Specialized S-Works Tarmac SL3 Road Bike

S-Works Tarmac SL3

Module.
Frame with crankset, fork, headset, seatpost.

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
Chris Teifke   [Aug 10, 2012]
Strength:

It's all strengths. I really enjoy the handling, it's stiff, light, does it all. Just a really great all around bike, no downsides.

Weakness:

None

This is a truly great bike. Specialized nailed it on all counts. It's not as expensive as some other super bikes and every bit as good. Highest recommendation.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
SB   Recreational Rider [Nov 18, 2011]
Strength:

Handling, ride, quickness, weight, looks.

Weakness:

None so far

IGreat bike. Love the stiffness, handling, weight and acceleration. I don't find the ride to be too harsh at all. I find it to be as comfortable as my "comfort" carbon road bike. I have Reynolds MV32 UL and Easton EA90 SLX wheel sets that I use and both work great with the bike (obviously on the hills especially). Like the looks of the bike too, as someone else said, that "industrial" look.

Similar Products Used: Trek, Fuji
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mr__scott   Commuter [Apr 30, 2011]
Strength:

Very Stiff, fast, efficient climber, sprinting, better times

Weakness:

Painfully Stiff, somewhat scary on descents

Very stiff and fast. Replaced 10 year old carbon framed bike used for climbing and commuting to work. Got mine with Zipp 404 carbon clinchers instead of the stock aero wheels. Great climber, scary on descents and in cross winds. This could be the wheels fault though. Very stiff ride, get extra padding on bar tape. It is what it is - if you want a fast ride it's great, you want a daily commuter look else ware. I also think a little pricey for Taiwan frame.

Similar Products Used: Sci 300 carbon with mavic wheels, trek aluminum (never again)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
jbaker30   Road Racer [Apr 12, 2011]
Strength:

Superb power transfer. sharp handling, super light. Ultimate sprint weapon.

Weakness:

Ride is nice, at bit harsh on rough roads but no way around that with a bike of this stiffness level.

Had a 09 s-works sl2 previously, the sl3 is better handling and slightly stiffer front end when crit racing. BB stiffness is about the same (super stiff).

Similar Products Used: 09 s-works sl2, orbea orca 09,cannondale supersix high mod 09,05 pinarello dogma fp magnisium, fondriest carb level plus 05.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
gshea50@msn.com   Road Racer [Nov 19, 2010]
Strength:

Lighter, Stiffer, with great handling and responsiveness on climbs and sprints.
Preferred the SW ride to Wilier Cento Uno and Pinarello Prince which were also both excellent bikes.

Weakness:

Paint scheme.

S Works Tarmac SL3 2010 Saxo Bank 56 cm

Similar Products Used: Medici Custom w Durace, Pinarello Prince Campy Super Record and Willier Cento Uno w Campy Record
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
iwan737   Recreational Rider [Jul 05, 2010]
Strength:

great handling
responsive
looks

Weakness:

nothing at all

just replace my allez, tarmac sl with sl3,1st words "my dream bike come true""the best bike i've riden responsive,light,stiff,and so comfortable even in long ride with both uphill & downhill,and for cornering you just follow the bike is very stable and for sure i will keep this bike forever.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
singleminded1   Road Racer [Mar 23, 2010]
Strength:

Light
Stiff
Accelerates well

Weakness:

none found, except price

Bought a module to replace a 2007 Tarmac Expert frame, and transferred the components. This frame has the same dimensions as the Expert, so no changes in geometry. This frame is at least as comfortable and stiffer and lighter. It goes like a rocket. Livelier than the Expert frame. This is a no compromise race bike. I got the carbon finish. One can see the frame joints and inconsistency in color, but its not dramatic. Specialized did an excellent job on this frame.

Similar Products Used: 2007 Tarmac Expert
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
rickturbo   Road Racer [Feb 27, 2010]
Strength:

Light, lateral stiffness, smooth (for such a large carbon tubed frame), looks.

Weakness:

Says "Specialized" on the frame. Everyone has them.

2010 Matt black SL3. I've never been that fond of Specialized bikes for two reasons, 1. harsh ride with lateral flex and, 2. Too many people have them. Have ridden the original Tarmac, SL1 & SL2. Was not impressed at all. Hate the the front end wiggles. Have three riding buddies that crashed due to the frame/crank flex in past years. Just happened to give the SL3 a test ride at my LBS several weeks ago. I was truly impressed with the stiffness, both vertically and more importantly, laterally. Under full sprint, this frame just wants to do one thing, leap forward with no lateral flex anywhere. Have always liked the Cervelo R3 SL due to its light weight, smooth ride and lateral front end and BB stiffness. The SL3 exceeds the R3 SL's qualities in every way, although I think the R3 SL may be just a smidgen smoother. The SL3 makes it up in a bit more lateral stiffness, which I like. Stupid light w/SRAM Red, Speedplay Pedals, bottle cages and 404 tubies, 13.8 lbs.

Similar Products Used: Trek, Fondriest, Litespeed.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Flyin Z   Road Racer [Jan 18, 2010]
Strength:

Smooth Ride.
Excellent handling. Corners amazing.
Stable.
Stiff. Excellent power transfer

Weakness:

Finish. Not that I care, but seams are visible as are inconsistencies in top coat.
LBS says that Specialized did not add a "pretty layer" of weave or additional paint to keep weight at absolute minimum.
That's fine with me. Still looks good!

Sweet Ride!
I have only been on the bike 4 times but I am impressed. couple of short spins, interval w/out and a group training ride w/ rotating paceline and sprints.

This is also my first all-carbon bike. But I ride an expensive, newer custom titanium that i bought last year.

This SL3 is impressive.

Yes, first off it is amazingly light.

The bike is so smooth, it seems to float over the road with no buzz or bang from road defects big or small. Even smoother than my titanium. noticably so.

Handling is razor-sharp. It tracks through tight, fast corners with utter stability and confidence. Buy good tires! you WILL push them to the limit! Yet the frame is stable and not twitchy on the long straight road. Tracks straight and solid.

Stiffness. The improvement is dramatic again. It feels like it will squirt out from under me when I put any effort into the pedals! Reminds me of my first "real" bike, an 80's Cannondale. I had been riding a beater Schwinn Worldsport. Man that Cannnon was stiff. and painful.

This SL3 is a breathtaking step up. Surprising comfort. Massive stiffness. Amazing handling.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.