LeMond Bicycles Victoire Road Bike

Frame Material: 3Al/2.5V titanium/carbon fiber composite
Frame Angles: 73.5 head, 72.5 seat
Sizes: 49cm, 51cm, 53cm, 55cm, 57cm, 59cm, 61cm
Colors: White/Titanium
Fork: Reynolds Ouzo Pro
Rear Shock: Not applicable
Brake Levers: Shimano Ultegra STI Dual Control
Handlebar: 3T Forgie XL
Stem: 3T Forgie XL
Headset: 1 1/8" threadless Cane Creek S-6
Front Der: Shimano Ultegra
Crankset: Shimano Ultegra, 39/53 teeth
Rear Der: Shimano Ultegra SS
Pedals: Not included
Tires: 700 x 23c Bontrager Race X-Lite

User Reviews (16)

Showing 1-10 of 16  
siladitya   Road Racer [Aug 03, 2011]
Strength:

Stiffness, quick power transfer, great build quality.

Weakness:

I didn't like the wired flight deck thing this came with so I took it out, makes for a much cleaner and crisper feel on the handlebars. Not BB30 (not really a weakness as it's still plenty stiff)!

Converted the stock standard 9-sp ultegra to a 10-sp ultegra compact especially for hills. I've done quite a bit of climbing with this bike and from what I've experience it's extremely stiff, allows for a very smooth power transfer and is very sturdy. Overall, I love this bike and it makes long rides (60~75mi) as comfortable as possible.

Similar Products Used: Ridley Excalibur, Cannondale CAAD9
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mojopin78   Road Racer [Jul 02, 2009]
Strength:

Light
Lively
Stiff
Great climbing bike

Weakness:

Hesitant descender
Handlebar shape is a bit off (personal preference)
Stock Bonty tires don't do the bike justice
Lot's of decals (really, does every bit that doesn't say Lemond need to be labeled Bontrager?)

2008 Lemond Victoire: 980g CF frame/fork, full DA gruppo, Bontrager x-lite wheelset

So far so good. Stock except for pedals and saddle (moved to Specialized Toupe) and tires. Overall, a great bike. Very light and a nice all day peddler. DA gruppos has shifted flawlessly. Bontrager cockpit is competent but stock bars take a bit to get used to (very wide and have odd flats). Race X lite wheels have proven to be very dependable and durable. Only complaint: it's a light bike and takes some getting used to. Compared to my Ritchey Road Logic the handling is been a bit vague and descending has taken some getting used too. I have a feeling this is largely due to the weight of the wheels and frame :) Not necessarily a bad thing but takes some getting used to!

Similar Products Used: Teesdale Custom Crit, Ritchey Road Logic, Specialized Allez, Various Cevelo models, Trek Madone.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
fly0717   Road Racer [Oct 09, 2008]
Strength:

Frame is light, stiff and yet comfortable. Riding position seem more upright even though fitting measurements are identical to previous bikes. Great responsiveness in climbs. Comfortable long distance RR bike, but is also solid in agressive cornering as well.

Weakness:

Bontrager saddle didn't work for me. Free hub seems noisy, but you won't feel like coasting on this bike!

This is a 53 cm 2008 model. Very comfortable ride but suprisingly responsive. Weighs in under 16 lb. with pedals. Full Dura Ace performs quietly and efficiently. Bontrager Race X Lite wheels are stiff and true. Buy if you are a competitive cyclist or long distance rider and value speed and comfort.

Similar Products Used: Trek 5200
Scattante
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Fransisco   Recreational Rider [Aug 03, 2008]
Strength:

Weight, built, components, ride.

Weakness:

I am a guy in mid 40s. Hot young ladies look at you when you are on it and get disappointed to see a mature guy. You feel your wife 10 years older. You have no potbelly. Don't buy this bike, if you do, you will be faster than me.

Very light bike. Great Acceleration. Easy shifting. Gooks great. Great components.

Similar Products Used: Trek 1500, Lemond Versailles, Trek 7600, Trek Navigator 100
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
NFALLEN   Recreational Rider [Oct 23, 2007]
Strength:

What a ride ...

Weakness:

Chainstay rubbing (see above)

Update to previous post: I've now got 1,400 miles on the 2004 Victoire I purchased in May. It has been a dream. I ride 40-100 miles a week, mainly up and down Mt. Tam just north of San Francisco. The ride was already fantastic, but even better when I switched out the cro-moly seatpost that was standard in 2004 with a carbon post. Big difference! (A little lighter too; it's now an under-18-pound bike even with the XL frame.) My only complaint about the bike is that my rear wheel doesn't naturally align to the center of the chainstay, and so if I'm not careful when locking in the wheel it will rub against the left chainstay bar when I'm in high torque up a steep climb. The LBS checked and nothing's sprung that they could find. Anyone else have this on any bikes? A fault with the Bontrager RaceLite rear wheel?

Similar Products Used: Jamis Ventura Comp, Giant OCR3, KHS Flite 300
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
NFALLEN   Recreational Rider [Jun 11, 2007]
Strength:

Ride! Looks, too

2004 Lemond Victoire

I bought this new a month ago (May 2007) from a big shop that quit carrying Treks and Lemonds some time ago, and had a couple of big-frame (61-cm) Victoires hanging around three years later. What a find! For the previous seven months and 1,200 miles I was a newbie riding an entry-level KHS with Sora/Tiagra components, gradually upping my mileage and skills. As I got stronger, the bike started to wear down and I found myself begrudgingly buying better components at the LBS knowing the frame and gruppo would start to bug me even if I sprung for an adequate wheelset. (I biked a lot 30 years ago and tricking out a Fuji with Campy parts could be done in those days for not much dough. It's not like that now.) So now I'm in the odd, enviable position of going from a Corolla to a BMW 7-series overnight. Having little to compare it to, all I can say is the titanium spline and carbon cockpit offer me a ride that is smooth, true and effortless. I live at the foot of Mt. Tam and so most of my riding is up and down, and where I was standing on my KHS pedals I'm now just as comfortable in the seat. My tires haven't changed pressure, so it must be the bike. Weekend before last I took a ride around Lake Tahoe, 72 miles with one tedious climb, and could have done it again in the afternoon. With the big frame and standard components(Bontrager Race Lite wheels, Ultegra gruppo, Selle Italia gel seat, chromoly seatpost), and mtn bike Shimano pedals it comes to 19.5 pounds.

Similar Products Used: Marin Eldridge Grade mtn. bike
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mtbboi   Recreational Rider [Jul 30, 2006]
Strength:

Seriously nice bike to ride - despite how it looks it is super smooth and just feels right under you - it will make you want to ride more. There is also a bling factor too.

Weakness:

Tyres are race only. Very succeptable to cuts and punctures. They feel really fast and compliant but I've moved to heavier more reliable tyres - Vittorias.

I also experienced a bit of speed wobbles descending on a long hill at 80 kph (thats 50 mph). I think it was due to not enough weight on the front end but haven't been willing to retest this !!! My self imposed speed limit is now 70 kph

Just updating my review. I've had the Victoire now for about 18 months. Ridden through two New Zealand summers and second winter now...

I still love riding this bike. Its just spot on - the handling, the comfortable ride regardless of surface, the direct transfer of power and the superb acceleration.

The carbon and Ti looks as good as day 1 despite a lot of winter riding on wet roads. Wheels the same - look like new. Ultegra still performing like new.

A bit disappointed in rusting bolts on the front mech clamp and the handlebar clamp on the stem - but you always get that !!!!

One day I'll update the groupset to something more tasty - durace, campag or perhaps the new SRAM force - but I know with the frame and fork there is nothing to improve. And the wheels are pretty much as good as it gets for day in and day out riding.

Similar Products Used: As listed before - cannondales and Raleigh 853 steel
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Vassago   Road Racer [Aug 22, 2005]
Strength:

Fast handling, incredible comfort, responsiveness, a majority of the parts spec, the name, the sexiness of carbon/Ti, fit and finish, (sloping-top- tube) geometry.

Weakness:

Fast handling (not for racers, but the Steel/Ti version adds 15mm to the headtube, which slows down the handling a bit), decals on a 4000 dollar bike, a broken front wheel, sloping-top-tube geometry. There honestly aren't many weaknesses or deal-breakers.

I figured since I've been riding and racing on this bike for the past year, I should probably write a review on it. First off, the quality, overall, is outstanding. The welds are smooth and even, the carbon is mirror-like, and the finish is top-notch from the head badge down to the engraved rear drop-outs, and several of my friends have stared at the Victoire for some time and said, "It really is a pretty bike". The only place where the finish is lacking is on the "LeMond" decals on the down and seat tubes. A bike that retails for almost $4000 should not have decals. That, however, is minor. The Victoire has the same frame as the Tete de Course, yet doesn't have any problems associated with it listed under the reviews for the Tete. Interesting, but since it doesn't concern either myself or this bike, I don't care. The Victoire is a race bike, and it handles like one. It handles quickly and sharply; there is very little delay before the bike slices through a corner. Supposedly bikes with LeMond's geometry don't make good crit bikes, but I've raced several and each time, I was remind about how fast this bike handles, probably due in large part to the 45mm rake fork. Don't let this deter you though, once you get used to the handling, this bike is as comfortable in a 20 lap crit as it is on a century. The carbon/Ti mix is smooth, removing a large amount of vibration while retaining a racy demeanor. This bike accelerates almost as quickly as it handles, and climbs like a dream. Surprisingly, it also sprints very well. The bike doesn't feel outright stiff, but it's not outright compliant either; it just accelerates, no questions asked. The ovalized downtube, I imagine, contributes to this responsiveness. During rainy rides, I noticed that the frame seems to hold quite a bit of water, but only when it's pouring. The water comes out just fine when the frame is tipped back but until then, it can begin to feel a little heavy as it accumulates water. The parts pick is quite good, with a matching 3T stem and bar which are stiff, but a little heavy. The Race-Lite wheels by Bontrager are a bit heavy, but fast due to the aero spokes, profile, and Swiss made rear hub. The rear wheels is surprisingly responsive and spins up much quicker than one would expect. Unfortunately, I experienced an equipment failure with them. The front wheel broke at the rim weld, causing a nasty crash. Aid from customer service is pending. The Ultegra component group is, just as everyone says, almost as good as Dura Ace. The crankset, however, has left me wanting to upgrade to a stiffer crank/BB combination, unless I have the front derrailleur positioned perfectly (slight rub while in the 12 cog), the chain comes off to the outside during 53-12 sprints due to slight flex. That would have been a nasty 35 mph crash if I hadn't been paying attention. The geometry on this bike is interesting. The slack seat angle and shortish, but thick chainstays lead to an aggressive climbing position (which is also sets weight farther back for better cornering), but the seat tube on my 55 cm frame is only 49 cm, while the top tube is 55 cm. That makes this bike ideal for a person with shorter legs and a longer torso, but incidently, I have long legs and a short torso. The bike is comfortable enough, with enough room to move around, but due to my long legs, I cannot use a shorter 250 mm seatpost and have to use a 300 mm one, though I could probably get away with 270 mm. The spec'd Race X Lite tires are fast and smooth, but race-day tires only. They corner very well and are lightweight, but are prone to cuts and flats on everyday rides. The Race Lite fork is also stiff, and aids in the sharp cornering characteristics of this bike. The 110 carbon is the same used in the XXX Lite fork on Lance's bike. Even though it's a bit heavier with the aluminum steerer, the stiffer carbon almost makes it a better pick then the next-tier Race X Lite fork.

Similar Products Used: Giant OCR3, steel Murray, Am. Classic 350 wheels, etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
paddlerx   Road Racer [May 16, 2005]
Strength:

climbs very well. very well balanced. stiff. great damping nature of the 2 materials. new 10sp ultegra is top drawer. bonty parts are good, not great but good. warranty!

Weakness:

25mm tires. swap em. fat seat, swap it. +17degree touring lookin stem, swap it. rear end takes some getting used to at speed on rough surfaces.

this is an update to my last review. Sunday the bike saw a 12k TT and 90k road race back to back. Same feelings as below for the most part. New things that popped up are as follows: my tires were 25mm wide bontragers. i swapped them out for Conti Attack/force combo. much less rolling effort, big improvement. On fast downhills i expected the bike to track well, and it did, what surprised me what how easily the rear tire 'danced'. its tucked tightly to the seatstay and whenever i hit a bump in the road the rear end would get a bit off center. it wasn't dangerous or even uncomfortable (after the first few times) but is something that's attributable to the tight rear end on it. Ultegra worked flawlessly. very impressive. huge braking confidence, shifing is much improved. The biggest thing that came to the surface was vibration. it was a chipseal road that had rough patches of seal and smooth sections to the right or left of it. i noticed that my feet were feeling a lot of high freqency buzzing when i had the pedals turning, but the sensation that made its way up through the post to my SLR was a lite hum. it was an Obvious difference and one that made a miserable race in miserable conditions a lot less miserable than it could have been. in short...this is too nice a bike for a rider like me.

Similar Products Used: trek carbon, giant tcr aluminum.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
paddlerx   Road Racer [May 13, 2005]
Strength:

Frame feel is amazing. new ultegra is much more like DA than ever. a true do it all bike and one that won't get dated or feel old for a looong time.

Weakness:

Seat is crap, 17degree stem is for touring. my 57 Victorie came with a 56 c-c bar as well. its huge. So basic upgrades cost 200 from the get go. Its not as light as a comparable Madone. But still in the very respectable range especially considering the ride quality.

So I took the Victorie out on a 60k ride. New bikes always ride different and this didn't dissapoint. Inital impressions however were a bit off. Everyone says that lemonds are classic angles that don't bode well for crits. Well crits are about turning/braking and accelerating right? Well i figured the lemond would turn slowly, predictably. nope. it seems to want to fall into a quick turn, snapping back and forth across the road (check for traffic first...) was MUCH quicker/easier than i had prepared myself for. i compared it to a Bianchi and a Kona scandium road bike (both on the ride with me). those bikes in comparison are much slower turning, great in a straight line run, but not nearly as responsive. i found standing and hammering on the bike to be surpising too. it leaps forward. doesn't wiggle, or shake or flex. but goes forward. the longish top tube gives me more room to find the spot where the i can keep the front wheel firmly planted. what else? road noise/vibration. only word i could find was Muted. its perceptable, you can tell chip seal from smooth pave; a bump is still a bump but its less. no buzzing like on my old tcr1. its different too than a full carbon madone. the madone is ridgid. like its a solid block of material from front to back and its ride is amazing but not....nice. the Victorie isn't compliant and soft like my old trek 5000 frame, its not dull and wooden. theirs more 'soul' to it. Everyone who tried it mentioned the ride quality. my fear was laid back geometry that would limit it in more aggressive situations, soft bb due to the ti. Both of those are not even a distant concern. its a beautiful ride, elegant, composed and stiffer than i ever expected. Sunday it will be in a 12k out and back TT, then 2hrs later in a 100k road race (masters 30-39 age group). I'll know more then. BTW...this rating scale is a mess... No bike is an honest 5 (100% perfect)... this is no different. it should be from 1-100 instead. This ranks a 87 or so; and its the best bike i've ever ridden. My TCR1 was a 70 by comparison.

Similar Products Used: Giant TCR1/ Madone 5.9/ Bianchi aluminum/ Kona Scandium/ older carbon treks.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 16