Trek Madone 6.5 Road Bike

rek's Madone 6.5 is an extraordinarily high-tech machine boasting almost endless innovation. Trek's top-of-the-line OCLV Red carbon ensures a feathery weight and podium-topping acceleration and climbing. Plus, there's a 90mm-wide bottom bracket for maximum efficiency, sealed headset and bottom bracket bearings that simply press into the frame saving weight and reducing maintenance, and a seat mast that saves even more weight, while also boosting compliance for supreme comfort. And, up front, there's Bontrager's stellar Race XXX Lite Carbon fork. Naturally, this sweet ride is equipped with the finest in cycling, too, including Bontrager's Race X Lite wheels and Shimano's Tour-winning Dura-Ace components. Features and Information

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
rboseley99   Recreational Rider [May 26, 2010]
Strength:

I've said it all

Weakness:

Price -but in line with others

I already had the Aeolus wheels, so I actually have a 6.9 This bike is just amazing in every respect. My former favorite bike was the Trek 5500. This one is about 60% better than that one. It is that good.

Similar Products Used: Trek 5500 - Trek 5.2
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mike getoff   Road Racer [Oct 19, 2009]
Strength:

Light. fast, agile, great up amd down hills

Weakness:

$$$$$$$

2010 6.5 Madone. Unbelievable Just can't say enough great on hill climbs great on sprints great on centuries. I think I'm in love

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Woody D.   Recreational Rider [Aug 21, 2009]
Strength:

UBERLIGHT & SMOOOOOTH! Acceleration is possible at any speed. Friends are complaining about not being able to keep up when I put on the gas. I have to work on sprints because I literally was pulling the bike off the ground. I was looking for a SRAM bike in the beginning, but Dura-ace is fantastic.

Weakness:

I a reasonably fit, but I wanted a compact crank because I am 50 and run about 200lbs. When on the flats there is a distinct jump going between front chainrings. In my old Ultegra I would need to do a one gear adjustment to be in a like ratio. On the compact I have to do three. It can be a problem when driving into the wind at speed....sort of like hitting the brakes. Trek recommended I have the stock cassette and a flat ride cassette.

2009 Madone 6.5. I bought it during the end of the year sale. I was looking at a Madone 5.5, but the deal on the 6.5 was just too good to pass up. Everything is top notch on the bike and Larry at Trek La Mesa's fitting is amazing. I call him Mr. Millimeter.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
MartinR   Recreational Rider [Aug 17, 2009]
Strength:

Stiff frame, but very nice ride. Very light - 15.9 lbs complete for a 56 frame, with pedals , water bottle cages and computer mounts.

This bike forces you to ride better, it is like a race car - it wants to be ridden fast.

Weakness:

The stability of this bike is causing me to go quicker downhill than I would like - yes not a big complaint - but the design of this frame is such that downhill speed is very very deceptively fast.

2009 Trek Madone 6.5. This is a superb bike. I have ridden a Trek 2002 model 5500 for 7 years. This new Madone is a totally different bike. It is much stiffer, lighter, and more stable, but yet the ride is smoother. Due to the stability of the front end, no doubt due to the new head set design, I find my self going faster downhill than before. I was a pretty good judge of speed with my 5500, but now find myself going quicker on the Madone with the same level of energy output.

I was concerned about the compact crank, as I live in a very hilly area. However, I have been pleasantly surprised and it is not an issue at all. I am convinced the lower weight and stiffness of the frame make up for the longer low gear. By my calculations, my low gear is now one gear longer than what I had before with a triple crank setup.

There is a noticable difference in accleration with this frame compared to older designs. It is much quicker for equivalent effort.

Similar Products Used: Trek 2002 5500
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
knl66   Recreational Rider [Aug 06, 2009]
Strength:

light
stiff
responsive
FAST!
comfortable for centuries or spirited group rides

Weakness:

Decals are a bit blah and would be nice if they were reflective...is this a weakness? Depends on the beholder I guess...

Its a '08 6.5 performance model with upgraded crank- to SRAM Red. Bought this from the mechanic at my LBS. Used for 1.5k by him then he upgraded to a 2009...my gain! Thanks Dukie"

Amazingly light, stiff and responsive. Smooth, yet not "dead" feeling.
I'm 207 lbs and have never been a climber, this bike enables me to keep with the pack and not get dropped as much. My wife says I'm obsessed since buying this ride, I'm out every available time I can. This bike is more than I deserve but forces me to ride more and push myself harder than I've ever done in the past. I'm in the best shape of the last 10 years thanks to the desire this bike gives me.

Similar Products Used: 1984 Trek 660 with 600EX
2002 Leader 715 with DA
2003 Surly Pacer with DA/Ultegra mix
2002 Surly Cross Check with 105/LX mix
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
fatdogracer   Road Racer [Sep 03, 2008]
Strength:

It has it all, it's rigid where it counts, but is super comfortable on the longer rides. The bars are the bonty RaceXlite carbon winged ones, with the flat 'flats'. I thought they was a croc until I used them - they are really comfortable. The full DA group - great. The Race X Lite wheels are a vast improvement over the Race Lites, and are a little lighter than the last version of Race X Lite. It's also light - with some Reynolds DV-ULs it's only 6.8 kgs with pedals, bottle cages computer etc. Size 58. Lifetime warranty - hooray! AND trek are one of the best when it comes to legit claims. It steers just perfectly, little or no front end instability like other light carbon frames and the power delivery feels direct and purposeful.

Weakness:

I've ditched the Race XXX lite stem for a Thompson one, just personal, as I have with the Race X lite saddle.

Dam - Trek has nailed this one! It is superb. If money is not tight this bike is bloody marvellous. I was given an 08 5.5 to try for 6 months and really loved the frameset, but didn't rate the compact Bonty cranks, or the race lite wheels or the bars/stem combo that it came with, when it was time to give it back I was keen to get my hands on treks high range version.

It's an absolute dream to own - a pleasure to do high k's on, and equally as good when it comes to sprinting. SO GOOD!!! Well done TREK, and cannot rate this frame highly enough.

Similar Products Used: 08 5.5 Madone, 07 BH G2, 07 TCR Carbon,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
palominoridge   Road Racer [May 09, 2008]
Strength:

Weight, components, wheels, paintjob, customer service with the dealer. Steady downhill, spry uphill, quick off the line, firm in the sprint. And, it looks GREAT.

Weakness:

Price - even though I think it's justified, this is an expensive item.... but worth it if you can afford it.

2008 Madone 6.5 - I LOVE this bike. Looks great, rides perfect, climbs and accelerates unbelievably well. The Race X lite wheels are so good I decided not to spend the money on the Aeolus carbon race wheels. The full Dura-Ace shifts quietly and effortlessly. The brakes are strong and calibrated well - you can touch them gently with great control without them catching all of a sudden, and they grab like crazy with a squeeze. The bladed carbon handlebar and XXX lite stem look AWESOME - it's weird how many compliments I've gotten just on those two pieces. I also love the way the white bladed spokes look. This bike is quiet, smooth, fast and responsive. My first ride, I tried to ride with just a normal, average, output and see how my speed was affected. I think the average speed with the same output is at least 4 mph faster. I felt guilty - you CAN buy speed. :-) I'm embarrased at how much I like this bike. FANTASTIC PRODUCT!!! Thanks Trek!!!

Similar Products Used: Trek 1500 (aluminum), Cervelo (carbon), Specialized (carbon)..... I liked the Specialized better than the Cervelo, but neither compares to the Madone
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bob Nordlie   Recreational Rider [Mar 27, 2008]
Strength:

Full Dura Ace group
Compact crank
Brakes are very strong!

Weakness:

Sometimes it will feel just a little bit "loose" on a fast descent (40+ MPH) but I've never felt like I was going to lose it, just that I needed to pay attention.

In fact, my Trek Madone 6.5 is a 2008 model, and it is a fantastic bike. It was a gift from the members of the church I pastor, so I'm not sure of the exact price. The appearance of this bike is incredible with the shape and size of the tubes, the seat mast and cap, and the Bontrager Race Lite X Wheels. But it's beauty is a whole lot more than surface. I've ridden a Giant OCR1 aluminum frame bike for almost 4 years and loved it, but there is no comparison. This bike is incredibly light. I can pick it up and balance it on one finger! It is stiff and solid (I'm a big rider on a 62cm frame)! It is responsive, and jumps when you kick it! And it's smooth, like riding on new pavement even when you're on chip seal. Sometimes it's so light and quick that it almost feels like there's "no chain." I love the compact crank, and I ride a lot of hills. (I almost always have a 450 climb in order to get home.) And climbing with such a light bike is a dream, being a large rider (6'4" 220+ pounds). I would highly recommend this bike to anyone looking for a high end full carbon road bike. I've gotten a ton of compliments on it.

Similar Products Used: I haven't ridden any other full carbon road bikes.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8