LeMond Bicycles Buenos Aires Road Bike

LeMond Bicycles Buenos Aires Road Bike 

DESCRIPTION

Frame Material: Reynolds 853 spine/ Carbon cockpit
Frame Angles: 73.5 head, 72.5 seat
Sizes: 49cm, 51cm, 53cm, 55cm, 57cm, 59cm, 61cm
Colors: Silver/White
Fork: Bontrager Race Carbon
Rear Shock: Not applicable
Brake Levers: Shimano Ultegra STI Dual Control
Handlebar: 3T T.H.E.
Stem: 3T T.H.E.
Headset: 1 1/8" threaded Cane Creek C1
Front Der: Shimano 105, Other
Crankset: Shimano Ultegra, 39/53 teeth
Rear Der: Shimano Ultegra GS
Pedals: Shimano PD-M515 SPD
Tires: 700 x 23c Bontrager Race Lite

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 27  
[Jun 29, 2010]
Andy69
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Very comfortable, light enough to be fast but not so light that a fatso like me is going to break it in half. Paint is much better quality than my old 01 LeMond.

Weakness:

Weak stock wheels, frame flexes a bit more than I'd like.

I love this bike. It's like riding a stick of butter. It handles great, rides great, is extremely comfortable. The major weak point was the wheels. I trashed the Bontragers pretty quickly as I weigh over 220. I replaced them with a set of Eastons that have been perfect. The frame is a bit more flexy than my old 853 steel frame LeMond, and I notice it a lot because I like to turn a big gear, but I don't think I'm going to break it. The best part is that I can ride this thing 100 miles and nothing hurts. Nothing.

Similar Products Used:

2001 LeMond Nevada City

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 29, 2010]
N605CB
Recreational Rider

Strength:

The BB is stiff and solid. This bike is not twitchy and I don't have the flexy front end that I have read in other reviews. Excellent climber with the LeMond designed forward BB position. Absorbs the road buzz very well!

Weakness:

None!

This frame was part of a group of frames built for the LeMond racing team. Because the paint was too dark (maroon and white), they were rejected. Still perfect, looks great!

I now have 7200 miles on this bike and enjoy every mile riding it. It is stiff and solid on the descents. The weight is 17 lbs. 9 ozs., 53 cm.

Similar Products Used:

Cannondale Cad 5 (aluminum).

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 19, 2009]
angrybuzzy
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Stiff, light, comfortable, great looking in white and red.

Weakness:

Lemond and Trek are splitsville. Hopefully Lemond will find another company to work with.

I bought a mountain bike for fitness and found I never took it off road but I did ride it every day. Watching the Tour de France coverage I realized what I really wanted was a road bike. While on vacation in Florida I rented a Lemond Chambery for 2 weeks and once I got used to the completely different riding position of a road bike I was hooked. When I got back home I started researching bikes. I read about frames and materials and components. I read reviews of all kinds of bikes. I think I had paralysis by analysis. It took me months to finally make a decision and pull the trigger. I wasn't looking for a Lemond specifically but found this one on eBay. A number of emails back and forth with the seller along with a lot of good pictures and I finally bought it. I have not been disappointed. The Buenos Aires looks and rides great. I started doing group rides and have gotten many compliments on the bike. When you're as new to riding as I am it's fun discovering your strengths and weaknesses. It turns out that one of my strengths is climbing and this bike seems to excel at it. With pedals, computer, cages, and my overly full, large, Bell saddle bag the bike weighs 19.5 pounds. I try to do most climbs in the saddle and the bike fits me well for that but it can also handle getting out of the saddle and pushing a larger gear. The roads in NJ are seriously rough for the most part with lots of holes large enough to swallow man and bike. The frame and Bontrager wheels have taken them in stride. The bike is definitely stiff but I wouldn't say overly so. It handles well and I'm able to ride long stretches no hands which I think indicates it's not twitchy.

Similar Products Used:

Lemond Chambery

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 01, 2008]
PhilA
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Quality, frame, finish, handling.

Weakness:

Still looking...

I just this weekend picked up a new 2007 Buenos Aires on a closeout at a Trek shop in Omaha. Original price was $2400+, I got it for $1099. I am still getting the bike equipped (need new pedals, shorter stem, etc) but am extremely impressed with this bike. I've never seen a frame with this level of finish, it is a work of art. Full 105 group with Ultegra RD and shifters work super. Everything else Bontrager race, which seem to be OK. The bike is extraordinarily smooth, and stiff where it should be. Handling is just what I wanted - relaxed and non-twitchy for long miles without fatigue, but very responsive and carves through turns like its on rails. The saddle seems like it might not fit my butt the best, but that's kind of expected. All in all an increadible bike that I can't wait to get fully fitted out and ride many miles and years.

Similar Products Used:

1986 Trek 400, Reynolds 531 steel

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 22, 2008]
needforspeedsteve
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Very stable comfortable frame, good climber, holds its line very well. Looks - love the metal flake red and white paint and the interesting shaped tubes. Unique - I've never seen another one on the road so far.

Weakness:

Wheels seem a bit heavier than I am used to (Bontgrager Race). Stock stem a bit short for frame (55 CM frame comes with 100mm stem - 55 CM LeMonds used to come with 120mm stem). I prefer the old block letter graphics VS the new script lettering. I also prefer the older head tube badge (why change this at this point in the life cycle of the brand?)

I got this lightly used bike on eBay last month and have since changed out all the 105 components with Ultegra (I can't say I notice a difference at all in performance, but I just like riding full Ultegra bikes for some reason - marketing brain washing I guess). I've put about 100 miles on it to date and my initial impression as compared to my 1999 aluminum framed LeMond Chambery is that the Buenos Aires has a more relaxed ride. It holds it's line a bit better than the Chambery; The Buenos Aires is probably more suited to longer, straighter rides, where the Chambery has a racier feel to it, if that makes sense. I can't really say it's better or worse, just different. I am surprised to say that the Buenos Aires does not really feel any better over the bumps, which means either carbon fiber is over hyped and/or the older aluminum LeMond frames are really good - probably a little bit of both. I am finding the stock 100mm stem to be a bit too short and have ordered a longer one. The stock set up puts the rider in a more upright position than my stock Chambery setup...perhaps it's just a sign of the times as bike manufacturers have realized that few people actually race the bikes they buy. The components all work flawlessly (even the orignal 105 worked great). I do think the stock Bontrager Race wheels are a down grade as compared to the Rolf Vector Comps that came stock on my Chambery. They just feel heavier. At some point I may swap the Bontrager Race's out for something a bit lighter. Also, while the frame of the Buenos Aires is quite light (I think they say it's 950 grams) the fork is rather heavy. I have no idea why they would put such a heavy fork on such a nice frame. However, I doubt I will swap it out as I like the looks of the original white fork too much (looks trump performance - oh well). I haven't weighed the Buenos Aires, but it feels about the same as my Chambery, which tips the scales at 19.5 lbs with pedals. The one area that I think the Buenos Aires performs slightly better is on climbs - the Buenos Aires really transmits the power to the wheels efficiently. The Chambery does too, but the Buenos Aires feels just a bit more responsive on climbs. In summary, the 2007 Buenos Aires is a great ride and can now be found rather cheaply used (or perhaps new as a last year leftover model). Buy it if you like a stable, fairly light, great looking bike. Stay away from it if you are a weight weanie (although with the right components and fork this bike could become very, very light) or are looking for a bike with lightning quick handling.

Note that I rated the value a 5 only because I got it so cheaply used on eBay

Similar Products Used:

1999 LeMond Chambery - Aeroluminum T6061 frame, full Ultegra, Rolf Vector Comp rims, Michelin Carbon tires

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 08, 2008]
robert_rutter
Triathlete

Strength:

handling and materials are superb. Great on flat rides as well as climbing.

Weakness:

i HAVE REPLACED ALL THE 105 PARTS WITH Ultegra parts to reduce weight and increase performance, but it was just a personal thing, not a performance problem with the 105 gear. The tires are very prone to flats is the only real problem.

I bought this bike 3 months ago after having a Trek 1500. The difference was night and day. I love the feel, the handling, as well as the response. The Bike came with Ultegra Shifters, and 105 crankset, derailler, and rear cassette. They all worked just fine. I would recommend this bike as a great bike to beginning racers and triathletes. A great frame to upgrade.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 22, 2007]
craigchythlook
Recreational Rider

Strength:

ultragear front and rear derailleurs, 105 brakes great stopping power, handles very well, very nice looking bike orange and carbon very sexy.

Weakness:

had to change the saddle a little uncomfortable, and if your riding in an area with thorns or anything kevlar tires are needed.

I've just started to ride a lot. I bought the bike after speding a summer riding my mountain bike around. I didn't know what to expect other than it was a whole heck of a lot lighter than my mountain bike. I've sence put several hundred miles on the bike and have loved it. I started with reading the reviews and talking about the bike with friends. The ultragear front and rear derailleurs have been aweswome. I changed the tires kept getting flats now have Armadillos all conditon on now been great ever since. Also changed saddle to specilized toupe. Those have been the only things I've changed. I have really loved this bike it climbes, handles, and stops very well. I'm 23 5'10" and 160 pounds. From my limited experience this bike even compaired to others is a great bike for the value and quailty. I'd recommend this bike to anyone whos intrested in riding a lot and thinking about racing.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 08, 2007]
John White
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Well designed and outfitted version of this bike. Quality components. Fit and finish is of highest quality.

Weakness:

Size is somewhat rangy, but comfy none the less.

Ideal first road bike. Uses quality components throughout. Great ride and handling. Could help me become a serious roadie, but no leg shaving!

Similar Products Used:

none

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 07, 2007]
LB
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Velvety-smooth, "trustworty" ride.

Weakness:

Trifle on the heavy side.
Bumble-bee colours of the 2005 model won't be to everyone's taste.

After my full carbon Planet-X got stolen 5 days before the London Triathlon, I had to get a new bike asap! Saw this one heavily marked down, so investigated. A half-hour test ride later I knew this was the answer - brought back all the fond memories of my early '90s Avanti steel frame road bike, yet minus the weight penalty due to the carbon 'cockpit' as they call it.

A pity they've stopped making these now as I think it really does marry the best attributes of steel (a kind of gentle, 'safe' feeling arising from the lack of skittery jarring you get on all Alu bikes and to an extent on carbon bikes too) with carbon's low weight.

It's not just the vibration dampening that is at work here. Plenty of carbon frames do that. What steel provides is a kind of "I'm there for you" solidity that urges you to press hard against your own limits, be it climbing or flat-blatting, hard-banking twisty descents or aero-tucking down a steep straight. And that sensation is what this bike has got in spades.

And the Triathlon? Chuffed to bits - beat my PR on this black-and-yellow beast.

Try it out. You'll be amazed.

Similar Products Used:

Planet-X Pro Carbon Superlight
Avanti Sprint

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 10, 2007]
Seth
Road Racer

Strength:

Great looking bike, very stiff BB, great geometry, fast climber, can be light with the right parts.

Weakness:

Flexy front end, claimed frame weight 17% off, heavy fork.

I figured I'd try out the new LeMond full carbon frame and see how I liked it. Very smooth riding frame, great at soaking up road vibration in the front and rear. The bottom bracket area is very stiff, I noticed very little flex. I wish I could say the same for the front end. When sprinting, it goes everywhere and it is very easy to flex just sitting in the saddle.

I love LeMond's classic geometry, stable downhill and a good climber. Same great angles as my 2005 Zurich. A wonderful bike to race or train on.

The bike looks great, I love the red and white finish. The shaped frame does seem to do its job and it also turns heads.

I thought the bike was a little heavy out of the box. I stripped it down to mount my Sram kit. I weighed the frame, 1117 grams!! This from a frame with a claimed weight of 950?? LeMond is making three versions of this frame, claimed 1050, 950, and 850g weights. The catalog very clearly states that the Buenos Aires frame weighs 950 grams, why does mine weigh 167g more than advertized? Either way, when built up with Sram Rival and Bontrager XXX tubulars, it weighed a scant 15.2 (no pedals, 55cm)

despite the misinformation on the frame weight and flexy front end, I really do love the bike. Cant wait to get my hands on the new Tete de Course though...

Similar Products Used:

LeMond Zurich, Orbea Orca and Opal, Waterford R33 and 2200, Giant TCR1, Gunnar Roadie

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 27  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.