Douglas Fusion Road Bike

Douglas Fusion Road Bike 

DESCRIPTION

Frame: Easton 7005 Ultralight aluminum with tapered Penta-shaped top tube, oversized Penta-shaped, Vari-Wall down tube; S-bend chain stays, externally butted head tube, Reynolds Ride-Tuned carbon seat stays, replaceable derailleur hanger. Fork: Reynolds Ouzo Comp with alloy steerer, integrated 1 1/8”. Frame Weight: (57cm) 2 lbs., 13 oz. Components: Ultegra or Dura Ace build kits Sizes: 49cm to 63cm in 2 cm increments measured center to top. Color: Electric Blue.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 11  
[Apr 12, 2013]
the guy

Strength:

I bought this bike frame about a year ago from the original owner, No nicks,dings or scratches on the frame.The owner ship it to me in its original box. I could not be more pleased. For $225.00 for the frame alone I fill I got the best bike deal of the year. I added a mix of ultegra front and rear derailluers and pedals,tiagra shifters, cinelli ram carbon flat bars. selle leather spilt saddle, nine speed shimano cog, askium rim set.I added a nice $100 carbon fork. I ride with a number of guys and girls with high end Treks Full carbon Felts, Eddie Merx ,some bikes ending in vowels $3000-$6000 bicycles....Suckers !!!

Weakness:

the frame is white

The bike is very, very light,very stiff and responsive, the carbon add on make its comfortable to ride 100 mile at a time. Great for climbing and rolling hills. at 54 I don't sprint much. I love this Bike!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 16, 2008]
timw
Recreational Rider

Strength:

So far overall A-1 performance and functioning. Everything very good. No wobbles, no creaks, no bad noises of any kind, no bad vibrations, no bad shocks or road shock. Solid feel.

Weakness:

None, not even anything to worry about or quibble or whine about.

Douglas Fusion. Carbon rear, carbon forks. Price includes shipping. Bike is 2008, per CC. Warning: newbie review! This is my first bike since my Raleigh 3 speed, too long ago to think about. Really this is a review of CC, and some inital impressions of the bike.

CC: They answered all my questions, no problem, no pressure, no impatience - great selling. The bike arrived in a box - it's a package bike. CC tunes it and reboxes it. It arrived perfect. I attached bars and wheels and went for a ride: that simple. 100 points for CC!

The bike: I looked at a lot of bikes. Because I'm big, getting test rides was pretty much not happening. RBR was an important source of imformation. The frame, components, and price were, finally, irresistable. I tried hard to support my local LBS - any local LBS - but in the end it just wasn't possible. No bikes, no availability, too expensive - and that was the best of it, but I digress.

Even though I haven't ridden, I know a good ride: this is a very good ride! I pedal, it goes. And it goes faster very easily - no resistance, no hesitation. It's waaay better than I am! I'm persuaded that for 97% of riders, this is as good as it gets: I could do different; I don't think I could do better unless I spent three times as much, and then maybe not even then.

I'm getting a different stem for a better fit and a Brooks saddle. I use toe clips. Everything else seems much better than good.







Similar Products Used:

none.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 30, 2008]
natsquared
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Great frame. Relatively light, stiff and comfortable.
Easton Circuit wheels are great. Strong, stayed true for the years I used them. Can't go wrong with Ultegra. Pro level performance for the average guy.

Weakness:

The generic Douglas quick release skewers bent under torque. After being replaced I was amazed at the improvement in rear end performance. No more wheel slip. It is a prepackaged setup therefore can't customize sizes of cranks, stem etc.

The original Fusion, circa 2002 is a great all around fast recreational/entry racing bike. The frame is light, responsive and comfortable enough for all day riding. Not the quickest bike for tight courses but handles everything in a competant manner. The original Ultegra componentry is top notch. It gives outstanding performance at a reasonable price. One would be hard pressed to tell the difference from Dura ace components of the same year. The standout part of the buildup to me was the Easton Circuit wheelset. Great wheels, stiff, light, responsive and a reasonably priced. Unfortuantely I couldn't keep them when I switched over to Record.
Downside to the bike. It is prepackaged so you cannot customize component specs. The original Douglas quick releases were crap. They flexed under torque, to the point of ending which caused a lot of wheel slippage within the dropouts. Replacing the Q/R solved the problem and noticably improved rear wheel stability.

Similar Products Used:

Colnago Master Light with Campy Daytona
Basso Paris Roubaix with Athena

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 30, 2007]
Ross Williams
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Very, very comfortable - carbon goodies (seat stays, fork, seatpost) help in that department. Climbs well and holds a good line in fast decents. The DT Swiss wheels are magical and along with the compact gearing, makes the steepest climbs do-able. Out of seat acceleration results in very little flex. Overall, a great bike for the price.

Weakness:

Bad fork! From almost day-one, had a creak in the headset. Cyclist eventually replaced the headset after adjustments failed to get rid of the creak. The creaking persisted and I took a look at the steerer tube. Cracked in the front and delaminating in the inside back. As I was really over carbon steerers at that time, Cyclist happily switched out the fork for a Reynolds Ouzo Comp with aluminum steerer. There is no insert in the stock fork, and I think that somewhere in shipping, the fork got damaged, as it was not a clamping force failure. However, the big side note is this: the crew at Colorado Cyclist was awesome and did everything necessary to make sure I was happy. They are very professional and get the job done properly!

This Fusion started out stock, but like the post below says, it came with some really narrow bars. I added a Deda Newton 46cm bar/90mm stem set-up and switched out the layback post with an FSA Zero post. I didn't stop there, as I added a SRAM Force Compact crankset, switched out the cassette for an Ultegra 12-27, and had Cyclist build up a set of DT Swiss wheels (RR 1.1 rims, 240 hubs, black spokes, red nipples). The whole set-up weighs in at 18.3 pounds, but pedals with a very light feel. The Cane Creek brakes did not stop well at first, but I changed to Dura-Ace pads and now they are very strong.

Similar Products Used:

Giant TCR Alloy, Mod-build on an old Schwinn Paramount frame.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 17, 2007]
escariot22
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Parts spec, the bike was set up extremely well. Little to no adjustments had to be made in completing the assembley. It's super-cool that they send an extra derailleur hanger, free of charge.

Weakness:

The bike seems a little heavier than what they claim. would be nice to have at least 42cm bars. Cane Creek brakes don't have much stopping power. Why not 11-25, for a 10 speed cassette?

I bought the Douglas Fusion 07 just a little while ago, to replace a stolen 2002 TCR 0 that I really loved riding. For what it costs, the Fusion's parts spec is an incredible deal. I've been on a few rides, so far, and I'm very pleased with the characteristics of the bike! It's got a solid feel with components that are both high-end(Dura Ace, FSA) and durable (Easton Circuits). The only complaint I have, really, is that for a 52 cm frame, you automatically receive a 40cm bar. Some of us have shoulders!!...but at that price, I can't really complain. I've been extremely pleased, so far, and trust me...the bike looks a lot better in person than in images.

Similar Products Used:

2002 Giant TCR 0 - full Dura Ace, Ksyrium SSC's, Merlin Aegus - full Dura Ace, Ksyrium Elites, Old Cannondale Crit bike, Campy Chorus, Open Pros

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 12, 2006]
catapang
Road Racer

Strength:

Stiff and relatively light frame
good quality components

Weakness:

saddle

I have had the bike for about a year now and have put in around 5000 miles. I also have raced about 15 times. This bike is the bang for the buck. Has all the components that a pro would ride and there are no cheap components. i am a student who pays for every thing that deals with cycling. I am very satisfied.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 31, 2005]
hopper
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Solid components... will not need to upgrade anytime soon! Frame feels great for the price I paid. Outstanding value!

Weakness:

Probably more bike than I really need. Would of liked to have more color options or a original paint scheme.

Outstanding ride so far after a great weekend tooling around the hills outside of Tokyo Japan. First really nice bike I have ever had. I am not used to this level of performance so I will report after a few months of hard use. Pinch me, I am in heaven!

Similar Products Used:

Trek 1200, Nishiki Tri-A, Specialized Allez

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 04, 2005]
deltatangobravo
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Value Smooth responsive ride Great looks

Weakness:

Hard saddle

This is a follow up to my initial review of the Fusion. I've had a chance to take it on a few longer rides and gotten a pretty good feel for the bike. And I really, really like it. My first impressions of it being tight and solid were accurate. It feels great on smooth and rough roads alike. I've taken it on a few roads that used to beat me up on my old Motobecane, and the Fusion frame is doing a nice job of soaking up the vibrations. I moved my seat back, and with more weight over the back wheel, I can feel more of the "spring" in the rear stays. But this frame still feels very light and responsive. Yesterday I cranked up a few tough hills and the Fusion responded like a champ. The drivetrain is smooth and quiet, the brakes are as solid as anything I've ever felt. The seat still feels pretty hard to me, but is a bit more comfortable since I adjusted the rake and fore/aft position. I still think I'll probably upgrade it.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 22, 2005]
deltatangobravo
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Great value (full Ultegra under $1800) Beautiful finish Tight and solid

Weakness:

Hard, skimpy saddle, will probably upgrade

I just got the Fusion and only taken it for a short ride, and so far I am very pleased. I'll write another review after I've put some miles on it. Initial impressions are that it is a beautiful bike. The 2005 deep red color is a vast improvement over earlier pale blue, and looks really sharp with the black chainrings and handlebars. It seems very well put-together and very solid. It handles nicely, quick but stable, much like my old Motobecane, but screwed together a lot tighter. I went all stock on this bike, but I'll probably upgrade the saddle at some point because it feels pretty dang hard. No other complaints at this time.

Similar Products Used:

None. This is the first new bike I've bought in 24 years.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 06, 2005]
Glenn Gordon
Recreational Rider

Strength:

The ride is very good. I have a Lemond Alp de Heuz steel framed bike and you can tell no difference in the ride. This bike is really fast and climbs well.

Weakness:

Limitations on the gear ratio. Needs an 11-24,23 instead of the stock 12-25. Needs a wider range of color options.

This bike has served it's purpose well. It is a 2002 and has been crashed once in which the damage was to the rider and not the bike. The wheels were checked after the crash and they were true as day one. Only problem that I have had with this is the rear derailer cable stretching and this happens to all bikes. I have over 3000 miles on this and would buy another on the spot!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 11  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.