Trek 1500 Road Bike

Trek 1500 Road Bike 

DESCRIPTION

Frame Material: aluminum
Frame Angles: 73.0 head, 73.8 seat
Sizes: 52cm, 54cm, 56cm, 58cm, 60cm, 63cm
Colors: Black, Gray/Blue
Fork: Bontrager Race Carbon
Rear Shock: Not applicable
Brake Levers: Shimano 105 STI Dual Control
Handlebar: Bontrager Ergo
Stem: aluminum
Headset: 1 1/8" threadless Aheadset
Front Der: Shimano Tiagra
Crankset: Bontrager Race, 30/42/52 teeth
Rear Der: Shimano Ultegra GS
Pedals: aluminum cage w/clips & straps
Tires: 700 x 25c Bontrager Select

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 148  
[Sep 30, 2018]
1500SLR


Strength:

It looks like a classic road bike with classic race geometry. At 54cm it has perfect frame triangulation. It came with an Ultegra 6600 groupset and Ultegra brakes (but I upgraded it to 6770). It has Bontrager SSR components, seat, handlebars, forks, wheels. It has an awesome 2006 Team Discovery channel livery. The decals are actually under the clear coat and the bike looks more expensive than it is. From a distance you would mistake it for a 2007 Madone. The frame is nice and stiff but not so stiff you would knock your teeth together. It's still as good as any other mid level flat top tube road bike such a a CAAD. Its very reliable and rides fast.

Weakness:

Its aluminum and so you pay a weight penalty. It doesn't have the strongest components if you are a heavy rider.

Price Paid:
$400
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2007
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Nov 04, 2011]
John Nicholas
Road Racer

Strength:

The look (frame shape is almost classic), frame stiffness, Cane Creek SCR3 brakes, carbon seat post, Bontrager SSR saddle, awesome painting (Discovery Channel Team),

Weakness:

The rims, even if are good looking are not robust at all. The rear one was replaced due to multiple cracks around spoke holes after one year of use.

Very good acceleration, very good mid level bike because of solid 105 group, frame and accessories.
Over 2000 miles on it without problems (except rear rim) but I must mention that I'm a very big rider (260 lbs). Even so the frame is calculated up to 275lbs. And that's means something!

Similar Products Used:

Cross (Cube Nature) and MTB bike (Merida Matts TFS 900).

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 28, 2011]
jeremy
Recreational Rider

Is this legit?

The bike is a 2005 model. It has significant miles, but was well maintained and sheltered. The petals are Look-type Shimano 105. The petals show wear, but function as new. The bike has a few dings, but nothing detrimental to the expected performance. Thus the asking price of only $250. The front tire is practically new, the rear tire shows some wear, but probably good for several hundred miles.



The wheels are Bontrager Select. There is one dent on the top tube, but hardly visible. No paint removed or deep scratch. You probably would not notice it unless I pointed it out.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 19, 2011]
Matt
Road Racer

Strength:

Fit. Ultegra and 105 mix are surprisingly good quality components for an entry-level race bike.

Weakness:

Average weight (20 lbs). Aluminum frame makes for uncomfortable century rides. Cheap saddle and tires. Weak rims. The rear stress fractured, which is a common problem with this wheel, although was replaced under warranty at no cost to me.

Purchased the bike new in May 2007. Have since rode 10,000+ miles on it. Very comfortable (after replacing the saddle) and surprisingly fast for the weight. Overall a fantastic bike for the price. Time to upgrade so am reluctantly letting go of it.

Similar Products Used:

None.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 20, 2010]
IH
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Acceleration is great. Shifts up and down very smoothly. Maintains speed well.

Weakness:

Probably just me adjusting from a mountain bike to a road bike, but the handle setup is a little awkward.

First road bike purchase. Couldn't be happier. Rides very well.

Similar Products Used:

Trek 4300

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 08, 2010]
CopperMtBiker
Commuter

Strength:

Fast. Light.

Improved my 16 mile daily mountain commute by 30% over a Giant hybrid.
Smooth gear transitions. Light weight for price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 16, 2009]
John on a bike
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Great value, has held up very well with 7,000 miles on it, needs little mechanical adjustments, corners well. Nice quiet 105 and Ultegra components.

Weakness:

Frame is a little too stiff for total comfort and at the same time acceleration seems a little sluggish and flexy compared to my old steel frame bike. Replaced seat straight away.

This has been a great bike for me for the money. Superb ride for the budget restrictions in place. I think this was the last year for this bike then they started cheaping out on the components. I opted to upgrade to a triple crankset and glad I did so.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 02, 2009]
sdsuaztec89
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Stiff aluminum frame, available in 63 cm, is ideal for a tall (6'3") rider. Bike was excellently fitted for the rider, by the Trek dealer, who special ordered the machine, to fit the rider.

Weakness:

A few of the original parts, such as the bontrager wheels, needed replacing/ upgrading in the first few thousand miles. Triple crank shifts a little bulky at times.

Great value. This bike is versatile and well built. The Alpha Aluminun super light race frame sticks the corners exceptionally well. I bought the bike on a budget. I couldn't then, and cannot today, pony up 3 or 4 grand for a bike. 10,000 miles, and half a dozen centuries later, from Solvang, to the Sea Otter Classic, This bike is road proven.

Similar Products Used:

Cannondale w/ similar setup.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 22, 2009]
triNC
Triathlete

Strength:

A lot of bike for the money, very reliable, fast and true.

Weakness:

seat, but replaced it almost immediately with nice Fi'zi:k. Some minor gear slippage if pressured on tough hills.

Great bike and has been fantastic first road bike purchase. I am triathlete but this is my trainig and racing bike. comfortable, light, performs well in every area.

Similar Products Used:

N/A

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 12, 2009]
Nate4837
Recreational Rider

Strength:

105 and Ultegra parts
Carbon seat post and fork
Piant makes it look like a fine sports car

Weakness:

Seat must be replaced
Tires and rims are lacking compared to the rest of bike

I've got around 4500 miles on her and no problems yet. Also no matter what I throw at her for roads hilly or pancake, it tackles with no lag. A fast road bike on at a shoestring price. A+++ bike

Similar Products Used:

2000 Trek 520
2004 Giant OCR2

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 148  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.