Giant TCR Advanced SL 2 Road Bike

Available At:
TCR Advanced SL 2

From stages in the Grand Tours to your local loops, Giant knows what it takes to win. The handcrafted TCR Advanced 2 features their pro-level Advanced

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
Richard Anderson   Road Racer [Jan 26, 2013]
Strength:

This is for the Advanced SL3. 2012 UK model. Fantastic bit of kit. As others have said very stiff and comfortable. This thing just wants to fly out from between your legs when you put the power down. The 2012 model comes standard with full Ultegra 10 speed. But me being me have changed it to Ultegra Di2 which has really improved the smoothness of shifting. Fizik Airone saddle is very good and my back side got used to it straight away. Also changed the stock stem to the Giants Carbon SL. I cant fault it. It looks great too with the black carbon weave showing over the full bike.

Weakness:

None.

I rode lots of other similar priced bikes, Cannondale, Specialized, Trek, Cerevelo, etc,etc.... BUT THIS ONE BEATS THEM HANDS DOWN. on set up, comfort, speed, looks. Its a brilliant all rounder. The overall price is including the Di2 and stem.

Similar Products Used: As per review summary.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Dargo200   Road Racer [Jan 19, 2012]
Strength:

Value for money. I couldn't find anything else with these specs at this price.

Weakness:

weak R deraillieur, not stiff enough for some.

I've ridden this for over a year & a half & put 10 000km on it and in that time I've had a number of issues. The R deraillieur has snapped of twice both times at the drop-out tag (the little piece that connects the deraillieur to the frame). Both times while I was on a climb. had drop-out tag replaced with a larger one and now it's all fine. The rear break cable also rubs on my inner thigh which gets annoying after a while. but apart from that the bike performs well the frame is a little bit too flexible for my tastes but others may find it a comfort. The description above says that it has Ultegra parts but in actual fact the 2011 model comes with a 105 groupset.

Similar Products Used: Giant defy 2
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Sean G   Road Racer [Apr 20, 2011]
Strength:

Everything. Climbs well, handles like a dream, responds instantly, and in my own personal opinion, is about the sexiest thing on 2 wheels in the pro peloton right now. The thing is just damn fast too! Fastest bike I've ever ridden.

Weakness:

It's hard to find much weakness in any bike designed for the pro peloton when it comes to the masses. Above all, make sure the bike you get fits. That is the single most important thing at this level of bike regardless of make and model.

This review is specifically for the TCR Advanced SL3. Went with the 2010 as it was deeply discounted and the same bike as 2011, except for the paint scheme, and I like the 2010 paint better anyway. Decided on the SL3 as the guys at the shop convinced me that Ultegra 6700 is BETTER than Dura-Ace 7800 (which I've been riding for 7 years) and I have to agree. Saved several thousand going with Ultegra and the darn thing still only weighed 15.1 lbs with pedals, cages, and computer! My Gawd!! That's lighter than my '07 Scott CR1 with Dura Ace and carbon everything (and cost $2k more than this bike)! I had never considered Giant and never really liked the looks of them (before this model), but again, the guys at the shop convinced me this is the best bike out there. One ride is all it took to know they weren't BS'ing me. They also could have sold me something more expensive and made more of a profit, but such was their belief that this bike is the best thing going and they knew I'd be better off with the Giant. This is hands down the best bike I have ever ridden and considering I never thought I'd own a Giant in my life, that's saying something.

Similar Products Used: 2002 Trek 5200 upgraded from Ultegra 6500 9 speed to Dura Ace 7800 10 speed in 2004.

2007 Scott CR1 with full Dura Ace 7800, Ksyrium ES wheelset, Bontrager Carbon VR bar, Easton EC70 carbon stem, Ritchey carbon seat post
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
T3000   Road Racer [Nov 10, 2010]
Strength:

Everything.

Weakness:

None.

After doing extensive research, I decided on this bike. Bought at the bike show, which isn't the greatest experience, as there's no setup, but the price was right! Got fitted at my LBS and away I went. Wow! I can't say enough about this bike. It climbs like there's a magnet pulling it up the hill, corners intuitively and is incredibly responsive. It begs to be ridden fast and will take any punishment you throw at it. You really feel like the bike is an extension of your body. Super efficient. Awesome weight and stiffness. Thanks to all the members who posted their reviews, you were a big help! Glad I made this choice.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Monkey Watson   Triathlete [Oct 29, 2010]
Strength:

Perfect combination of stiffness, speed and comfort.
Great looking decals and finish

Weakness:

None so far.
Stock saddle isn't for everyone but I've gotten used to it and will probably stick with it.

I was looking for a faster bike than my 04 Specialized Roubaix for triathlons. But I also wanted something fun to ride in the mountains and with my buddies.

This bike fit the bill.

After trying out several aero-road models and other brands, I stubbled on this bike marked down at my local shop. I had not considered Giant, knew nothing about the TCR Advanced, and was hesitant to ride it as it was about 1K more than I was thinking of spending.

Then I made the mistake of test riding it.

It's fast, stiff and extremely comfortable. How is that possible. The bike just disappears beneath me it's so responsive. But it's stable enough to handle well even with clip-on aero-bars.

I love this bike. And I tell my wife that every time I come home from a ride since she approved the budget to buy it.

Similar Products Used: Cervelo S2
Trek Madone 5.2
Scott Addict R2
Pinarello FP5
Felt AR4
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Brewster   Recreational Rider [Sep 07, 2010]
Strength:

Fast, light, fast, responsive, fast, super-confident descents, fast, great climber, good component (with exception of handlebar), did I mention fast?

Weakness:

None with the exception of the handlebar. I rode with someone else who purchased the same bike and complained about the seat (I actually like it). Since these are minor component-related and can be easily changed, I wouldn't call them weaknesses. So in short, none.

Ok, so I did A LOT of research before purchasing this bike. It's an upgrade from a 2007 Specialized Roubaix with 105 component set (a.k.a. beginner carbon bike). My annual miles have gone to 4k+ with some light racing and fast group rides. I wanted something faster and lighter, and this bike was it!! This bike really offers it all - light, responsive, stiff, surprisingly comfortable, and as a previous reviewer noted as well, my MPH went up immediately - it's fast! It's a GREAT climber, and as a former wimp on descents I can honestly say I now look forward to them. This bike descends better than any bike I've ridden - extremely predicable and solid.

I made two modifications to make it 'perfect-out-of-the-shop': 1 - it comes as a standard, and in Utah we do a fair share of climbing so I swapped out the double for a compact, and 2 - the stock handlebar and stem are pretty basic; I upgraded to to an FSA full carbon.

Similar Products Used: Scott CR1, Specialized Tarmac, Cannondale SuperSix 2, Fuji SL, Trek Madone
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Steph66   Road Racer [May 28, 2010]
Strength:

Unbelieveably comfortable !! even on 60 mile rides rough pavement. finish on bike is flawless !! Go to sleep and wake staring at it.Shop owner grant hooks you up with deals for life after you buy bike there !!! SAVE $$$ If you live in Fla. Make the drive !!!

Weakness:

Absolutly NONE !!!

Hope you find this review if you were like me,lusting after every carbon wonder that rode past me while I dug my trenches on the 1800 dollar alloy flat bar bike I was riding getting snubbed by the real roadies in full kit who take this sport as seriously as I do.Problem was which to buy? Almost bought lesser carbon due to looks,name,flash. But ended up with the Sl. Bike shop owner kept telling me this was THE BIKE. Everything I test rode Except the Pinarello felt dead compared to this bike!!!! Its got an engine hidden somewhere and still cant believe how much faster I am on this bike. The guys I rode with before our now history and I go out trolling for new ones to punish now !!! Ride it to believe it !!!! avg. speed up 4mph on this rig !!! Its like cheating !!!

Similar Products Used: Pinarello prince,Cervelo S3,RS,S1.Scott cr1.TREK madone. Specialized tarmac pro,roubaix.Cannondalecsuper six,six(nice).
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
opaleski   Road Racer [Sep 24, 2009]
Strength:

Giant bike and Dealer

Weakness:

None

2009 Bike-Best Dealer in the Central Florida area.--Willing to deal

Similar Products Used: First and hopefully last road bike
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Devon L   Road Racer [May 29, 2009]
Strength:

Weight, performance, comfort, price, stiffness, quality, technology, very balanced and stable, great breaking performance. handles great at high speed down decents. climbing, accelerating.

Its the best road bike period.

Weakness:

Nothing.

This bike is simply gorgeous, a real work of art. The quality of Giant bikes is the best in the world. North America doesn't come close to Giants technology. I used to think Trek made the best bikes, not anymore. Giant excels in every catagory. My 2009 TCR Advanced SL2 is amazing, I couldn'y imagine a better bike then this, the ride quality and how the bike responds is just amazing to experience. If your looking for a new road bike that gets you the best bike for the buck, don't go any other way then Giant TCR advanced SL, best decision you'll make.

Similar Products Used: 2005 TCR Advanced C3
Trek Madone 5.2
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jon H   Road Racer [Mar 12, 2009]
Strength:

No flex. Fast and agile.

Weakness:

The center of gravity feels high. I haven't raced a crit with it yet but cornering at race pace may get some use to. Cobbles are a little rougher than any bike I've owned.

This is the most stable bike I have ever ridden. My other bike is a BMC SLC01 pro machine and I didn't think that I could like something more. I was wrong. This bike is amazing and every bit of energy you apply to the pedal propels the bike forward.

Similar Products Used: BMC Pro Machine
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 11