Jamis Xenith Team Road Bike

  • FRAME: Full carbon fiber composite frame including lugs, sloping top tube design, monostay seatstays, replaceable derailleur hanger.
  • FORK: Jamis 1-piece, fully integrated carbon fiber, with carbon fiber dropouts.
  • HEADSET: FSA Orbit Integrated, theadless, 1 1/8”.
  • WHEELSET: Mavic Ksyrium ES 700C wheelset 18/20H Maxtal rims, QTM sealed cartridge FTS-L hubs, straight pull Zicral spokes.
  • TIRES: Hutchinson Fusion Comp, 700 x 23C, Kevlar.
  • DERAILLEURS: Shimano Dura-Ace SS rear, Dura-Ace braze-on front.
  • SHIFTERS: Shimano Dura-Ace Dual Control STI, 20-speed.
  • WEIGHT: 15.50 lbs

  • User Reviews (7)

    Showing 1-7 of 7  
    kmartin1226   Recreational Rider [May 01, 2010]
    Strength:

    None

    Weakness:

    Poor quality. The ride is really harsh. Doesn't handle well.

    The frame is the poorest quality I've ever seen in a carbon frame. The seams are way to visible and less than 2 years of riding mine (no crashes) a crack started in a seam on the downtube. Jamis has a "lifetime warranty" but they had my frame for 2 months and sent it back to me without fixing it or replacing it. They don't make a good product and don't stand behind their warranty. Not a good recipe for a bike company, or any other company for that matter.

    Similar Products Used: Cannondale Super Six, BH G4
    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    ewhawkes   Road Racer [Aug 01, 2009]
    Strength:

    Light, fast, stiff

    Weakness:

    None so far after 5000+ miles

    Amazing ride, super stiff, super light. I built mine up with Dura-ace and EC90 Aero wheels at just over 15 lbs for a 58. Flies up hills, descends and corners like a dream. Not a big name, but for the price, much better value. Rides comparably to high-end Times I sell at my shop.

    Customer service is amazing. Got a new frame at no cost when I sent pics of superficial problem with the paint. Great response, and a new bike!

    Similar Products Used: Time ulteam worldstar
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    extralite   Recreational Rider [Dec 28, 2007]
    Strength:

    Light, Fast, Smooth, Stiff & Sexy.

    Weakness:

    None

    This review is for the frame and fork only. It is super fast, stiff yet comfy. It offers unparalleled vibration dampening. I can ride longer and faster compared to my aluminum Jamis Ventura Elite. The actual weight of my 54cm frame is 1215 grams and fork is 335 grams. I'm 5'8" 148 lbs. and the 2006 Xenith Team's geometry is spot on, the reach perfect which leads to acurate steering both stable and quick. It just feels great! :)

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Scott Foster   Road Racer [Apr 03, 2007]
    Strength:

    Amazing weight (1.8 pound frame weight in my 54 CM). Bike is still very stiff and yet floats over broken pavement leaving you fresh at the end of a ride. Triad tube set really sets this frame apart from the rest. The work Jamis did with 3 US pro-teams designing this bike has paid off. A great improvement over the original carbon Xenith.

    Weakness:

    Visible resin seams from the building process in the unpainted carbon could be cleaner. While a polished clear coat would add weight it would really make the frame look better. The 3 year warranty could be better for the top of the line road frame from Jamis. The Xenith fork while compliant could be a tad stiffer(still handles great).

    I recently purchased the Jamis Xenth SL ultra light unpainted frame set. The bike is the bargain of the century and is every bit as good as the big name brands. The Sub-900 gram weight puts this frame at the top of the food chain. Toray carbon with 3 fiber densities(Triad)used in the lay up really make this bike shine. Superb stiffness and a ride quality second to none take this frame above the pack of cheaper carbon frames on the market.

    Similar Products Used: Lightspeed, K2, Yeti road project.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Mhack   Road Racer [Mar 16, 2007]
    Strength:

    Above.

    Weakness:

    It's not Euro - but I can still afford to travel there.

    Smoooooth and stiff. I'm not afraid of feeling the buzz of aluminum as the price for stiffness. First 100 miles on this frame has changed my religion. Road buzz is gone. First ride I was able to maintain a climbing speed equal to that of last fall. That was 15 pounds of chub ago. I'll post again at 1000 miles.

    Similar Products Used: GT ZR1000, Merlin extralight compact, Lemond Maillot Jaune (sp?)
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Matt   Road Racer [Mar 16, 2007]
    Strength:

    Above.

    Weakness:

    None yet - first 100 miles. I'll post another comment in 1000 miles.

    Smoooooth and stiff. I was never 'beaten' by aluminum, but wanted to try a compact carbon frame. Holy Smoke - I'm much fatter than pre-winter06, but my speed on the new frame is easier to maintain -----yeeeehaw, Brooklyn style.

    Similar Products Used: GT ZR100, Merlin Extralight compact, Lemond Maillot Jaune (sp?).
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Jomed   Road Racer [Feb 28, 2007]
    Strength:

    Build quality
    Stiff yet forgiving
    Light-15lbs 51cm
    Accelerates quickly
    Great for climbing and descending

    Weakness:

    -Poor factory assembly. Check all bolts! Crank arm and front derail fell off within first month of use.
    -Poor customer service-emailed company over 5 months ago and never recvd response

    What an awesome machine. I have mine set up with full Dura Ace with Zipp 404's. Gets up to speed fast! A gerat race bike, fairly comfortable for centuries. Responsive handling yet a little forgiving in tight situations.

    Similar Products Used: Trek 1000
    Giant TCR2
    Litespeed
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-7 of 7