Neuvation Cycling F100 Road Bike

Neuvation Cycling F100 Road Bike 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Nov 16, 2015]
John
Road Racer

Strength:

BEST Customer Service, Less expensive, Race able geometry, Good Components

Weakness:

Weak aluminum

I bought the Sram Rival version of this bike in the fall of 2010 and logged approximately 18,000 miles over a 3.5 year period. I raced approximately 25 times and rode this bike hard for the years that I owned it. I thought it was an amazing deal, until in the Spring of 2014, when it developed a 5 inch long crack along the bottom bracket up the seat tube. I weigh approximately 170 lbs, and I do generate a fair amount of power, so a crack on a light frame isn't out of the question; but this was still disappointing to see. Unfortunately, Neauvation went out of business when the bike cracked so I couldn't get them to warranty the frame. IN all fairness they probably would have though. The up side to this bike was the company. Neuvation are great customer service people and I would order from them in a heart beat. Just not this bike.

Similar Products Used:

Cannondale CAAD 10, CAAD 8, CAAD 9, Trek Madone, Fuji SL, Pinarello Marvel

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Oct 26, 2012]
copylatte

Strength:

Buttery smooth ride from 30 mph up. It's on RAILS at any speed--not twitchy or quick but smooth. Light frame, great price, and top notch service from Neuvation.

Weakness:

Feeling the vibration with carbon fork.

Just went on a quick test ride after finishing the build. Coming from a steel frame, I thought the aluminum would take some adjustment but the F100 is smooth. In comparing to a CAAD 9, it has less vibration in the rear and more fluid in handling; however, the CAAD feels quicker on acceleration and handling--the F100 is anything but twitchy. Getting up to speed feels oh so good (35 mph is slow for this bike). Fit and finish are excellent. Neuvation parts are great (carbon fork & seatpost) Internal cable routing is a nice touch.

Overall, a nice, smooth riding aluminum frame that is on RAILS at speed. Makes for a great racing frame and position is wonderful, and can get some neck, shoulder relief on the hoods. For the price, you can't beat it. The bike is only limited by the engine pushing it.

Similar Products Used:

Cannondale CAAD 9,

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 09, 2010]
CynicallyFixed
Road Racer

Strength:

The Wheels (R28X)roll so smooth and you notice how quiet they are compared to Zipps.

Customer Service is terrific as they have helped me with everything from replacement bearings, saddle and stem swaps, Sram warranty issues, and even small bolts for my derailleur all at no charge. Very fast service from the other side of the country.

Weakness:

Handling isn't superb but its certainly good enough.
Its not an aesthetically cool frame and the graphics look too bubbly. The look of the wheels are nice though, with its black rim on black spoke look.
Their carbon seatpost isn't that great and ideally should be upgraded.Mine developed a sliver at the back after 5k miles.

I wanted a good road bike to start my racing career. Did a lot of internet research before I finally pulled the trigger on a Neuvation. The nice deal, component selection, and customer service reputation made me feel comfortable with the expense. The whole bike quite simply doesnt hold me back nor feels uncomfortable to ride on. I've clocked up big mile (4+ hour rides) days with no discomfort from the bike.
If you're an entry level racer and don't want to drop too much cash, this is a good deal.

Similar Products Used:

I've tried a Cannondale Supersix with nice mid level wheels for a brief test ride. Honestly, it had a stiffer front end but It certainly wasn't worth the 2+ thousand dollar difference.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 17, 2010]
John Hogan
Road Racer

Strength:

Fairly good ride and handling. Initial price appears good.

Weakness:

Poorly set up. Ineffective service. Complaints to the owner get directed to the shop guy who could care less.

The FC100 was purchased in late may 2010 with SRAM Red components. It is a good, but far from great handling bike. I have a 2004 S/Works which I like better. My major complaint has been the setup and the lack of service. I received the bike with a SRAM GXP bottom bracket that would not adjust out the lateral end play wrong one was originally installed). I installed an new BB on my own and the next problem was a creak sound when I apply maximum force to the crank. That problem was caused by the fact that the bottom bracket shell was not faced. In addition, I had other minor issues like (1) front dérailleur sliding down and jambing into the chain ring, (2) the rear dérailleur was bent inward 10-degrees and required the rear dérailleur bracket to be adjusted, (3) a spoke popped on the rear rear wheel after less than 500 miles. Also, the rear wheel needs a lot of attention if you ride on any rough surfaces: I took it to a wheel builder and was able to make it more robust. Bottom line is that this bike is no bargain. The concept of dealing direct sounds great, but you are better off with a name brand from a good local shop. The support from 2,500 miles away is verbal and generally not helpful.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized S/Works

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jan 02, 2010]
Chrisjpb
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Light enough for me. It upgraded me to SRAM 10 speed. You can customize the bike to get a good fit. I like choices. Customer service! More bang for the buck! It makes me curse bad weather days! Nuff Said!

Weakness:

None that I have not been able to over come.
You need to know what you want out of cycling! I have been a cyclist since 1985.

After much hand wringing, question asking, price searching, and just plain ol' research, I consider this bike to be the best value for the money. I prefer substance over style any day and this bike is the ticket. I took it to my favourite and trusted bike mechanic and after he gave it a test drive, he gave me the nod, and that confirmed to me that it was a good deal. I couldn't get a better endorsement than that. It more than meets my requirements for the riding I do. I hope this was helpful.

Similar Products Used:

Eddy Merckx Corsa SL with Campy
Vitus 979 with Dura Ace

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 03, 2009]
mtbfreedom
Road Racer

Strength:

Neuvation cycling has phenomenal prices coupled with high quality components and frames. John Neugents knowledge and customer service is first rate. I cannot say enought good things about Neuvation Cycling. I am more than satisified I am a Neuvation convert that will spread the word.

Weakness:

The only weaknesses I can see are the stickers on the rims and the lack of color choice in frames.

I am a racer with two children in university who is concerned with two things: speed and money. Neuvation Cyclings combination of price, quality and customer service are with-out a doubt the best I have ever encountered!!! I was skeptical, it just sounded to good to be true. I had my heart set on a Cervelo S1 ultegra. The Cervelo would have cost me within $200.00 of my Neuvation sram red, but the Cervelo would weigh in at over 17lbs and my Neuvation comes in at 15.5lbs for a 51 cm frame. When I set up the bike for racing it has a great sleeper race style to it. It has none of the fancy strips and colors you find on the big name bike companies and it has none of the extra 2.5 lbs you end up paying more for either. I'll take the 2.5lbs less over the pretty frame, thank-you very much!! The ride of the F100 is just what I want stiff in the bottom bracket and chainstays and compliant enough in the front end to do centuries. Plane and simple it is race ready. Take a close look at his seatpost and front fork and realize they are made by a high end company called Trigon which is providing products for the big four bike companies. Customer service is unbelievable. I spent more time conversing with John Neugent by e-mail and phone than I have with my local bike store in the past three years. There was a slight mix up with my order. John Neugent's answer was to provide me with a Sram Red F100 for the price of a Force F100. . This is a reduction of $500.00. Now thats the customer coming first, even before profits!!!! As far as I am concerned I am a Neuvation customer for life. I a can see some carbon race rims as soon as one of my kids finishes university. Neuvation rules.

Similar Products Used:

Cervelo S1
Specialized Tarmac
Specialized Roubaix

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 16, 2009]
jjantos
Triathlete

Strength:

Handling. Cheap. Decent looks, Light as claimed.

Weakness:

Front wheel toe overlap (54cm)
Ride quality is a little harsh. I was told that the carbon version was even harsher (Tyler of Neuvation) which was the main reason I went with the Al frame (and the carbon frame is ugly). I may eventually try a super light carbon post to try and smooth out the ride a bit.

I bought the F100 with the 2010 SRAM Force groupo. Bike is great and I don't think you can get a better deal for $1800.

Similar Products Used:

My wife rides an all Carbon Douglas Matrix w/Dura-Ace (2007).
I like the ride quality of the Douglas better, but like the SRAM shifting better. Handling is similar.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 01, 2009]
asad137
Recreational Rider

Strength:

weight, price, wheels, customer service

Weakness:

stiff ride

2009 F100 with SRAM Rival, R28 Aero4 wheels and 25c Michelin Lithions, and full carbon fork. Came in at exactly 17 lbs for a 54cm model as-received (no pedals, cages, computer, etc but with an alloy seatpost instead of carbon because they were out of stock at the time). You could probably drop a few hundred grams easily (lighter, 23c tires, R28 SL wheels) with very little difference in cost.

Basically, this is a great bike. I love the light weight, I love the minimalist paint and decals (I removed half of the decals from the wheels), I love the SRAM DoubleTap shifting. I replaced the handlebars because they didn't work well for me with the SRAM control positions.

The wheels (R28 Aero4's in my case) are better than anything you'll find on a stock bike at your LBS even at slightly higher price points: for example, the Cannondale CAAD9-4 has Rival (Force BB30 crank), and Shimano WH-RS10 wheels which are ~200g heavier and the bike costs ~$300+ more than the Neuvation. I weigh 175 lbs and have hit plenty of potholes and have had no problems in the first ~500mi.

John at Neuvation is very helpful and prompt in responding to inquiries.

Similar Products Used:

tested: Cannondale CAAD9, Specialized Allez, Giant Defy 1, Trek 1.2

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.