this bike for anyone that wants to ride long and hard but not be in unecessary pain at the end of the ride!

Similar Products Used: Cervelo P2 Tri Bike w Zipp 808s and Dura Ace
No Name carbon commuter from Taiwan with Dura Ace wheels and SRAM Force
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Saki   Road Racer [Sep 10, 2013]
Strength:

Great climber and accelerates very quickly! Light weight strong bike with a beautiful carbon finish

Weakness:

none so far except for the price lol

I love my Team machine! I recommend a carbon handlebar for a smoother ride. Climbing is so much easier due to the placement of the rear geometry .I did not pay an arm and a leg because i bought this on ebay for 700$ frame only, I know right? what a deal! I am lucky

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Cory   Road Racer [Sep 30, 2012]
Strength:

Solid, smooth and efficient ride. Comfortable. Great design. Lightweight. TdF winner

Weakness:

Price. BB86 bottom bracket (good design, but you will need to buy a new bottom bracket if you plan on using your current crankset)

The carbon on the top tube of my '09 Pro Machine failed and BMC sent me a 2012 Team Machine SLR01 under warranty! Kudos to BMC's customer service. The Team Machine is hands down the best all around road frame BMC has made. It has all of the characteristics that I loved about my Pro Machine, however, it is stiffer, more efficient and more comfortable. The bike is solid. The geometry is similar to the Pro Machine allowing it to track a straight line. Cornering is significantly improved thanks to the added lateral stiffness. The TCC design works. All of the annoying road chatter that would transmit through the seat tube and fork is eliminated or significantly dampened. The end result is a more comfortable ride.

BMC offers a unique product that performs and backs it up with equally good customer service.

Similar Products Used: BMC Pro Machine
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
eric gosalvez   Recreational Rider [Aug 12, 2012]
Strength:

Light, Responsive, Fast, Color Scheme (red/black)

Weakness:

Price

This is a very nice bike. You get what you paid for. Very light on the climb (as if it climb by itself) and stiff on the descents (fun). I hate climbing and i'm scared on the down hill, but this bike made me love those ascents and descents. On the hills i used a Reynolds 32mm and on the flats i use the Edge 50mm. Now i can keep up with the gang and never been dropped since. It absorbs the bumps with my Continental Gran Prix 4000s (25mm).

Similar Products Used: Cannondale Six, Cervelo S1, Look 566, Colnago CLX, Colnago E1
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Joe   Recreational Rider [Jun 20, 2012]
Strength:

Efficiency, looks, comfort, design, distinction, climbs like a billy goat, it won the TDF last year !

Weakness:

You have to write a big check to own one. People will hate you when they have to try to keep up with you.

I now know what people mean when they say "this is a fast bike". This bike is truly just silly fast. It almost feels like you get 105% forward motion when you put in 100% effort. I am coming off a Carbon/Ultegra bike and this bike just feels better in every regard. It also looks fantastic. I absolutely love this bike. I do not like getting off of it! Just rode the Trek 100 (mi) ride on it and can vouch for it's all day comfort. 5 hours in the saddle and it never got old. It almost feels like cheating!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Dee   Recreational Rider [Feb 13, 2012]
Strength:

Stiff but comfortable, lite an fast.

Weakness:

Could have a taller head tube.

I looked at a Trek Madone 5.2 and Cannondale SuperSix Evo. Was going to pull the trigger on the Trek and ran into very great deal on the 2011 BMC Team Machine. I went with the Team Machine because the reviews was more favorable. With my current setup the bike weights 15.7 pounds. It excellerates great, corners beautifully without the need to force it into a turn. It climb well (only hit a few small rollers so far). Based on the BMC website I thought geometry would have a taller head tube, but it has the geometry of straight up racer. I will have to adjust the stem to make it more comfortable for me. Most of all the bike comfortable to the max and absorbs the road good, but not better than the Madone 5.2. The real reason I purchase the bike was because it was SEXY.

Similar Products Used: Coppi Aluminum with carbon fork.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
p-coletray   Recreational Rider [Oct 27, 2011]
Strength:

Light, insanely fast with ridgid pedaling motion, Tight and responsive steering. Very comfortable ride. Hillclimbing is awesome, it probably reduces my energy spent by 10%, which feels twice as good as before. 2 hour rides are totally comfortable. I have not yet put in a full day ride.

Weakness:

The side winds down a hill can be challenging to navigate, probably due to the Zipp wheels light weight and large rims.

I am an active cyclist and triathlete, but not pro or elite. I came from riding a 2005 Allez.

I bought this bike used with 1700 miles in excellent condition and fully backed by the LBS at a ridiculous price.

I changed from a used Camaro to a new Ferrari when I bought this bike, excuse my lack of in depth knowledge. I am very humbled by my priviledge to own this professional caliper bike.

It transfers all energy effortlessly, smooth in every revolution and firm. The unexpected tight steering and instant reaction to every movement is a welcome but alien feeling to a rider of my caliber. The sounds it makes are also foreign to me with hollow clicks and ticks. I have had advanced riders tell me its the sound of speed.

Instantly this bike added 2 MPH to my average.

Moving forward, competitivecyclist has a great review of the 2011 team machine, as well as other sites.

Similar Products Used: My old bike is not similar in any level besides that it is a road bike.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Bernard   Road Racer [Aug 06, 2011]
Strength:

Light, comfortable and stiff. High quality finish.

Weakness:

High price (I bought the bike with almost 30% discount. You have to like the more technical design of the frame

Very smooth and stable ride. Stiff bottom bracket. The combination with the Fulcrum wheels and the Sram Red group is excellent. You see and you feel that you've got a quality product. Prices are high compared to bikes of the German volume brands.

Similar Products Used: Pinarello Paris (Campa Record), Scott CR1 (Sram Force), Cannondale Supersix (Sram Red)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-8 of 8  
Available At:

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.