Motobecane Immortal Spirit Road Bike

Immortal Spirit

Specifications:

  • Shimano Dura-Ace STI 20 Speed Crankset, Brakeset, Front and Rear Derailleurs
  • High Modulus Carbon Fiber Monocoque frameset, AeroCarbon SL fork with Carbon Steerer (345g)
  • Ritchey WCS Protocol Wheelset (1350g), Ritchey WCS Bar, WCS Stem and Carbon Seatpost.
  • Total Weight: 16.5 pounds.

  • User Reviews (29)

    Showing 1-10 of 29  
    Speedfreak   Recreational Rider [Apr 27, 2016]
    Strength:

    Smooth shifting and riding. No problem to take on 50 mile bike ride (no fatigue). As with any bike, it depends on the power quality of the engine. This bike will crank when you need it to and is nice to have on those >mile relatively steep climbs (>8%). Excellent bike on a calm day and <35 mph.

    Weakness:

    Bike is more difficult to handlel at higher downhill speeds (>35mph) and can feel more unstable when subject to swirling or cross-winds of >10-15 mph. Definitely a "white knuckles" ride on a windy day and going downhill at 40+ mph, especially for a rider <170 lbs. Riding without hands is not going to happen with ease, as it does on my older steel Univega Modo Vivere.

    First time carbon frame purchase. Have used for approx. 500 miles. I like and enjoy the bike, the geometry, the weight, the components and the ride ( 40mph) on a windy day can make for a tight grip and an interesting and very focused ride (for those long speedy downhills). This is a great and solid bike for most all riding. Crisp shifting, smooth ride, quiet, great on long/short climbs. Anyone not regularly hitting 35+mph on their rides will love this bike. It just requires more focused attention and control when doing 40+ for more than a few seconds (with the original Ritchey Protocol wheels). Just alter your ride to stay away from the steep downhills on windy days. Changing out the stock wheels may make a big difference. You will NOT be disappointed with the Immortal Spirit. The slight negative does not warrant downgrading from a 5 overall rating.

    Similar Products Used: Steel Univega Modo Vivere with Campy Mirage and Veloce components.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Matt Reeves   Triathlete [Dec 02, 2013]
    Strength:

    Lightweight, Stiff, Confortable, Stable, Great value

    Weakness:

    None

    I have now owned 2 Immortal Spirits. The first - also my first Carbon Monocoque instead of lugged - was destroyed in a bike vs. car accident around 15k miles. I immediately (after I healed) ordered a new frame from Bikes Direct. This one is the second gen., I just clicked over 4K on it. Slightly bigger downtube and beefier BB area. Love it. Goes like a rocket, stiff but comfortable. I am 225lbs and still this thing just flies. My 61 cm with full DA weighs in at a scant 16.25 lbs but is still rock solid on descents. I ride a Litespeed Tuscany for my century+ rides but even then I do not find this one to be too harsh. It just eats up miles and wants you to go faster. I am not a good enough rider to push this thing past its limits, it always wants more.

    Similar Products Used: 99 Trek OCLV; 02 Look KG 381; 01 Litespeed Tuscany; 73 Motobecane Mirage; 02 Felt SRD
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Charlie Tierrax   [Jul 23, 2012]
    Strength:

    This bike is like a Porsche GT3 on two wheels! It's fast, lightweight, top Dura Ace/FSA components...and the price...is ridiculous!!!

    Weakness:

    None...for now

    Since Summer 2010, rode more than 4,000 miles on it...no flaws...tire replaced by same brand...still riding as first day!!! Recommended to anyone...otheer riders looked at " WTF is this..."

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Miquel   Road Racer [May 08, 2012]
    Strength:

    Price---Awesome from BikesDirect $2000
    Super Lightweight Bike with Crisp Performance, climbs like a beast!
    Impeccable Finish
    High Quality Components
    Minimal assembly required
    Plenty of Carbon Spacers of different heights for perfect height adjustment
    FSA Cranks
    Perfect Gearing pairing with the 59/34 front and 11/28 rear
    Solid Seat Post and Clamp--No Issues

    Weakness:

    Pedals included are average, not really a weakness

    Is there anything else comparable in this price range? This is a super bargain. Sizes are similar to other bikes, simple to order and delivery was less than 2 days.

    Similar Products Used: Specialized, Trek, Fuji
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Nate   Road Racer [Apr 17, 2012]
    Strength:

    Very Light but sturdy, with premium components. Sizing is standard. Paid 2000 from Bikes Direct.com.

    DuraAce components and the Mavic wheelset, unprecedented performance in a ride for this price. Shipping was cheap and took 4 days. Look online for great deals before you hand a pile of cash over to a dealer.

    Weakness:

    Mavic Registration information was not included with the shipment, I.E. Product ID Number, which is required to purchase the insurance from Mavic.

    Great product for low cost. If you know your measurements and size needed this is not a gamble. Easy to set up or have a local shop set it up. Either way this bike is super.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    skcyclist   Road Racer [Apr 22, 2011]
    Strength:

    quality, affordability

    Weakness:

    None

    I bought a MB Le Champ and Immortal Ice in 2007. Le Champ had about 25,000 miles when the frame cracked and the Ice has over 20K miles and still running great. Matt at BD gave me a new Immortal carbon frame and fork for $450 (about $245 discount) to replace cracked frame. Will swap over parts from Le Champ to Immortal and be good to go. Excellent service from Matt and BD. Great bikes too, at best prices.

    Similar Products Used: Trek Madone, Giant compact, Schwinn
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Jason Chen   Road Racer [Apr 22, 2011]
    Strength:

    Great value, sell off the none desirable parts. replace them with best parts around is a great idea and it is a good looking frame and it is a great project bike

    Weakness:

    Frame finish tends to have bubble eye in clearcoat, not the greatest finish, but overall very good value and finishes.

    Excellent bike for the money, I did a lot of upgrades, EASTON EA90 SLX wheels,DA Brakes, DA Crank, Lighter tyres and tubes, full Superlogic bar, stem and post. My bike ended up being around 3800. which is cool, I have 14.7lb spirit. Change the set of rims, and change superlogic bar, stem, post, using latex tubes and tyres, get DA brakes, and fizik saddle, replace crank if you wish, but no necessary. I changed mine to DA crank for 50/34 compact gearing to match the rest of DA line up, by the time I spent all the money, my bike now weighs 14.9lbs, very hard to get to this weight level if you only spent 3800 at a bike shop.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    rhomasp20000   Triathlete [Mar 13, 2011]
    Strength:

    frame is strong, absorbs the bumps, light and really cool looking. carbon everywhere you need it.

    Weakness:

    Frame is long so be prepared to change out your stem if your torso is a little short but your legs are long. The pedals that are 'complimentary' are a joke.

    2010 Bike. Did a lot of research before buying this bike and rolled the dice and bought the immortal spirit. After a year of riding: YOU CANT BEAT THIS BIKE.

    Similar Products Used: none, why?
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    JORGE VASQUEZ   Recreational Rider [Aug 04, 2010]
    Strength:

    great price

    Weakness:

    The frame cracked do to stuctural defects under normal use after 6 months.

    This is a 2010 Immortal Spirit. The bike was great for the first 6 months. Then the frame cracked under normal use. BikesDirrect.com was no help, they just refer me the the Motobebane.
    Motobecane was impossible and evasive. They wanted me to buy a new frame, even when their website states carbon frames have a one year warranty, supplied pictures of the defective frame and a copy of the receipt. I am seaking legal help. Please do not make my mistake, a few bucks savings can turn into a huge expensive headache.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    WCChris   Road Racer [May 18, 2010]
    Strength:

    Price, Ride, efficiency

    Weakness:

    Bottle cage nut was loose on arrival. Seems like a simple fix, but I can not take it to Bikes Direct very easy.

    This review is for the Immortal Ice.
    Bike gruppo is full Ultegra.
    Wheel set is Mavic Ksyrium equipe.
    This bike is fast. It feels like all my power reaches the ground. Very responsive and soaks up the bumps a lot better than my Aluminum Giant.
    It is stable and corners well.
    I only have 250 miles on this bike, so I don't know about the durability.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-10 of 29  

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.