Ascent 4 Line Wireless Computers

Ascent 4 Line Wireless Computers 

DESCRIPTION

See more information in a single view with the 4 lines of display on the Ascent 4LW; track time, distance and speed all in a single glance at the display screen. It’s wireless, too. Additional features: Speed (Current / Average / Max), Trip Distance, Odometer, Trip Timer, Clock, Speed comparator (Pace indicator), Speed tendency, and power saving Auto Sleep. Fits standard or oversized bars.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-9 of 9  
[Sep 30, 2010]
elinor johnson
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Easy to install

Weakness:

Not reliable

ascent wireless 9 cycle computer was in use for approximately 6 mo. it quit working. We installed new batteries and the same problem continued. We are now out the price of the computer and the expense of new batteries.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[May 13, 2009]
John
Recreational Rider

Strength:

none

Weakness:

display

peice of junk instructions are worthless i feel cheated

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Nov 12, 2007]
andynash
Commuter

Strength:

easy instalation

Weakness:

interferes with headlight
no product support
doesn't work

POS The instalation was easy. When I used my headlight on flashing mode it interfered with the wireless signal (the computer thought that I was going about 75 mph). The instructions were poor and there's no web support that I could find. After a short time it stopped working altogether. Again, there seems to be no product support or warranty on this piece of junk.

Similar Products Used:

Sigma

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
[Aug 21, 2007]
Orlando A Izquierdo
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Price, Display

Weakness:

Piece of yunk!!!!

I bougth the computer for my new mountain bike. Install on the Fox fork with the straps was not difficult but as soon as I set the computer; 2091, the hour and so, turn the wheel and surprise: few revolutions and read 75 mph. What? move the transmiter back and forth, 1or 2 mm gap, start all over. I can't have the correct reading. I'm frustating! Don't buy.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jun 16, 2007]
Jeremy
Recreational Rider

Strength:

large display, price, safe for traffic

Weakness:

no back light, worthless instructions, limited to front wheel use

This is a great recreation computer. It was easy enough to install on my bike. the 4 line display is large enough to read without taking your eyes off the road too long. However, the instructions wee useless. I don't like that the receiver and sending unit have to be within 2 feet of each other to work. The 1-2 mm gap was a little close for comfort. I also wish it had a backlight feature.

Similar Products Used:

specialized wired

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Apr 18, 2007]
aaron
Triathlete

Strength:

large display, Price, wireless

Weakness:

installation, magnet to transmitter distance

Not bad for the price, The distance from the magnet to the computer is only 2mm and it is hard to get that on my bike, so there were problems there. Installing is hard, the instructions are worless, but easy to figure out on your own. Not too bad though, Ill use it more to see if it get better.

Similar Products Used:

none

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Feb 02, 2007]
David
Recreational Rider

Strength:

-CHEAP
-Wireless

Weakness:

-CHEAP
-terrible instructions
-Won't work on rear wheel

Picked this up at Nashbar on sale. The price was great for a full wireless computer. The unit has worked well for me, and I was able to determine how to reset trip odometer WITHOUT reseting anything else. I also determined how to set or change the clock without reseting the odometer, but it took me a while to do and the "manual" was worthless. Pick-up distance to the manet is crucial, 1-2mm sounds right, anymore and it will be erroneous. My biggest complaints are that the pick-up will not work if you want to run it on the rear wheel, I guess it is too far from the unit to transmit. That makes it a real bummer when I am using my trainer. Due to that I am going back to my old wired Sigma Sport with the rear wheel pick-up.

Similar Products Used:

Too many...

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 29, 2006]
tomculb
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Good display.

Weakness:

No auto-on; hard to reset odometer

Nice display and convenient to get the info you want; BUT two big problems: First, it shuts off after about 3 or 4 minutes, and there is no auto-on feature, so if you stop for a break, you have to remember to turn it back on or you lose data. Second, if you want to reset the odometer because of the first problem, you have to reset everything. The instructions tell you how to reset just the odometer, but if you follow them, you reset the clock, not the odometer. In short, a pretty shoddy product.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Sep 03, 2005]
queche
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Nice layout, big display, battery saving,

Weakness:

maybe not for road bikes

A nice buy in general, big display with a nice layout. The installation took more than usuall because of confusing in the manual, the pictures could have been better. Do no about other wireless computers, but the space between the magnet and the computer should be 1-3mm. With three I noticed interuptions so the prefered would be 1-2mm and thats a bit to close i think. Because of thebig display with all info available without "browsing" around makes it a safe & tranquile journey. This computer is perfect for the MTB, touring etc. and there is better ones for race, road.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-9 of 9  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.