Cervelo P2 Carbon Triathlon Bike

Cervelo P2 Carbon Triathlon Bike 

DESCRIPTION

Cervelo P2 Ultegra 2013: A development of our first triathlon/TT bike, this bike has grown to become the world?s most popular triathlon bike. While being a great value it offers pure triathlon geometry and a stellar pedigree including...

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 16  
[Jun 11, 2014]
Frank TRI05
Triathlete

Strength:

Great looking bike, where ever I go with this bike people comment on it. I paid 2,100.00 for the 2013 6 months ago and added pedals and saddle to it, I have not invested any more money on it. I would like to get nice wheels for my P2 but I am afraid I will pay more for the wheels than the bike. So far after about 700 miles the bike is great.

Weakness:

The only part I replaced was the saddle, could not stand it more than 10 miles, got a ISM Prologue. Best investment ever

Overall a great TRI bike, this is my first TRI bike and it is a keeper.
I would recommend the P2 not only for the price or looks but for its great performance.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 25, 2014]
thorsdad
Road Racer

Strength:

Value - P3 performance for pennines on the dollar. Multiple positions for saddle provide versatility. You can go from an age-grouper ironman setup to a short TT setup in 15 minutes. The shape is gorgeous and performance is stellar.

Weakness:

Running the shifter cables is an exercise in patience and creative profanity. Rear wheel swapping with the horizontal dropouts is a challenge, but not unique to this model, just to many TT bikes.

Built this from a bare frame. Aside from the teeny tiny exit hole for the shifter cables, the build went well. Acceleration is outstanding. High-speed cornering on a TT bike is never fun, but handling was quite good regardless. Positioning is versatile with the 2-position post. Overall, this was an excellent value and the performance is proven with multiple Kona victories!

Similar Products Used:

Cervelo P3, Specialized Transition

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 02, 2010]
geoffs.online
Triathlete

Strength:

Solid ride with low flex, price, fit my body well

Weakness:

Paint, Vision break levers are uncomfortable...you can use them to slice a tin can

Loved this bike. Although, the aerobar extenders that came with it snapped on me during ride. Warranty covered it...ended up being a Vision issue, which were replaced. For some reason the paint seemed to chip off easy.

Similar Products Used:

08 Madone - Road

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 04, 2009]
trimalo
Triathlete

Strength:

speed, comfort

Weakness:

Quality of the painting maybe

Great bike, very aerodynamic, fast , responsive, comfortable, cheaper thanother bikes for what it is.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 23, 2009]
thekidd100
Triathlete

Strength:

Super fast acceleration and comfortable ride. Great bike for the price!

Weakness:

Not a big fan of the Vision brake levers. Upgraded to Cane Creek Carbon levers and better leverage/better braking.

Previously rode a P2SL and loved the upgrade to carbon with Dura Ace components. Great climbing bike.

As always, a bike purchase comes with a free fitting which is second to none!

Similar Products Used:

P2SL

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 29, 2008]
dvhaeg
Triathlete

Strength:

Great all-around carbon bike in the $2K price category. Fit my body well. Nice all-around grouppo - ultegra is solid.
You could pay wayyyy more and not get much more.

Weakness:

Aerobar weld snapped - product defect.

Bought this bike when I finally got serious about triathlons. 2008 Ultegra model. Everything was stock, except the Mavic Aksiums that I insisted replace the shoddy Shimano R500 wheels. I was riding a sweet steel Lemond Malliot Jaune w/ aerobars, and that seemed to be fine. Well, I'm glad I didn't wait any longer - this thing kicks butt. If it fits your body, get it. Light, smooth, fast. I put about 2000 miles on it this summer, and never had a mechanical issue - except one. The aerobar weld broke, and my LBS said it was a product defect they'd seen before. Beyond that little thing, the bike performed flawlessly. Shifts smoothly and easily. Carbon frame performs like it should - I miss like "live" feel of a steel bike, but on a tri bike, you shouldn't do much time out of the saddle. Light weight and bump absorption are key when you're tucked and cranking. My average speed over a 25 mile race went from 21 to 24mph. This will serve me well for years. If you have the means, I highly recommend picking one up.

Similar Products Used:

Road bike - Lemond Malliot Jaune

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 10, 2008]
tmoulton0223
Triathlete

Strength:

Quick Power when stepping on the pedals and strong hill climber! Sliced the wind on the down hill run. Smooth ride on a 3 mile length that is was a pain before.

Weakness:

None--quick handler, which I am already getting used to.

I was riding a hybrid bike before purchasing the P2C-All I can say is WOW! Rode the past 2 days 26 miles and 30 miles and moved from the middle of the pack to finishing 1st and in the top 5 with tons of energy left during our club rides! Hills were a breeze and allowed me to easily pass others. Cruised 43 mph on a down hill run and still had more.

Similar Products Used:

Diamond Back and Trek

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 17, 2008]
daddygopast
Triathlete

Strength:

Stiffness, lightweight, price, looks

Weakness:

None that I can find besides seat hurting after a few hours

2008 Cervelo P2C with Ultegra. Bike is amazingly stiff and light. Has great handling and acceleration even with the stock wheels. Biggest upgrade was a set of Zipp 404's that make the bike even faster. Overall ride is super smooth. Would have liked carbon cranks and base bar but was just happy to get the bike, can upgrade later. Stock seat is fine for up to 40 miles but gets hard after that. Had a great 2006 Cervelo Dual so I knew the P2C would just as good and better. Had a perfect bike fit from Vern Lamere at T3 MultiSport.

Similar Products Used:

Cervelo Dual, Trek 2300.
Test rode a comparable Quintana Roo

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 02, 2008]
Miles
Triathlete

Strength:

Stiff frame
Price
Weight: 20.6 lbs with no water bottle
Fast response-it explodes off the line when you need it to.

Weakness:

Brake levers rattle (used electrical tape to stop it)
Finish on frame (mass manufacturing in china left little burrs on the frame around the seat post
Factory wheels. (purely from an aesthetical point of view)
Factory seat. Get rid of it ASAP

Was a big fan of Trek prior to going to cervelo. My last bike was an 03 trek 1200 with many km's on it. Switched over to the p2c last march. This is an awesome bike and the price point can't be beat.
I opted for the black/silver frame with a dura ace build and FSA carbon crank. This bike is stiff stiff stiff and fast fast fast. The carbon absorbs road vibrations with no complaints. Regardless of what bike you choose, make sure you get it fitted, because that more than anything will determine how much you enjoy/hate your ride.
If you buy this bike, you're investing your money where it counts: aero frame, and drivetrain. Why cervelo can offer such a competitive price point is b/c of the lower end components such as the braking system.

Similar Products Used:

Trek 1200 (2003)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 08, 2008]
Derek Stone
Triathlete

Strength:

Not a bad price
only needs race wheels

Weakness:

Price is still high for a college kid but I paid it without complaints

Love the bike, it is more than I thought it would be. I had a trek 1000 before this and I can not believe the difference a bike can make.

Similar Products Used:

trek 1000

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 16  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.