Fuji Bicycles Touring Touring Bike

Touring

Frame Material: Elios 2 butted chome-moly
Frame Angles: 70.0 head, 73.0 seat
Sizes: 43cm, 49cm, 54cm, 58cm, 64cm
Colors: Green
Fork: Fuji Aero Road
Rear Shock: Not applicable
Brake Levers: Shimano Tiagra STI Dual Control
Handlebar: aluminum drop bar
Stem: aluminum
Headset: 1" threadless FSA Roller Bearing
Front Der: Shimano Tiagra Triple, bottom-pull/clamp-on 28.6mm
Crankset: Cyclone Cold Forged, 30/42/52 teeth
Rear Der: Shimano Deore SGS
Pedals: Wellgo road w/clips and straps
Tires: 700 x 30c Ritchey Tom Slick

User Reviews (21)

Showing 1-10 of 21  
Martin Murphy   Commuter [Apr 25, 2016]
Strength:

Value for money,
Reliable, solid, fun
The dark green paint job looks great

Weakness:

Weight
Pedals
Not much else

I bought this for a 12 km commute (now 20km with obstacles - normally 50 mins). I wanted a steel frame bike with drop bars and panniers.
I looked at a Surly and a few others in the sports touring category but I went for this as it seemed the best value - after accessories it was 1000 euro (the max claimable on the bike to work income tax relief scheme in Ireland) and 1 year later I am still delighted with the purchase.
I see so many commuters on aluminium road bikes that seem very fragile for the varying quality road surfaces here. The larger tyres and solid feel of this bike give you a sense of confidence in all riding conditions.

Although not the fastest bike around, it is more than capable of holding it's own compared with general commuters.
The original pedals were terrible and I replaced them with SPD clips. I also put on full mudguards.

This bike is an ideal commuter, especially for longer distances across a variety of surfaces. I'm not generally interested in touring but I'm starting to consider it on this machine.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Commuter Craig   [Oct 12, 2015]
Strength:

A great do-anything bike. 64cm frame feels right for tall riders

Weakness:

Frame, fork, and handlebars

I rode a ~1990 Fuji touring bike until 2010 when the frame failed at the rear dropout. It was my one bike, and I rode it pretty hard: 2500 miles/year, commuting, century road rides, pulling a Burley and tag-along, carrying groceries, etc. I recall having to replace the factory wheels, but otherwise it was solid and all maintenance was normal wear and tear stuff -- chains, cassette, chainring, brakes. I loved that bike, so I replaced it with a new 2008 model Fuji touring. Fuji helped cover part of the cost since the broken frame was covered by a lifetime warranty.

That 2008 model did not fare well and over five years I had plenty of warranty-covered failures (and roadrash to match): handlebar sheared off, front stem ripped off at welds, fork failed and spun freely within headset, crankset and bottom bracket stripped, Finally, the frame failed at the rear dropout.

My LBS and Fuji gave me a brand new bike, a 2012 model, no charge. Who can argue with that? It's beautiful and appears to be slightly better quality than the 2008. I'll try to post another review in a few years.

Despite all the problems, I like the support that Fuji+LBS have provided and I'm happy to give it another shot. The 64cm touring frame (XXXL) fits my body (197cm/100kg) very nicely and I haven't found any other bike companies who make something similar.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Robert   Commuter [Jun 18, 2015]
Strength:

It seemed like a decent bicycle for the price.

Weakness:

The forward facing drop out for the rear wheel axle. - When I replaced the hub with a security spindle, any major torque on the rear wheel, say going up a hill, would force the rear wheel out of the drop out. This may be a problem with the chosen security spindle, but I'm still a bit leery of a directly forward facing drop out now.

Catastrophic front fork failure.

Poor response from Fuji regarding the quality of their bikes.

I use the bicycle to commute to and from work. I was on the street, going down a hill when the front fork snapped on both sides, dumping me onto the pavement on my face. When the shop I bought the bicycle from contacted Fuji, Fuji told them I was lying and that the bicycle had clearly been through a major crash involving collision with a car or curb. There was no such collision.

I purchased the bicycle new, and owned the bicycle for 18 months prior to the crash (Purchased Oct 2013, fork failureApril 2015). The bicycle has an estimated 3000km on it (approximately 2000 miles).

Do not buy this bicycle. It is only through sheer luck that the injury due to the front forks snapping was not worse. (a bit of road rash to my lower face, and a scratch that probably should have had a stitch or two in it). The forks snapped about 80% of the way through, then the remaining metal bent until the front wheel touched the frame, the frame then bent around the wheel, causing me to go up over the wheel and straight into the pavement.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Gray Hodge   Recreational Rider [Feb 05, 2015]
Strength:

Good touring bike for a reasonable price, solid, able to take a load.

Weakness:

Paint job, thin and poor. Spokes rusting after 15 months from purchase.

Good bike for those who don't want to spend $3-4000. I replaced the tires, tubes, rack, pedals for better quality. Rusting in the spokes is an issue. Saddle is passable. Feet come too close to the front wheel even thought the frame size is right.

Good entry level touring bike, but serious Tourers might want something better.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Alf Williams   [Aug 17, 2014]
Strength:

Very good value for money. Stable but still a blast to ride. Bombproof wheels and tyres. Greater than the sum of it's parts.

Weakness:

Heavy. Could do with better quality bar end shifters. Brakes are just about OK and nothing special.

After a long time away from cycling I'm using this bike for fitness and recreation but will probably tour on it next year. My normal ride before work is a 12-mile loop consisting of a 6-mile road ride, a 2-mile section through a forest which includes a bit of 'strada bianchi' and a 4-mile 'big ring' road ride back home. I had £50 worth of free accessories when I bought mine so bought SKS mudguards which look good. I was going to change the wheels for something lighter but they're proving to be bombproof and the 32c's tyres haven't given me any problems over the past four months.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
edng   [May 21, 2013]
Strength:

Stealth silent cassette
Climbs like a dream
Stable and not twitchy at speed
Great price point $1000 for the quality
Matt Gunmetal paintjob beautiful

Weakness:

Bike was shipped WITHOUT pedals and straps. Bummer

Paid US$999 to have it shipped to me in Singapore. I have the 2013 Gunmetal grey metal with red stickers. Really skinny bike compared to the alu bike I got rid of

It took almost 3 months to arrive and my LBS was advised that Fuji doesnt make the Touring frame regularly but needed to collect enough orders every couple of months before building the frames

With the rack and pedals installed weighed in at 11.2kg which was pretty light off the bat

Everything worked and the brakes are excellent stoppers although I'll swap out the pads to compound pads when they wear out

Ride is very smooth with the wheels pumped at 80psi

It climbs like a dream and on the flats, its very comfortable. Its geometry does not lend it to being nimble but its ride is extremely stable

Comment about the Oval components. Never heard of Oval before I received the bike. I had my doubts being non-Shimano and non-SRAM . So far so good.

The rear cassette is virtually silent which is a very pleasant surprise ..... coasting almost silent and the ride exudes a sense of tranquility and peacefulness when freewheeling through a park or quiet lane

Replaced the Oval saddle with my Brooks b17. The saddle absolutely complements the bike's character

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Carl Vinson   [Apr 05, 2012]
Strength:

Ride stability, weight compared to some other touring bikes.

Weakness:

I replaced the seat but that is such a matter of personal taste that it may not matter to others. Also due to an accident (operator error), I replaced the wheelset, though I do not believe any rim could have withstood the damage. Still, I had been told that someday I should replace them so that is why I gave less than 5 overall rating. Also the rear rack Fuji included was not strong enough for my normal loads.

I bought a 2008 Touring new in late 2010 so the specs are slightly different, but not much, from the current model. This was my first touring bike, though I had toured some on a mountain bike. I am very happy with the Fuji and am not really likely to ever replace it. The ride is stable, the drive train componentry is very functional and reliable. I believe it is a very good value.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Soundtallica   Commuter [Mar 23, 2012]
Strength:

Comfy. Made of steel, looks pretty and retro. Feels stiff. Light for a touring bike. Versatility - The geometry is sport-touring: slacker than a cyclocross bike but steeper than a touring bike, which makes it a good all-rounder.

Weakness:

Stock parts: Wheels have hub problems, crankset is HEAVY, square taper BB, 1" threaded steerer, saddle is tiny. Seems the BB flexes enough to cause chain rub make pedaling in the big chainring-small cog combo. Fuji brand cachet isn't as hipster as something like Surly. Paint chips easily. One of the bottle mounts on my frame is crooked. 135mm rear hub spacing. Semi-horizontal dropouts allow the rear wheel to slip sometimes.

I love this bike. Despite its many quirks and shortcomings (see weaknesses), it continues to charm me. I love that it's made of steel, is comfy, and takes almost anything I throw at it. Despite being marketed as a touring bike, the geometry is actually more sport-touring-ish, so it does everything well. I mainly use it for mixed dirt and road and long distance rides. It's relatively fast on the road, and a perfect urban-assault machine that feels at home on bike paths and fire roads. I've even thrown cyclocross knobbies on it and took it mountain biking, where the relaxed geometry makes it easier to handle on technical sections, and it never missed a beat. The sheer versatility of this thing is probably why I like it so much. This would be the bike that I keep if I were to only have one bike.

Of course, I probably only enjoyed the bike this much after major modifications. The bike was 28 pounds stock, which is good for a touring bike but heavy for anything else. I switched to a threadless headset (improved steering stiffness), switched to good old Open Pro wheels, took the rack off (may use it later though) and switched to a lighter crankset and BB. These modifications dropped it to 23 pounds, which is pretty respectable.

Similar Products Used: My road bike
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Ray Lovinggood   Commuter [Dec 29, 2011]
Strength:

Geometry and smooth ride really make me smile. The factory rear rack is great and the stock saddle gets along just fine with my butt.

Weakness:

The brakes. They always felt weak to me. Granted, my only other bike experience is EXTREMELY limited, but I do like the 105 brakes on my road bike and even the old Fuji Regis that the Touring replaced had better brakes. I complained every time I saw the bike shop owner. Finally, after only 860 miles, the pads were worn out and he replaced the stock Tektro's with a different design Tektro's. They are better, but still won't stop the bike like the 105's on my road bike.

I bought this bike to serve as my commuter, not as a "Touring" bike, but the machine rides so nicely that I'm giving the idea of actually touring some thought. I believe mine is a 2011 model. It has the "quill" style stem and bar end shifters.

After looking unsuccessfully for a used bike that "looked right", was the right size, and had provisions for a rack, I ended up buying this bike new. On the test ride and for the first week or two, it felt quite odd with the 175mm cranks and overall geometry as compared to my other bikes. I didn't quite like it. But now, I love it.

I've purchased SKS fenders and hope to install them soon.

My daily commute totals only 14.5 miles, broken into two legs in the morning and two in the afternoon, with a 30 mile bus ride separating the legs. The longest leg of the commute is only 6 miles, but I must say, it is a sweet 6 miles!

I have ridden it on a few "road rides" with the longest being 50 miles and I was quite pleased with all of the rides.

With the longer cranks and lower BB as compared to my road bike and even the older commuter, I had to realize that I couldn't power through the curves as I had previously, lest I bury the low pedal into the pavement and "high side" my body. So now, I just coast through corners.

I'm very pleased with this bike. It has made my commute even more enjoyable.

Similar Products Used: Don't have a similar product.
Road Bike: Fuji Roubaix ACR 2.0
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
wade   Commuter [Dec 22, 2011]
Strength:

despite what i read about gearing issues with this bike when loaded ive never had any promblems with this bike and i live in north alabama around mountain after mountain but every rider is different i carry an average of 51 lbs of gear in bags going up and down hills and sometimes im walking the bike but i think thats from exhaustion and not the gears. other times ive pedaled all the way to top of steep grade with out ever stopping or discomfort i am by no means a powerful cyclist either.

Weakness:

ihave no complaints.

the best bike i have ever dreamed of .does good with loaded gt54 bags and gt18 bags and of course some more good stuff strapped on top of that. overall good ride for long distance expeditions and for running to town.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 21  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.