Trek Madone SL 5.9 Road Bike

Trek Madone SL 5.9 Road Bike 

DESCRIPTION

  • OCLV 110 Carbon Frame
  • Bontrager Race XXX Lite
  • OCLV 110 Carbon Fork
  • Bontrager Race X Lite Wheels
  • Shimano Dura-Ace Rear Derailleur

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 28  
[Jul 07, 2014]
Marshall
Road Racer

Strength:

Speed,' weight, climbs, handling ability. Smooth shifting with Dura Ace.

Weakness:

None. This bicycle has no weaknesses. You can certainly buy more expensive
bicycles. For most of my 25 year cycling career, I've been a Trek rider. In 1997 I bought a Trek 5200 with Ultegra components. Loved it. Two years later, I bought a Trek 5500 Postal bike with Dura Ace. That was the smoothest shifting, fastest bike I ever rode. Two years ago, I traded it in forv a 4.9 with 105 components. Trek had come a long way with their 105s. 6000 miles later, I bought the 5.9 with Dura Ace and Cosmic Carbones. Before I made the purchase I read a review that called the 5.9 "racing royalty" . It's truly that. I couldn't agree more. Faster, smoother, lighter, and again much faster. I'm 60 with an easy 20,000 miles under my belt. I upgraded the saddle because, well, I'm 60. No problem keeping up with 35 year old speedsters. Very smooth shifting. It needed tweaking due to cable stretch after 200 miles. One 100 mile ride. H2!setup is perfect for me. I'm ecstatic. I would recommend this bike to anyone. Can't see an upgrade in the near future. Very happy and satisfied with my purchase. It's painted flat black. My wife thinks it looks like a stolen bicycle that someone spray painted. What she doesn't know won't hurt her. It's beautiful. , such as those with Di2, however this is a different animal.

For most of my 25 year cycling career, I've been a Trek rider. In 1997 I bought a Trek 5200 with Ultegra components. Loved it. Two years later, I bought a Trek 5500 Postal bike with Dura Ace. That was the smoothest shifting, fastest bike I ever rode. Two years ago, I traded it in for a 4.9 with 105 components. Trek had come a long way with their 105s. 6000 miles later, I bought the 5.9 Madone with Dura Ace and Cosmic Carbones. Before I made the purchase I read a review that called the 5.9 "racing royalty" . It's truly that. I couldn't agree more. Faster, smoother, lighter, and again much faster. I'm 60 with an easy 20,000 miles under my belt. I upgraded the saddle because, well, I'm 60. No problem keeping up with 35 year old speedsters. Very smooth shifting. It needed tweaking due to cable stretch after 200 miles. One 100 mile ride. H2!setup is perfect for me. I'm ecstatic. I would recommend this bike to anyone.Very happy and satisfied with my purchase. It's painted flat black. My wife thinks it looks like a stolen bicycle that someone spray painted. What she doesn't know won't hurt her. It's beautiful. Two wheeler dealer really stands behind what they sell.

Similar Products Used:

Trek 5500 Postal with DuracAce, Lightspeed Titanium, Trek Madone 4.9.For most of my 25 year cycling career, I've been a Trek rider. In 1997 I bought a Trek 5200 with Ultegra components. Loved it. Two years later, I bought a Trek 5500 Postal bike with Dura Ace. That was the smoothest shifting, fastest bike I ever rode. Two years ago, I traded it in 4.9 with 105 components. Trek had come a long way with their 105s. 6000 miles later, I bought the 5.9 with Dura Ace and Cosmic Carbones. Before I made the purchase I read a review that called the 5.9 "racing royalty" . It's truly that. I couldn't agree more. Faster, smoother, lighter, and again much faster. I'm 60 with an easy 20,000 miles under my belt. I upgraded the saddle because, well, I'm 60. No problem keeping up with 35 year old speedsters. Very smooth shifting. It needed tweaking due to cable stretch after 200 miles. One 100 mile ride. H2!setup is perfect for me. I'm ecstatic. I would recommend this bike to anyone. Can't see an upgrade in the near future. Very happy and satisfied with my purchase. It's painted flat black. My wife thinks it looks like a stolen bicycle that someone spray painted. What she doesn't know won't hurt her. It's beautiful.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 24, 2013]
Jacob R
Road Racer

Strength:

The bike is fast, stiff, light and comfortable. The frame is strong in crashes as well. If you set it up with some good and stiff wheels like the Mavic Ksyrium SLS wheels or some nice carbon race wheels, you'll have one hell of a bike.

Weakness:

None that cannot be fixed. The bike should come with carbon handlebars. It could have a different paint job, but I'm not one to judge.

I have had this bike since summer of 2009. I have raced it about 50 times and have crashed 3 or 4 times since I've had it. As a junior, I searched for an affordable used bike and found this one for 1500 dollars. Since then I have replaced the handlebars, seat, and the wheels. In my mind, there is no better bike to have for the price. I absolutely love it; so much that I would hang it on my wall if it breaks. It is just that good. I received a Felt F2 with dura-ace 9000 on it for my graduation present and race bike for my time at the U of U. The Felt is a great bike but there is something that it's missing. It's just not as comfortable nor does it have the beloved classic looks that the Trek has. The trek will always be my favorite bike.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 18, 2011]
mainediver218
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Wicked light, great climber, fast, great handling, and comfortable.

Weakness:

None really so far. I did have to fiddle with the front brakes a bit to get rid of some grabbiness but this was just a shoe adjustment issue.

After many years off the road and pounding single-track with my Fuel 100 Full Suspension MTB I decided it was time to get back into road riding. I've been a Trek OCLV fan for years, particularly since they replaced my Fuel frame under warrantee, so I started looking at the road offering and settled on the Madone. I'm a pretty big guy at 192cm and 100 kg and a very aggressive rider so I needed something strong, stiff, "bulletproof", and with dialed in handling, and since I'm used to XTR quality components on my Fuel I wanted a full Dura-Ace group.

So I try a few bikes and then spy this 2007 Madone SL 5.9 on the wall at what looks to be a pretty good price and I try it out. Well, perhaps Trek's latest frame is a little "tricker" but this bike has classic looks and man, does it go. This thing climbs like crazy, accelerates like a demon, and goes exactly where you point it ... and ... it rides really well. On top of that it is unbelievably light and I you just can't beat OCLV carbon I guess because as stiff as this is I can bang out a 100km ride without feeling like I've been beaten with a bag of doorknobs. So yeah, I'm really happy with it and logging at least 250-300 km/week.

Similar Products Used:

First road bike in 20 years but avid MTB rider so although I guess I can't compare to comparable road bikes I do not how to ride and know top end gear.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 17, 2008]
Miko
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Comfortable, great handling. Warranty on frame and parts. Excellent quality, no compromises on parts. For AUD4500, I got a full Dura-Ace, excellent frame, carbon stem, carbon handle bars, carbon seat post, and super fast and light wheels.

Weakness:

Design and paint job. Other bikes look a lot better. The bike was discounted because it had the Disovery Channel paint job and it was a 2007 model. Not a big deal for me, as I am more interested in the quality of the bike than the look.

My previous bike was a Trek 5200 1999 model. The geometry and handling of the Madone 5.9SL is very similar. Both are excellent bikes. The main differences, other than price, is the lightness of the 5.9SL and the stiffness. Dura Ace shifts a bit smoother than Ultegra.

Similar Products Used:

LeMond Chamberry, Trek 5200, Felt SR25, Giant

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 07, 2007]
oakleyman
Road Racer

Strength:

Frame second to none. Whatever you want to do on this bike it does.

Weakness:

Should have a carbon bar.

This bike was a dream come true. It sprints like a rocket, climbs solidly and goes exactly where you point it. I tell people that it's like a cheap camera, point and shoot and off it goes! The OCLV ride is second to none, and I have ridden many of the competitors bikes but kept coming back to the Trek. I originally wanted a 5.2 SL, but events worked out better and got the 5.9 and have not looked back.

Similar Products Used:

Madone 5.2 SL, Argon 18 Krypton, Trek 5200.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 27, 2007]
PedalSpinner
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Bankable lifetime warranty on the frame for this freak defect. Same frame, same Andromeda colour (eventhough not a current colour at the time of the claim).

Weakness:

It did take 4 months to replace the frame but this was over the Xmas period and it had to get to Australia from the US.

See my previous review for my initial comments which still stand. This is an update review on a warranty claim.

After about 1 year, the bond between my dropout and chain stay failed while climbing out of the saddle.

Trek's answer? Repair under warranty. Confidence in my 5.9sl was a little shaken and training suffered but I kept riding for a few months until the repair also failed.

Trek's new answer for 18 month old 15,000km frame? Replacement under warranty. I'm pumped, confidence in the bike is back, training kms are up and peak fitness levels are returning- all at no financial cost.

After 2 years, I am as happy with the bike as the day I bought it. With the introduction of the new Madones, this is now a classic yet still competitive bike that I'll keep riding thanks to the frame replacement warranty.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 29, 2007]
James Osborne
Road Racer

Strength:

Fast, efficient and powerful. Non slopping top tube is superior to cramped compact geometry, it is more aero and bio mechanically it suits me better. The finish is great and quality of the ride and workmanship is second to none. This bike warrants all five stars. A real performer.

Weakness:

The only real weakness that I have noted compared to other bikes I have used; is soreness experienced in the gluteul region following long rides. This bike bears less compliance than others and thus your behind is made fully aware following long hard efforts in the saddle. However I feel that this is a small compromise for a machine that is built to go fast.

This bike was simply built for speed. I sourced the best components (within reason) and put together, a bike that will dominate in all respects. I picked the frame up for a steal through a friends sponsorship commitments.

The ride quality of this bike is absolutely amazing the rake in the fork makes the handling aggressive and the geometry provides for controlled and reliant cornering. The bottom bracket in the Madone SL is very stiff and yields the best transfer efficiency of any bike which I have ridden or raced. The rear on the Trek is perfectly engineered for fast efficient power transfer resulting in a lethal turn of speed and sprinting ability in the bike. The rear wheel stays firmly planted when the rider is out of the saddle and tearing away in the 53x11. The climbing capabilities of this bike are fantastic. The light weight of the frame and the rigidity of the bottom bracket deliver an aggressive climbing machine. The finish on the frame is impeccable. Unlike other manufacturers that merely use their frames as marketing devices Trek opts for understated Graphics which help to establish a sense of quality. The Andromeda paint scheme is very attractive. It is different to most other bikes on the market and it just looks fast.

Overall the Trek Madone 5.9sl is an amazing race bike which delivers race bike feel and race bike speed. Simply put when you put the foot down this bike goes, up hill or on the flat this is a real thoroughbred and is a joy to ride.

Similar Products Used:

Bianchi 928, Bianchi Alloy, Giant TCR carbon.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 03, 2007]
karl
Road Racer

Strength:

comfortable machine, even for the super long rides and honestly the best climbing bike I've ridden

Weakness:

Though I never notice this on the road it sure does flex in the bb on the trainer under pressure. Trek also does a piss-poor job with paint and design. However that is not a priority.
Value rating is 4 because the 5.5sl is $1500+ less with a gain of only +/-250g

I ride the hell out of this thing. I wrote a review here a long time ago on this bike and in short I simply want to restate my position on this thing. It really is a good bike. I'm 145lb and more of a climber than a sprinter and this bike is perfect. On long hauls it is very comfortable. On even the most technical high speed descents it is sure footed and crisp. For me all the stock stuff has worked out beautifully and I've had no need to switch anything. Heavier riders may be bummed out by the front flex in the race x lite wheel on standing climbs. That said I've grown to love these wheels and have had them very close to 55mph with no creepy stuff. If you like a compliant ride and enjoy the art of climbing I really do, even after 20,000 miles recommend the madone. If you want a sexier looking, less functional machine go elsewhere.

Similar Products Used:

Scott, Specialized, Schwinn, Litespeed, Merlin, Cannondale, Seven, Cervelo

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 26, 2006]
sjonesextreme
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Climbing supremicy (Seated or Standing)
Comfort, position, ergonomics.
Trek reliability and warranty.

Weakness:

Low quality stock paint on some.
Price of new SL = $1,000 Lance Tax. (My value rating is for new). If you can find a 2004 in excel. shape - buy it.
Not the lightest in the world, but very durable.

This is an update to a previous review. I just want to confirm that this is the bike! I first road the SL in 2004 and immediately fell in love. Hands down the best out of saddle climber out their. Now that I own one I can say that there are no dissapointments. I toasted my brother who's been training all summer on a final climb after about 45 miles of hilly terrain. Normally, I'm the one sucking air. The 2004 is the best looking of the bunch and comes with the Triple X front fork. Hopefully Trek with improve their stock paintwork. If you have the bucks get a project one paint job.

Similar Products Used:

Trek 5200, Cannondale, Merlin, Scott - Aluminum, Steel & Carbon.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 03, 2006]
karl
Road Racer

Strength:

race-ready and stupid light.

Weakness:

rider, still!

Already written below on this right after initial purchase so I'll keep it short. I've about 1 year and 5000 miles on my 5.9 Sl including training and racing. Bottom line is that it remains a hell of a ride, and after a couple of crashes including one nice 35mph+ dismount with company I can attest to the frames relative strength. It's a bit scratched up and has some missing paint chips but it still rides as well as the day I got it and esaily has a few more seasons in it. Components are boarderline perfect though the chains wear quickly (currently on my 3rd one). Beyond that the bike is still entirely stock. Honestly not sure it's faster than other dialed-in rides out there but it sure is light and the ride quality is terrific and comfortable, though hold on tight in high crosswinds. In any event zero regrets here. Buy one, you'll like it.

Similar Products Used:

most other top-shelf racers

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 28  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.