Trek Madone 5.9 Road Bike

Trek Madone 5.9 Road Bike 

DESCRIPTION

Frame Material: carbon fiber composite
Frame Angles: 73.8 head, 73.5 seat
Sizes: 50cm, 52cm, 54cm, 56cm, 58cm, 60cm, 62cm
Colors: Silver
Fork: Bontrager Race XXX Lite
Rear Shock: Not applicable
Brake Levers: Shimano Dura-Ace STI Dual Control
Handlebar: Bontrager Race Lite
Stem: Bontrager Race XXX Lite
Headset: 1 1/8" threadless Cane Creek S-6
Front Der: Shimano Dura-Ace, braze-on
Crankset: Shimano Dura-Ace, 39/53 teeth
Rear Der: Shimano Dura-Ace SS
Pedals: Not included
Tires: 700 x 23c Bontrager Race X-Lite

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 44  
[Apr 12, 2015]
SWNMGuy
Road Racer

Strength:

This review is for the 2014 Trek Madone 5.9 Dura Ace H2. This is pretty close to being my dream bike. It weighs in at 15.0 lbs without pedals and climbs like a dream. At 200 lbs I'm not built like a climber but this bike has me seeking out the steepest hills and mtns around.

The Shimano Dura-Ace is as good as other reviewers say it is. It never misses a shift. Additionally it takes just one push (rather than 2 previously) to go from the small ring to the big ring. DA 9000 also gives the rider the ability to feather (i.e. slightly move) the shifter when cross chaining (i.e. using the big ring up front & the big cog in back). This does make a difference in terms of noise and efficiency.

I didn't think having an 11 cog cassette would make a big difference but it does--even if it is subtle thing. Essentially, I feel that I'm always riding in the perfect gear.

The bike is nearly all black (except for the grey Trek logo on the downtube) and looks fantastic.

Kudos for including a torq wrench.

The stock RL tubeless ready wheels seem to be pretty good. I'm looking forward to trying them with 25mm tubeless tires.

Does the bike feel "areo" given the Kamm tail design? I think I feel less drag on steep descents and flat sprints. It sure feels safer in a crosswind than the Cervelo S5 i've ridden before.

The bike is stiff enough for a sprinter like me. I can't get the frame to flex--not even on a downhill sprint.

The bike handles nicely.

Weakness:

Negatives:

--The ride could be a little softer over rougher pavement. It's not a deal killer though. Bigger tires will help in the future.

--Why sell bikes with 23mm tires? Who wants little tires anymore? Oh, Trek wants us to upgrade immediately.

--The seat was crap. Very spongy. It has little air holes in it. When I hit a bump my butt goes back into the seat and I can hear air shoot out of the seat. It affects bike control to a degree also. Trek shouldn't be afraid to put a race saddle on a Dura-Ace $5000 bike. I even felt that this saddle was unsafe.

If you can find this 2014 model it's discounted at the Trek store from $5k to $3k now and well worth it!

Similar Products Used:

Specialized Roubaix--a very nice bike. Trek Emonda--too hard and over priced. Cervelo S5--nice ride, fast, ugly.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 20, 2014]
Marshall
Road Racer

Strength:

Very responsive. Fast! Smooth ride. Esthetics. Incredibly smooth shifting Shimano DuraAce 9000. Climbing. Stiff.

Weakness:

None

I bought this bicycle on July 3, 2014. I rode a hundred mile ride on the 4th, so I really got to know the 5.9. I bought some Cosmic Carbones for it the next week. I ride it 250-300 miles per week. This Madone 5.9 has climbed extremely well in two Gran Fondos, descending at 50 mph at times without any vibration at all. This is a fast, sleek, racing machine and I love it. Oh, I'm sixty and have owned many other Treks, two Lightspeeds, and a Jamis. The Trek 5.9 is easily the nicest bicycle I have ever owned.

Similar Products Used:

Trek Madone 4.7 with Shimano Ultegra, Trek 5500 with Shimano DuraAce, Trek 5200 with Ultegra.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 25, 2012]
Tim

Strength:

handling

Weakness:

Bottom bracket system. Found out too late that bb bearings DO NOT LAST! about 1 year of use, bearings failed. seized and ate into frame, which TREK will not warranty. After this I hear that bb bearing failure common in less than 1 yr riding. After this mechanic tells me that now Shimano and FSA recommend bb bearing maintenance at either 500 or 200 miles. While I love the ride, not sure I will get a plastic bike again

great ride. BB bearing system awful.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 26, 2012]
onefastbiker

Strength:

frame geometry, Weight, Climbing, ride, Attitude

Weakness:

Internal cable routing works well - but not as handy for repair work or cable replacement down the road.

After 18 years the chain-stay on the Trek 5200 cracked but Trek denied the guarantee request. However, a local dealer sold me a 2011 H2 Five-Nine frame at a very low cost. Shifters/break levers, Wheel -set (mavic ksyrium elite) , head-set and BB bearings were up-dated to produce a light and quick bike. It shifts cleanly and precise, carves corners like a scalpel in the hands of a German surgeon, spins great on the new BB bearings and climbs like it was being chased by the entire underworld. I call it my Fat bottom bracket bike!


OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 02, 2011]
Knut
Road Racer

Strength:

Light weighted, good at climbing, downhill, looks great, stiff, comfortably ride .

Weakness:

None so far

Got the frame after returning my Fisher Cronus Ultimate had big crank problems. Moved over a complete SRAM Red set, a new saddle Selle Italia SLR carbonium, did not like the Bontrager saddle. Wheels were Bontrager RXL. now i ride on Dura Ace C 50 clincher, they are doing just fine, fast, stiff, and looks like a dream on the bike .
It is a H2 bike, very comfortably at long rides, longest is 165km, most of the time it get used at rides lasting from 2-4 hrs.
No problems with the bike so far, got lot of comments on the look of it, i do like the colors on it, and riding it is not bad at all ;)

Similar Products Used:

Fisher Cronus Ultimate
Ridley Noah

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 01, 2011]
TFR
Road Racer

Strength:

stiff, GREAT handling, yet comfortable.

Weakness:

maybe paint job- but it has grown on me

Trek 5.9 2011. My Carbon LeMond broke at the drive side rear dropout (pretty flimsy arrangement). Schuss got me a warranty replacement- the '11 5.9. I had liked my LEmond quite a lot, so not sure about the new Trek. It is excellent! Stiff, but comfortable, handling is excellent. I really can't imagine a bike that rides much better. The folks at Schuss were great too.

Similar Products Used:

LEmond Zurich carbon triomphe frame, fuji team

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 02, 2011]
william
Road Racer

Strength:

Weight, stiffness, handling, Bontrager wheel set is problem free, compact crank. Also the seat mast configuration actually takes the edge off stippled pavement, it's like the old carbon beam bike, sort of, you get noticable moderate flex that actually makes hammering easier.

Weakness:

Not my cup of tea color scheme, but it was a replacement frame, for my 2009 5.2. I got the 5.9 with the frilly blue and white colors, 54cm. Ultegra anodized crank is mottled where my foot scuffs the crank arm.

My Trek Madone 5.9 2011 was a replacement frame, free, b/c my 2009 Trek 5.2 developed cracks in the seat mast. I built up the frame with the 2009 ultegra kit and Bontrager wheel set. I've been riding road bikes for awhile, steel, aluminum, titanium and carbon. The Trek is light, uber light and flex free, no BB deflection whatsoever. It climbs like a dream, the vibration damping of the carbon makes the thing silky smooth, and descending is predictable. I have had the thing at 57 MPH on the Lee Hill descent in Boulder, and carved down left hand canyon at 45 MPH plus. It goes where you place it in the turns, and that means you have lot's of options for putting the bike in the place you want to be with speed and moxy. LIke I said, it's smooth, and we had a dry winter, so I put in a lot of 4-6 hour weekend rides. Base miles. The comfort of the ride is a back end saver. While it has the H2 head tube, I have dropped the stem, and in the Deer Trail road race this year, with the benefit of increased aerodynamics and good position, road away from a big bunch, I finished smack dab in the middle. I have ridden a Serrota Colorado Titanium 1993-97, A Merckx Columbus SL, 1989-93, a Trek 5500, circa 2005, a Bridgestone RB-1. It's a great bike, and I assure you the faster you pedal, the faster the bike will go, it's amazing. That makes it like so many other bikes, the more force you apply to the gear, the greater the velocity. The Bontrager saddle happens to be comfy, allowing for nice fore and aft positioning, narrow enough to not snag and wide enough for my sit bones. I love the ride of this thing and it's raceable, trainable, Grand Fondo able.

Similar Products Used:

Trek 5.2, trek 5500.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 18, 2011]
david_asulin
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Stiff and efficient

Weakness:

To harsh on bad roads

Great bike please read my full review at:

http://bikestuffreview.blogspot.com/

Similar Products Used:

Specialized bikes

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 15, 2010]
Matt Matthews
Road Racer

Strength:

Lightweight, good design, handles very well, stable and takes corners very well.

Weakness:

bontrager tires are terrible, would recommend a different saddle other than the bontrager race lite.

You can line up a mercedes, bmw, lexus, range rover, and a volvo in your driveway, and most people would say those are all nice cars. Its the same with bikes its just a matter of preference. The shop upgraded the wheelset to dt swiss with 240s hubs, THANK YOU!!!

Similar Products Used:

Gary fisher arc pro.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 31, 2009]
tdelss
Triathlete

Strength:

Nimble, Stiff and "Faster than a Cheetah strapped to a bullet train"

Weakness:

Me. The only limit to this bike is the rider. I am still getting used to a bike that corners and climbs so well.

This is the first carbon frame I have ever owned and know I will never go back

Similar Products Used:

Trek 2100, Trek 1000

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 44  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.