Trek Madone 6.9 Road Bike

Madone 6.9

Lighter, faster, better. That was Trek's goal in creating their best-of-the-best Madone 6.9. Brutally efficient and ultra light, it features ingenious new technology for a superior ride, such as a 90mm-wide bottom bracket for maximum efficiency, sealed headset and bottom bracket bearings that simply press into the frame saving weight and reducing maintenance, and a seat mast that saves even more weight, while also boosting compliance for supreme comfort. And, it's built of Trek's team-spec OCLV Red carbon, while the fork is equally impressive. It's Bontrager's Race XXX Lite Carbon with E2 steerer, which is oversize at the base for excellent efficiency and control. A frame of this level deserves only the best and you get it with top-of-the-line Bontrager Race XXX Lite carbon wheels and Shimano's Tour-winning Dura-Ace components for the ultimate in shifting and braking, while the Bontrager stem, bars and seat add the finishing touches of class.

User Reviews (29)

Showing 1-10 of 29  
Neil Amling   [Jan 27, 2015]
Strength:

Sprints, breakaways,is what this thing was made for. Never felt a more efficient relay of pedal power to the wheel. When I get up out of the seat, I feel like I was shot out of a cannon, so nimble and quiet, just a "woosh, woosh, woosh," as I go by other riders, they never hear me coming as I slingshot around them. Handling, 15% better than the Cannondale SuperSix I had before. If I can see the line in the curve I want to ride, the bike takes me there.

Weakness:

None found yet

I'm 6'3", just under 200lbs, have a 60cm frame. With any carbon fiber frame of a bike this caliber, the smaller the frame, the stiffer the bike. Trek only tests the 56cm frame, because that's their biggest seller. Anything larger than 56 has a little more flex in the frame, smaller and they get stiffer. Anticipating a stiff ride, I did my build with Rolf (engineered and made in America by American hands, not some soulless 3rd world zombie factory that are contracted by 90% of the rim companies). Vigor rims with ceramic bearings. Oh, what a smooth ride this gives this bike. Had steel bearings the first week as a loaner until my wheels came, and what a difference in handling these rims made at high speeds. The small chatter from road vibration was gone, and best of all, NO WEIGHT LIMITS ON THESE RIMS. Matter of fact, the bigger you ore, the faster you'll go downhill. The rest of my build components are Dura-Ace, what a perfect match for this frame. Stops on a dime, have never missed a shift.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
rose.johnp   Recreational Rider [Dec 01, 2013]
Strength:

Very light, very stiff, very responsive.

Weakness:

The retail price.

I bought this frame brand new from a dude off craigslist and built it up with DA and Bontrager XXX wheels. I'm 5'10" 200lbs, and I ride this bike like I stole it. The bike feels great and is fun to ride. I'm probably too heavy for the wheels- I have to true them every couple months, but this review is on the bike- I really like the bike. The MSRP is shocking! $7,700... I paid less then $3,000 to build mine up. If you have the funds, go for it. If not, the lower priced 5 series are very comparable.

Similar Products Used: Madone 5.something
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
rose.johnp   Recreational Rider [Dec 01, 2013]
Strength:

Very light, very stiff, very responsive.

Weakness:

The retail price.

I bought this frame brand new from a dude off craigslist and built it up with DA and Bontrager XXX wheels. I'm 5'10" 200lbs, and I ride this bike like I stole it. The bike feels great and is fun to ride. I'm probably too heavy for the wheels- I have to true them every couple months, but this review is on the bike- I really like the bike. The MSRP is shocking! $7,700... I paid less then $3,000 to build mine up. If you have the funds, go for it. If not, the lower priced 5 series are very comparable.

Similar Products Used: Madone 5.something
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
TFR   [Nov 03, 2012]
Strength:

Handles great, very stiff and responsive

Weakness:

rear end too stiff vertically. my old sciatica returned. rechecked measurements and that, unfortunately, was not the problem.

got this 2012 6 series as a warranty replacement of a 5.9 (loved the ride of that one). The 2012 6 series handles great, is light and very stiff. Too stiff for me. Rear end rides harsh- same as my super stiff aluminum back up bike. Took both bikes to a short circuit with some pavement cracks at a corner, and both handled the same.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Andrew Hager   Recreational Rider [Aug 28, 2012]
Strength:

I have a 6 series and its the best Bike I have ever owned.

Weakness:

Don't buy it with the Std Trek Wheels, There crap.

Buy the Bike and make sure your don't buy the Trek brand wheels.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Steve Langone   Road Racer [Jul 02, 2012]
Strength:

Performance, Styling, Customization options

Weakness:

Price

This is a true racing machine! As a current Cat3 & Masters racer, I need every bit out of a bike as I can.
For years I've raced Wilier Triestina(Sestriere, Izoard) and Look(585, 595, 695SR) and until now thought the technology/set up couldn't get much better. The Trek Madone 6.9 SSL Project 1 changed all that. For years, I resisted the Armstrong affect and subsequent market saturation, but now understand the errors of my ways. As a non-climber, this bike is nimble, quick and almost effortless. Surprisingly, with the tighter geometry and shorter wheel base, I expected compliance to be an issue in the descents, but I could carry higher speeds without any worry. Sprinting is a pure delight! The H1 & H2 option is great for those with flexibility concerns.
Overall, this is it! A bike with great looks, performance and versatility.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Marty Givens   Recreational Rider [May 15, 2012]
Strength:

Gorgeous to look at and beautiful to ride. Light and stiff yet still quite comfortable. Project One customization is awesome.

Weakness:

Price - but you get what you pay for!

I started road racing in 1982 on an old Motobecane and bought my first Trek (a 170?) in 1984. I owned Treks for the next 10 years. I stopped riding altogether for 5 years until purchasing a LeMond Zurich (technically still a Trek - I think) in 1999. I loved that bike (although it didn't get ridden nearly enough when I moved to Chicago in 2003) until it flew off my roof (along with the entire rack) while driving through Nebraska to our new home in Oregon. Sad for the LeMond but good for me - as I was able to upgrade to a 2012 Project One Madone 6.9 SSL with the SRAM Red group.

The difference was astounding - I was actually afraid of the bike for a week because it felt so twitchy underneath me and I was scared I'd do something stupid and wreck the gorgeous paint job! I contemplated mounting it on the wall as a work of art and buying something I wouldn't be so emotionally invested in!

After a few weeks I became less of a spaz and the bike felt more and more stable. It is so quick to respond it's almost telepathic. It's ability to transfer energy into speed is really amazing. I would love to say that it climbs like a rocket but I'll have to lose another 40 lbs before I make that claim. I can say it WANTS to climb like a rocket but it has a 225 lb anchor.

It's not as stable on the descents as the LeMond was - I frequently hit the high 50's riding the hills around Eugene, OR on the LeMond and it was rock solid. The Madone is a bit more squirrely in the 50mph range although some of that may be the deep wheels catching air.

I'm going to put some RXL wheels on it and see if that makes any difference.

My only complaint is with the SRAM front derailleur - total piece of crap! The first one cracked, the second one flexed so much it came of the chain ring on both sides on numerous times. SRAM sent me a different version (steel/aluminum instead of titanium) and it appears to be fixed.

All in all it's a great bike that I would highly recommend (just go with a Force front derailleur) if you're getting the SRAM group.

Similar Products Used: Trek 170, Trek 1300, Trek 2300, LeMond Zurich
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Rednose44   [Apr 24, 2012]
Strength:

Light, Fast, Climbs Very Good, Comfortable, Good value.

Weakness:

None

I have had my P1 6.9 for almost a year now. Setup with Sram Red components and Bontrager carbon aero wheels. The bike has been great. I swapped out the Sram FD with a DA FD, but other than that the bike has been flawless. It is very light, fast and comfortable. I could not be happier with the bike.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Stewart Bethune   [Apr 16, 2012]
Strength:

Extraordinary hill climber. My Madone 6.9 has climbed many of the rugged passes in B.C. and it's rented cousin took me to the 10,000 ft. peak of Maui's Haleakala fron sea level at Paia. Bike is great downhill as well and sucks up the bumps and rough pavement at any speed. It is frankly an extraordinary bike. Kudos to the U.S. engineered and built bike.

Weakness:

Ultegra components need more attention than I used to have with my prior Shimano powered bikes.

Fantastic bike. I am lucky enough to have started road riding as a hobby in the mid 80's on a Birtoni Italian steel bike then graduated to a Cannondale P8 with an aluminum frame and carbon forks. The leap to a Madone 6.9 Project bike was enormous but it certainly made me a convert.
The ride experience makes me count the days between my ski season at Whistler and my rides on the Sea to Sky highway.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ed thomas   Triathlete [Mar 26, 2012]
Strength:

Handling , weight, Position, Climbing. Comfy ride. Wheels a surprise. Scandium ..Lite and durable. .25 mm Vitoria Rubino pro slicks helped the ride .

Weakness:

This thing eats bb bearings to the tune of a set every 2k miles or less.. Change chains , change bearings..Got some new ones from Hawk-Racing. Hope they help
..Last week the fork cracked on both sides in nearly the same place..Not safe to ride now.. My old 5500 at least rides every day.. Learned long ago to keep one bike for go when it counts. Not the Madone.. Each year the price goes up.. What really matters most is the motor.

Fun ride at first..Liked the ride and power transfer. This bike was a retirement gift..I ride several hours most days.. Impressed with the Race Lite wheels. Durable so far..I get 6-8000 miles yearly.. The more i ride this the more it needs work. I find myself letting it hang many days and ride another..

2010 MADONE 6.9

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 29  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.