Trek 5900 Superlight Road Bike

Trek 5900 Superlight Road Bike 

DESCRIPTION

Frame Material: carbon fiber composite
Frame Angles: 73.8 head, 73.5 seat
Sizes: 50cm, 52cm, 54cm, 56cm, 58cm, 60cm, 62cm
Colors: Pearl/Silver
Fork: Bontrager Race XXX Lite
Rear Shock: Not applicable
Brake Levers: Shimano Dura-Ace STI Dual Control
Handlebar: Bontrager Race Lite
Stem: Bontrager Race XXX Lite
Headset: 1 1/8" threadless AHS Superlight Bearing
Front Der: Shimano Dura-Ace, braze-on
Crankset: Shimano Dura-Ace, 39/53 teeth
Rear Der: Shimano Dura-Ace SS
Pedals: Not included
Tires: 700 x 23c Bontrager Race X-Lite

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 20  
[Jun 19, 2012]
DOUG

Strength:

Super lightweight ,stiff(but not uncomfortable) BEST bike for climbing . Climbs like a mountain goat.

Weakness:

Alittle twitchy on swift descents

All I can say is WOW!! The weight of this bike w/o pedals is around 15 lbs, with mavic kysirium es wheels,Alien seatpost,3TTT carbon bars,3TTT stem ,rivals newer frames in weight . I bought frame on ebay and built up with select components. Using a compact crankset ( we have a lot of hills in northern N.J.) instead of a double allows this bike to climb like a mountain goat. The amount of output to climb a particular hill is reduced greatly resulting in less fatigue. I have an old 5200 I use for training , which is actually more comfortable but way less stiff and heavier. No wonder when Trek came out with the new Madones Lance Armstrong still used this frame for the hill stages. If your looking for a great climbing bike this is it , any bike mechanic worth his weight will tell you this is the best frame for the money. If you can get this frame you will not be sorry .

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 26, 2012]
wintersolstice
Road Racer

Strength:

Firm, comfortable, fast, smooth corners

Weakness:

Not cheap.

Fabulous long haul road bike.
Bought this bike as a Project One bike, with Campy Record Carbon and all from the factory. I have used it in several races, plus countless centuries and group rides (like Solvang, Death Ride, all that) and it handled so much better than any other bike I've ever owned.
The cycle computer now shows 13,572 miles... which seems more appropriate for a car :)

Similar Products Used:

Cannondale, Merlin, a few others that I've forgotten over the years

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 22, 2008]
Bob
Road Racer

Strength:

Very light, climbs well, comfortable, relatively stiff, smooth.

Weakness:

Only drawback is that it not as reactive some of my prior bikes. Doesn't hold the front wheel on turns as well.

Bought all original stock, only thing I changed originally was the seat. I put on Selle Italia SLR Gel-Flow Saddle which was much lighter and more comfortable. Changed out stem to a Bontrager XXX stem and FSA K-wing Bar after about a year of riding.
Raced and won on this bike many times and still using this after 2008 season. Bike is a bit used now, however it's lighter then most of my friends bikes still.
I'm a sprinter, the bike does decently on sprints, but not quite as reactive as my previous Cromolly bike because of the more laid back geometry.

Similar Products Used:

Trek 5500, Miele Columbus SLX

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 04, 2008]
tareinpula
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Light. Stiff. Comfortable even after long days in the saddle (not that I do that many of those). Sure footed bike gives you great control. Climbs like a goat.

Weakness:

Because of the long chainstays (41.5cm) it doesn't immediately take off under acceleration. It's stiffness can make it jumpy (I'm 70kg) on very rough roads but which bike doesn't... take a look at the pros during the Paris Roubaix. Also don't like the spin of the Bontrager X Lite wheels (especially the rear)... I get passed by most guys while just rolling downhill (this is despite a new set of bearings).

Great bike! Very sure footed and comfortable. Light and stiff makes climbing a joy... sort of! I can stand up in the big gears and give it all I've got and there's bearly any bb movement but at the same time it soaks up road vibrations easily, although if the surface gets too rough it can throw you about a bit. Great handling on the descents when there aren't corrogations in our wonderful roads in Oz. You feel in complete control.

Similar Products Used:

Mid eighties steel Zullo. Aluminium Avanti Giro.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 22, 2007]
gunsmil
Road Racer

Strength:

Stiff, light, fast.

Weakness:

The rake in the fork is short. This causes the handling to be touchy, a week at most to get used to. The price new is very expensive also, just buy a used one on ebay.

I would have to say this is one of the best frames you can buy. I have been riding aluminum for a very long time and the carbon feels like a rocket. It is also much softer than steel. I would suggest that everyone ride carbon if they can afford it. I am very happy to have upgraded to his frame and built up the bike with dura ace. Get this bike because it is easy on the saddle for very long rides.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized allez( aluminum downtube), 1979 casati track frame, handwelded track frame, giant road bike. trek ttx

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 16, 2006]
Silverandgold550
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Very responsive. Stiff yet comfortable. Excellent cornering stability and tracking. Beautifully complimented with carbon Bontrager bits and pieces. The compact crank is not just nice to look at, in combination with the stiff frame, it is a climbers dream. Alot of bike for the price.

Weakness:

None yet.

I purchased this bike yesterday. I loaded it into my truck and headed immediately to the Rose Bowl in Pasadena CA for the Tuesday/Thursday night criterium style training ride. This ride regularly attracts pro/semi-pro riders. It also attracts many recreational riders like myself, who do not race, but are in race condition. I had not ridden a road bike for 2.5 weeks prior to this as my 1999 Trek 5500 was damaged during a training ride. Initially, I was a bit nervous about riding a new and unfamiliar bike in such an intense training ride. I soon found that it was very similar in ride quality to my 5500. Having said that, it is much stiffer and more responsive. The bike responds to every input that your legs give it. I started out slowly and at the back of the group. After about two laps of this ten lap ride I felt pretty good and headed toward the front. About six laps into the ride, I found myself At the front and in a 12 man breakaway. I was shocked. I hadn't ridden in over two weeks and there I was feeling good and helping to gap the rest of the group. I am in decent shape, but this bike gave me something that would have taken much more effort on my 5500. This bike is amazimg. It literally surges forward with each pedal stroke. It corners confidently at high speed. All of this and comfort. I couldn't have imagined the difference a bike could make. This machine has taken me from being a very good rider to a front of the pack finisher. This bike also has a Botrager Compact Crank that I was skeptical about in the beginning. However, I am convinced that the crank is going to make me a more efficient climber.

Similar Products Used:

Concorde (steel), Battaglin (steel), 1999 Trek 5500.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 08, 2006]
Pedro Silva
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Confortable, stiff, very good stuff

Weakness:

The headset that comes stock, Cane Creek. Replace it!

I have raced as an amateaur and I have done it for 2 years with a Fondriest frame and then with a Look 481, great bikes. But recently I have get my hands on a 5900 trek frame same as Lance Armstrong used in 2000 on the Hautacam stage. I assemble it with with Ultegra 10 sp, ITM millenium carbon, look carbon pedals. All I can say is, Wow!!! Its incredibly confortable, amazingly stiff when the road points to the sky and for me the best bike I have riden. Those guys in Wisconsin sure know how to build a bike!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 27, 2006]
fillmore
Road Racer

Strength:

Smooth ride
Climbs well
Solid and confident ride
Handles well
Stable at high speeds
Trek customer service

Weakness:

Rear wheel needed warranty work with a broken hub. Had new wheel within a week. Dealer lent me a wheel with no hassles. A good reason to buy from your LBS.

I still love this bike after two years. At 16 lbs. complete with pedals and cages it still rivals the latest bike coming out. It may look a little dated now but you can't see it while riding. At the time of purchase I tried the Madone 5.9 but it felt a little harsh and had that dead feel to it. The 5900 felt like it floated over the pavement and felt just as stiff as the Madone. With about 16000 miles on it it's holding up well with only a few nicks in the paint under the down tube, so I don't know why people complain of the finish of Treks. The artistic design may not be the most appealing but I don't mind because it's not ugly and it's all about the ride. The Bontrager seatpost is the best and easiest post to adjust and has never slipped or tilted. Dura Ace 10 speed works flawless. Overall a great bike and still can't believe how much more enjoyable this bike is over my old steel bike.

Similar Products Used:

5200,Madone,Lemond spine,Seven

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 28, 2006]
zonie
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Light, stiff, comfortable for the long haul.

Weakness:

Cheesy decals (Mine are history) and lousy paint...but I don't care after riding it. My old Italian bikes are for looks and profiling. Sucks up water from wet roads. Yeah, it's a Hoover! Trek is huge, a Monster corporation. I prefer smaller enterprises, but, this time I'll let it slide...LOL

This bike was well used when I got it, a bit rough and needed a new BB, the prior owner rode in the rain alot. I had started riding on an Alum 1500, but my butt did not like it. Bought this for the comfort, not the light weight, but....I'm a convert, light is GOOD! I'm a Clyde, 215 and 6'2, and have not noticed any flex when hammering. Even with an Al seatpost, this is a smooth ride. Very stable on downhills, 50mph is quite comfortable and controlled.

Similar Products Used:

other things with two wheels

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 09, 2006]
km53jinx
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Quiet but strong.

Weakness:

I still have to pedal.

Extremely nice riding bike. Very responsive and comfortable all-day ride.

Similar Products Used:

Aegis Aero Svelte, Merlin Extralight

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 20  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.