Motobecane Le Champion SL Road Bike

Le Champion SL

Ultegra STI 18 Spd. 15 Pounds. XFusion Quaternary phase alloy, Custom butted and shaped with PowerDiamond down tube, integrated headtube. FSA Carbon Pro Elite Compact Crankset 52/36, Ritchey WCS 31.8 Bar and Stem. Carbon SL Road post, VeloCarbon Ti Saddle, Vittoria Ultraspeed IntegraK 700x23c tires, American Classic Sprint350 Wheelset 24/28 1250g, SRAM R9 11-23 Cassette, Ultegra Brakeset.

User Reviews (56)

Showing 1-10 of 56  
Stacy Krausmann   [Jul 19, 2014]
Strength:

Smooth riding and very nimble. Rider can feel safe and secure while descending or climbing. As well as flat out speed. This bicycle is very light and agile. Responsive shifting and braking means all out performance. Nothing is left to chance with this beautiful bicycle and any rider, regardless of age or experience, will feel very satisfied. As I indicated, the shifting is almost effortless. When climbing, the gears respond very quickly and very accurately. As do the brakes. I found that even a novice rider with little to no experience can take this bicycle out for the first time and look as if they been riding for years. Very few bicycles can achieve that, but this one does. Attention to detail is something I look for in any road/race bike. Especially in the mechanics. The general layout may appear basic, but when one rides this bicycle for the very first time, they will know. This is no ordinary bicycle. In road/racing bicycles, anything that moves needs to weigh as little as possible. This particular bicycle answers that with the wheel set as well as the gear set/crank set. If you are looking for a beautiful bicycle, then this bicycle is it. If you are looking for a performance bicycle, then this bicycle is it. If you are on a budget and you don't want to buy your first bike and then change it all out and spend more money, then this bicycle is it. If you are still in doubt, go to your nearest Motobecane Dealer and check this bicycle out. You will not be disappointed.

Weakness:

I found no real weaknesses with this bicycle to report. Now this may appear unusual, but personally, I found this particular bicycle to be everything I would want in a race/road bike. If any weakness can be stated, it must be that this bike is not made in France. However, anyone that has been around bicycles long enough knows that almost all bicycles are made in either China or Taiwan. This is not a bad thing. It is just worth noting.

In conclusion, I have never met a cyclist that does not have an opinion about road/race bikes. I find that most riders/competitors are fair, but sometime picky. The Motobecane Le Champion SL is a great bicycle for the level it is marketed in. Can it compete with say an Italian bicycle? Perhaps. However, in reality one can hang any name on any frame they want and it almost always comes down to the rider first and then the wheels second. That is what wins races. Not the name or the color. This bicycle is perfect for those desiring entry level into the world of competitive cycling. Yes, one can switch out this component or that component, but the main deal here is ride this bicycle first and see what I am talking about. I assure you that you will not be disappointed. Even an old hand at racing can appreciate a bicycle such as this and will likely appreciate the efforts made is creating a really superb and well thought out machine. This bicycle receives 5 stars across the board from me. Not because I am trying to sell it, but because this bicycle represents everything I got into cycling for to begin with. This concludes my review. Thank you.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Keith   [Dec 23, 2013]
Strength:

Light, quick, high quality

Weakness:

None

I bought the 2014 Motobecane Le Champion (Full Carbon Frame, Ultregra) from Bikes Direct and it is an AWESOME bike. I actually bought 2, one for my wife also. After 150 miles, I can't believe the value and quality of the bike...it is simply awesome. It is fairly easy to assemble from the box, but I do recommend you visit your local bike shop and have them fit it, adjust the gears and do a safety check...it cost me $150 a bike to do all that, but I still saved a ton. Even my local bike shop was impressed with the Motobecane, the closest competitor was a Trek "on sale" for $3299. I purchased two and had them adjusted for less than that!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tom   [Aug 04, 2012]
Strength:

I too bought a Motobecane Le Champion road bike from Bikes Direct and could not be happier with my decision. The bike is light weight, extremely responsive, and handles very well at high speeds. The top notch components are also comforting as I can ride hard with the confidence that a parts failure is a small possibility. I would recommend this bike to anyone that is considering a higher end bike. Fight the name brands and try this bike

Weakness:

The seat is not comfortable for longer 75 to 100 mile rides and would suggest one that has more comfort where u need it

Bikes are very specialized bikes direct and Motobecane have done an excellent job of giving us an opportunity to buy a 6000 bike for 2500. Take the plunge. Safe riding to all

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Sprokets   [Mar 20, 2012]
Strength:

Beautifully crafted titanium frame, genuine Shimano, Ultegra, Ritchey, Mavic parts... all at an amazing price.
Fantastic deal! Seems like one of my best ever.

Weakness:

None yet.

Just took delivery of my SL version of this bike yesterday from BikesDirect and I went for my first 36 mile ride on it this morning. In a single word I am delighted! Can't stop grinning at it.

Despite all my concerns about the suspiciously low price this bike is absolutely gorgeous (the brushed titanium look is sick) and it has genuine Shimano, Ritchey and Mavic parts throughput. The welds are very well done. I honestly can't see where they are cutting any corners with this deal. The local bike stores had nothing close to this that was under $5K.

Nothing was damaged or scratched on delivery (another fear that I had) and it all came very carefully packed. I had no problem assembling the bike.

Despite my fear of online shrills and scams I want to report here that BikeDirect are the real deal (although you may suspect that I am a shrill ...hmmmm.. not sure how you get around that).

Really a scorching deal from BD. It is still early days but it is hard for me to see how I can possibly go wrong with this purchase and at this price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Luis   Road Racer [Sep 26, 2011]
Strength:

Price,looks,performance

Weakness:

Tires were weak..changed to armadillos, and not a single flat in 1500 miles ;)

I purchased this bike and still get a rush everytime I ride it. Im an EX NYC bike messenger and when I ride centuries I go wild accelerating! Climbs are a breeze with this bike. My friends have treks and bianchis which are twice as expensive and cross the finish line after me.The bike is super light and ive done 40 mph on this bike in the rain..try doing this and youll see what a rush this is! Im even thinking of getting the 2012 immortal spirit. Although to bikes can only help you perform to some extent, it also depends on your drive and determination to push your bike to the limits..i just love it when the bike responds with such precision!

Similar Products Used: Trek,Bianchi,Fuji
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bob Uthe   Recreational Rider [Aug 14, 2011]
Strength:

Overall road comfort and control. Brakes are responsive. Shifting is easy and quick. Some professional reviewers refer to this bike as "entry level" in their comments. I give it the highest rating for a so-called "entry level"bike.

Weakness:

I was impressed with how many other owners of this brand criticized the seat. I have been struggling with the seat as well. It is both, comfortable and awkward at the same time. After a few miles I find myself changing seating positions front to back,trying to find a more consistent and comfortable position. I need to probably replace the seat once I have researched the market.

This is my first road bike. The bulk of my bike riding experience has been on mountain bikes. My bike was exciting from the first moment I rode it. It did take an adjustment period to get used to a road bike over a mountain bike. The cleated pedals were intimidating for a while. (I only fell down one time at a stop sign). With two years of riding on this bike, I have reached a comfort zone in how the bike handles, as well as my handling of it. From the very beginning I noticed how responsive it was for sprinting,and cornering, as well as uphill surges. I noticed that this bike is strong and durable, yet reasonably supple on rough roads. While I have not tested many other bikes, I have read a lot of reviews and tend to draw my own conclusions from them. I too, took a chance on purchasing the Motobecane without trying one out. I have a Motobecane 700HT I purchased the same way.I have not been disappointed with either one of them.

Similar Products Used: An older steel Bianci. A Huffy Mountain bike, that got me back to riding five years ago, and my three year old Motobecane 700HT mountain bike which I ride interchangeably with the Le Champion.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Michael Taylor   Recreational Rider [Jul 09, 2011]
Strength:

Light, light, LIGHT! It's like peddling air! Smooth shifting. Cosmetically very nice (I have the brushed aluminum model).

Weakness:

Not so sure about that seat, but I have certainly been on far worse. It may grow on me in time.

I purchased this bike off Craig's List from a woman whose husband left her, then made the mistake of telling her to sell his bike and send him the money. Ninety-five BUCKS, man! For a bike that's worth two grand. Still can't believe it! Anyway, this is by far the nicest bike I've ever owned. I set it up myself, but managed to get it pretty close, I think. I put in 50 miles this afternoon and evening, and honestly, I could do another 20 if the sun wasn't setting. It is LIGHT, the feel is nice and tight, even on bumpy-butt Detroit roads, though let's be real, it's a road bike and you CAN feel the road. Shifting was smooth and accurate, as were the brakes. I stopped by the bike shop to get some new handlebar tape and tires (just in case the woman's ex-husband ever sees me out riding and thinks about running me over). The guy at the bike shop told me he would be able to sell me a bike NEARLY as good as this one, for just under $2,000! I hate to gloat about the price thing, but NINETY FIVE BUCKS, man! Whatta deal. I would gladly have paid a grand, at least, and still would have thought I was getting a great deal.

Similar Products Used: Fuji, Panasonic, Dawes, Flandria
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
D. Steighner   Recreational Rider [Jul 04, 2011]
Strength:

Top of the line components. The SRAM Red and Mavic Ksyrium Elite wheels would have cost me more than the entire bike if bought elsewhere. I have even gotten use to the seat.

Weakness:

None what so ever.

I have nearly 1000 miles on this bike now and wanted to update my previous review. The more I ride this bike the happier I am with my purchase. My average speeds are up. I'm climbing better than on any previous bike I have owned. The ride quality and handling is top notch. I had a pro fit done at a local shop and even he was impressed by what I got for less than $2300. His words "I couldn't even come close to that set up at that price". Best decision I have made going to bikesdirect.com for a new bike. If you are like me, a cyclist on a budget, and what decent equipment you can not go wrong with this bike.

Similar Products Used: Lite Speed Termano
Fuji Roubaix SL
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
D. Seighner   Road Racer [May 07, 2011]
Strength:

Price
Top of the line parts
Looks.

Weakness:

The seat may have to go. Im going to give it a little longer to see if I just need an adjustment period.

After looking at the major name brands and left looking at a $4000-$6000 price range, I decided to check out Bikes Direct. I came across this bike for less than $2300 and it was setup exactly as I wanted. I have friends who are riding Motobecanes both road and MTB and none of them have a bad thing to say about them. So I decided to take a chance and ordered the SRAM Red Le Champion. I have only put a 140 miles on it but initially I am so happy with my buy. Bikes Direct had it to me 2 days after I ordered and the shipping was free. The ride quality beats my Litespeed which I have been riding for the past 7 years. It feels solid and like a lot more of my power is going to the road. It is stiff and light and well equiped.

Similar Products Used: Fuji Roubaix SL
Litespeed Termao
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dtrue184   Triathlete [Mar 05, 2011]
Strength:

Light weight! Rides smooth! I do train and race on this bike. I have placed top 6 in every tri and that includes the one I was penalized for crossing the roadway center line when passing a slower group of riders. It's had me on top of the podium! A solid no nonsense race ready bike. For the money it's the best you can do. Heck it's comparable to bikes 5x more. I race Abomey them all. I can tell you this. This bike is so close to the best that upgrading is pointless. There is no easy to get better from here. You can only improve your athleticism!

Weakness:

None. Just like other light weight racers you will feel the road. I upgraded the seat to a forked model to save my manhood!

The Moto LeChampion 2007 w/ American Classic 420's.

Similar Products Used: Several treks (good bike but you pay more), canon dale, Quintana Roo's (good tri bike too).
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 56  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.