Lynskey Performance Designs Peloton Road Bike

Peloton

The Peloton’s slightly relaxed geometry, longer top tube and taller head tube is made for riders who prefer to stretch out a bit and relax aboard their sleek titanium steed. An ample wheelbase is provided and the frame/fork combo easily handle tires up to 28c for smooth rolling a wide variety of terrain.

  • Certified Aerospace Grade 3Al/2.5V straight gauge titanium tubing
  • Durable Industrial Mill finish
  • Easily accommodates up to 700x28c tires
  • Wright-style dropouts for 9mm QR axles
  • Bosses for two water bottle cages
  • Accepts 1-1/8"" fork steerer tubes
  • 68mm bottom bracket, English threading

User Reviews (14)

Showing 1-10 of 14  
Charles Gould   [Aug 12, 2016]
Strength:

Price. Quality.

Weakness:

Decals easily damaged.

Where else are you going to find a hand made titanium bike made in the US for this price. Bought this bike in late 2014 and have over 10,000 miles and 500,000 vertical feet on this bike. ZERO issues. The only MINOR thing is that the decals are easily scratched. But I contacted Lynskey and they sent a replacement free including shipping. 10 minutes and one youtube video later, BRAND NEW. Love it. Love it so much that this spring, I bought ANOTHER Lynskey. CUSTOMER for LIFE!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Allard   Recreational Rider [Jan 28, 2015]
Strength:

Very good quality for the price paid. Very well built: nice weldings and workmanship. Pretty lightweight as well. The Peloton does have the right geometry for a more relaxed position (relative long headtube).

Weakness:

None so far.

I bought this frame very recently to build a kind of "back-up" bike next to my R230, which I bought in spring 2012. Since I'm still very excited about the quality and performance of the R230, I decided to stay with the craftmanship of Lynskey. I do have to build the Peloton (right now I'm in the stage of choosing/buying the components), so at this moment I can't compare the performance and characteristics of the Peloton versus my R230. Being a retired "senior citizen" I guess the geometry of the Peloton will just be the right thing for me, so I'm already looking forward to ride it in the near future. Both bikes will alternately travel with me when I do my spring-, summer and autumn-rides in mainly the French mountain regions. Since the R230 has proven to be a very good bike for climbing, I expect the Peloton will do the job as well.

Similar Products Used: Lynskey R230.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John P   [Oct 17, 2014]

You guys sure do make a nice bike and really pull out all the stops and finishing touches.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
MarkH   Recreational Rider [Oct 11, 2014]
Strength:

Great craftsmanship on an American made frame. Titanium is arguably the best frame material and Lynskey is one of the best at their craft of building a work of art. It has a ride similar to my old steel frame but it feels like it transfers power better and yet it is smoother at the same time if that's possible. Very comfortable on rides up to a metric century which is all I've worked my way up to so far. I think this frame could be used by just about anyone as it is very versatile.

Weakness:

None I've experienced.

I've had the bike about three months and put about 800 miles on it so far. It has gotten me excited again about bicycling after several years with too many other things to do. I hadn't really thought about Titanium until a friend mentioned that I should look into bikes made with it. I am so happy I did. I wanted something of substance that would last a long time so I ruled out carbon bikes even though that seems to be the rage. I got it with the SRAM Rival 22 group set which I would recommend for anyone not wanting to break the bank but yet still get a top performer. I've gotten several positive comments from others on rides including my favorite from a young racer-type who rode by slowly and just said "Lynnnnnskey" in a low voice.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
David Canns   [Oct 01, 2014]
Strength:

Relaxed geometry with high quality welds. Lightweight and supremely comfortable with responsive handling over the worst British roads can throw at it. This bike feels like a magic carpet compared to my 8 year old carbon bike (made by another American company).

Weakness:

None

This is a brilliant frame that has resulted in a brilliant bike! Self-build (working with a £2k budget)using Peleton frame with 11 speed Ultegra, running on Fulcrum Racing 3 wheels sourced from various internet emporiums. Chose Lynskey after deciding that I wanted to go with a titanium bike - a bike for life. Found Lynskey comparison videos on youtube very helpful.
This bike rides like a dream and climbs effortlessly. Totally satisfied - Lynskey say: you get a buttery smooth ride and they are damn right! Recommended. Day off tomorrow and I'm out for a five hour ride...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Glenn Padrid   [Sep 08, 2014]
Strength:

Very comfortable. Handles well.

Weakness:

Can be a liitle bit stiffer.

I'm just your typical weeked rider. I love bikes and have gone through quite a few. This is my first Ti bike and I'm glad I went for Lynskey. Quality bikes and great customer service regardless if I purchased it from one of their dealers Michael Ledford made sure I was happy with my purchase. This is the most comfortable bike I have owned so far--- its a keeper. I'm already looking to sell my Pinarello to get the R230 as my next Lynskey.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
David   [Aug 15, 2014]
Strength:

rock stable ride, beautiful welds

Weakness:

none

after owning a lot of high end carbon bikes I would highly recommend the Peloton to everyone. it's a long /short distance bike that you can cover miles of crappy roads with and get off and feel refreshed. it's the best bang for your buck bike going. Ti is real and it's smooth.the weight cam

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tom Pickles   [May 20, 2014]
Strength:

- Responsive and light
- Stable handling - increases my confidence descending and cornering
- Durable (I keep my bikes for 15-20 years, so carbon and aluminum are out)
- Fun to ride
- A buzz of excitement when I clip in and head out

Weakness:

none

I’ve had my Peloton for a month and after 1000km here are my thoughts:
I like it. A lot.
It ticks all the boxes (see strengths), plus I love the titanium feel – its weird how it can be so forgiving on bumpy pavement, but not at all mushy. Weird.
The frame geometry is just right for me – I have another bike which has a 30” chainstay length and it’s too twitchy, and a touring frame with 34” which is like cycling a truck. The Peloton is just right.
Last weekend I did a 100km hilly group ride and it struck me around 60-80km that I was not as weary as I was expecting, and on the last big climbs around 95km I was passing people on their carbon frames. I’m not into speed like I used to be, but this is great for longer rides as well as my daily 40km round trip to work.
I bought the frame through a local dealer who kitted it out with Ultegra 11 speed, Velocity A23 wheels., White industry T11 hub. Almost a fully US-made bike (except for the Shimano bits). Cost was around US$3700 + tax. Good value for a bike that I will get a lot of use out of.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Scott URQUHART   [Apr 30, 2014]
Strength:

The frame is beautifully welded and finished with nice details. So far I've notched up around 150 miles and the ride quality is superb - I'd read about how Ti frames soothed out all the lumps & bumps on the road but riding is believing.

Weakness:

None to speak of.

Excellent quality almost a work of art - my for ever bike!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
charles   Recreational Rider [Apr 06, 2014]
Strength:

light, fast and Very comfortable

Last year I rode the Triple Bypass on a high end aluminum frame and decided I needed to upgrade to something softer. The Lynskey frame is perfect. I added a few ounces in weight, but the ride is softer and more comfortable for those long days cranking up hills but is still stiff enough to get out of the saddle and rock my way up the steeper sections when I need to. My only regret with this bike is that I waited so long to step up to titanium.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 14  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.