Fuji Bicycles Professional Road Bike

Fuji Bicycles Professional Road Bike 

DESCRIPTION

Frame Material: X-Fusion Quaternary Aluminum/carbon stays
Frame Angles: 73.5 head, 73.0 seat
Sizes: 49cm, 52cm, 54cm, 56cm, 58cm, 61cm, 64cm
Colors: Blue
Fork: Fuji Full Carbon
Rear Shock: Not applicable
Brake Levers: Shimano Dura-Ace STI Dual Control
Handlebar: Ritchey Pro 31.8
Stem: Ritchey Pro 31.8
Headset: 1 1/8" integrated
Front Der: Shimano Dura-Ace, bottom-pull/clamp-on 31.8mm
Crankset: Ritchey WCS, 39/53 teeth
Rear Der: Shimano Dura-Ace SS
Pedals: Not included
Tires: 700 x 23c Hutchinson Fusion Comp

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Aug 01, 2006]
sgd26
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Stiffness
Road Dampening

Weakness:

Saddle!!!!

I bought this bike to prepare for an upcoming ride in my area. It's my first road bike, so I wanted a bike that I could grow into. I have found the Fuji Pro to be a compotent all around ride. I purchased the DA version, and have been pretty happy with the overall experience. The stock saddle on this bike is horrible, as my butt will attest. I am swaping out the stock Selle Italia C2, for a Selle SMP Strike Pro. I have also had to have multiple adjustments done to the drive train (i.e. poor shifting, BB creaking). Although, the topography of my riding area is hilly, this bike seems to answer whatever I throw at it. The frame is stiff, but absorbs alot of the bumps of poorly maintained asphalt. This is not a high end boutique type custom bike, but you will get alot of bang for your buck from the Fuji Pro.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 21, 2006]
sam murry
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Stiffness. Ridden up to a century without fatigue, but still screams uphill.

Weakness:

build by performance.

The bike itself has been great. The build by perf. has been iffy at best. First ride, the seat linkage fell apart. Switched out wheels to a performance build Mavic open pro. Wheels stay true for about 12-15 seconds, regardless of mechanic. Very stiff frame, but absorbs a ton. Only 1,000 miles so far, but love the bike itself.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 08, 2006]
dpauff
Road Racer

Strength:

light weight and very comfortable.

Weakness:

I wish it had internal cables. That would clean up the look.

Great bike listed at only 16.4 pounds, it climbs effortlessly, well maybe some effort, but less then most. The accelleration off the corners is awesome. Very comfortable on long rides and well as stiff enough to jump for the sprint. Looks real nice with the carbon weave on the seat and down tubes.

Similar Products Used:

2000 Bianchi veloce

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 01, 2006]
poonworks
Road Racer

Strength:

light, stiff, good price, good value for money, all carbon, frame lists at 2.4 lbs

Weakness:

none yet that I have found

2005 Fuji Profesional Full Carbon.
Bought the frame only on e-bay.
excellent ride! light, stiff. loaded it up with top shelf components, got it down to 14.5 lbs. so far, so good.
hills, no problem! very comfortable on longer rides as well! Riding from Calgary Alberta Canada to Austin Texas with this bike starting Sept 27/06!
will do updated review in future!

Similar Products Used:

aluminum bikes.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 16, 2005]
alem1583
Road Racer

Strength:

Stiffness and energy transfer. Beefy carbon, esp. at the BB Good selection of components, esp FSA Carbon Pro Team Issue Cranks

Weakness:

crappy looking plastic emblem on the chainstay, Dura Ace Brakes would have been nice. Original price was high, similarly spec'd bikes could be had for a lower MSRP.

Fantastic Ride, the components were solid. The thing about the bike is that it is very very stiff laterally, but still can soak up a good amount of the rough stuff on the road, not everything, but a lot. It has a very lively road feel, descending and cornering very precisely. The bike looks a bit smaller than it is, my 58 looks much smaller than it is, almost a semi-compact design. Coming from a steel bike, I enjoy the stiff ride and actually think the bike is able to soak up much of what my steel rig could. I could have done without the plastic emblem on the chainstay, and would preferred a front deraileur tab rather than a wrap around. But those things are relatively minor.

Similar Products Used:

Bianchi XL Boron

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 15, 2005]
judio79
Road Racer

Strength:

Stiff Riding Frame, good for longer rides and rolling terrain. The amount of Carbon in this bike for the price is truly an unbeatalbe deal. The frame allows for no flex, but is a pleasant ride over bumpy terrain. Carbon FSA Team Issue crank is a plus along with standard Easton Wheels for a quality ride. My body is not tired from the road anymore! Sweet looking Black Nude Carbon if you are into that kind of thing.

Weakness:

A lot of Fuji advertising on the frame. The choice of Ultegra Brakes was odd, but no big deal.

This bike provides a really smooth ride as I roll over some of the tougher roads in the city of Atlanta. the bike is able to withstand a lot of punishment while providing a huge accerlation in our many hills around town (short and stumpy). On the flats on the southern part of town, once this bike is able to get up to speed it sustains that speed very smoothly allowing for quick transitional riding through the gears. I descend with confindence in the mountains and go up quick as hell. Quality product

Similar Products Used:

Pinarello Prince SL Fuji Team Mercury

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 05, 2005]
adamfresno
Road Racer

Strength:

Stiff, light, affordable, and somewhat comfortable for a Al/carbon bike. Many European bike that are similiar would cost a ton more for same performance or less.

Weakness:

Probably a little harsh for long rides.

Finding a good deal on a fuji bike seems easy. Price is a huge advantage with these bikes because they perform extremly well.

Similar Products Used:

Trek

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 05, 2005]
AlexCad5
Road Racer

Strength:

Agile, and tracks in tight decents unlike any other frame/set up I've used. Rarely feel like I need to use the brakes. Light, but not the lightest bike. Good excelleration.

Weakness:

Super stiff. Perhaps the carbon seat stays are more for looks. I'd probably opt for the all aluminum model TEAM SL, cause the seat stays represent a weight penalty and probably aren't helping the compilance. If I weren't buying it for the Fork too stiff. A little more complance would help the rear wheel stay on the ground in the rough stuff. This is not a major problem, it's not bouncing all around, just being a little nit-picky. Carbon rear end would be the optimal solution and would save weight. Overall, this is the best deal in high-end component clad bike on the market. Oh, don't like the graphics much, especially the block lettered "PROFESSIONAL" Paint color is nice though. The '05s are more sophisticated

Originally bought bike for the parts, but on my first decent of Mt Diablo I became a convert. The bike decends like none of my other frames. I was going to sell off the frame, but I think she's a keeper. Will make a good race bike. Fast, agile and corners exceptionally well. Won't cry if I drop it and it gets dinged up. Maybe because it is smaller? and fits me better? Unsure. Next bike will be a custom - so then I'll know what size is optimal. Swapped out the 100mm stem for a 120mm, and got the reach stretched out alittle. Feels better. Stiff. Very stiff, and I'm not so sure the carbon stays actually provide any relief. Maybe as stiff as my Cannondale (all aluminum,) maybe stiffer. Full carbon fork, but the legs are very beefy fore and aft, making it very stiff. My first upgrade recommendation would be to put a Easton ec90 fork on the bike, given you have $350 lying around. Not a bike I'd do centuries or rough rides on. Skip the Copperopolis Road Race if this is your only bike. 25mm tires or bigger would help. Another poster mentioned the seat, and I have to concur, that seat is the worst. Light though, only 180gms on my kitchen scale. Selling off the wheels. The Ritcheys are okay and bladed, but compared to the American Classics I already have they are heavy and spin up slowly. Replaced: Ritchey 100mm Stem and Handle bars (don't like the anatomical Ritchey bars,) with Preformance's Forte pro 120mm stem, and Cinelli nerve bars, saddle P.O.S. with Selle Italia Flite, heavier but comfortable; Replaced the Ritchey pro wheels with Am Classic 420 rear and 350 front. Using performance's Forte Magnesium look-style pedals. Specialized Waterbottle cages and a CartOne carbon pump. Total weight 16.9lbs, after makeover

Similar Products Used:

Cannondale 2000si cad5 Look 231 carbon with alum. lugs Interloc Scandium elite (great bike)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 22, 2005]
MilleniaTMH
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Very light weight. Around 18LBS stock. All around good looking bike. Carbon stays/fork/seat post. Dura Ace 10 speed. Excellent cornering.

Weakness:

Should have Dura Ace brake calipers.

A major upgrade from my Giant OCR3. Went straight from the OCR up to the Fuji Pro. I got an exceptional deal due to the 2005's being out and the store having a major sale on the 2004's. This is a great looking lightweight bike. It absolutly hauls. More impressive than the speed is this bikes ability to corner.

Similar Products Used:

Giant OCR3.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 19, 2004]
bickerto
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Dura Ace components at an Ultegra price. Frame has great ride qualities.

Weakness:

Saddle- If the first bike I rode had a seat like this, I would have quit riding in weeks. Should have come with Dura Ace calipers.

I bought this bike to replace my 20-year-old Team Myata (full 1st generation SIS Dura Ace.) Where my old bike had Dura Ace, I was having a hard time stepping down the components, or paying the price for most vendors Dura Ace offerings. The frame geometry is very similar to my old bike, longer top tube, shorter stem on the Fuji. That being said, the handling is very similar. The bike disappears underneath you. It is capable of hard cornering and aggressive maneuvering, yet is stable on downhills and at speed. The frame seems to translate force applied to the pedals into forward momentum very efficiently (better than my Sons Specialized Team Festina.) I have taken over 5 hour rides with no discomfort. Changes I have made were to swap out the Ultegra calipers with DuraAce, changed the saddle to a Fizik AirOne, and bought a set of Topolino wheels (though I thought the Ritchey deep section to be more than adequate.) Overall I am extremely happy with this bike. Dollar for dollar it is a great value.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized Team Festina Orbea Orca

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.