CatEye Astrale Computers

CatEye Astrale Computers 

DESCRIPTION

Cateye Astrale

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 38  
[Aug 27, 2010]
timtak
Triathlete

Strength:

Does all you neeed for very little money. Mounts on back wheel for training.

Weakness:

Top and bottom of case are glued together.

Classic cheap cycle computer that did all I need (except perhaps a backlight).

Worked well then became flaky. See (1) for a solution.

There are three problems
1)The top and bottom of the case are glued together. When the unit gets old/bumped the top and bottom seperate slightly so the electronics inside no longer touch the contacts. SOLUTION: crack open the case along the seam and re-glue using epoxy (A & B type-mix) glue putting the unit in a vice while setting.

I bet there are a lot of old Astrale computers hanging around that could be mended in this way.

2) Unit to contacts. Make sure contacts are clean. Purchase an Astrale 8 harness if you can get your hands on one.

3) The wires. Same with any other wired computer. I soldered and mended my wires. Try insulating tape to protect wires from clips and make sure there is enough wire at the handle end so that you are not pulling on the wires when you turn!

Compatible with newer Astrale 8 which can still be purchased second hand and the harnesses are compatible.

Similar Products Used:

Other cateyes

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 12, 2009]
fred gauvin
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Reliable.

Weakness:

Ugly and modes are not very intuitives.

Well, I just replaced the battery on my cateye Astrale, and I had a shock.

ITS 17 years OLD !!!

Hard to say that this is not reliable...

Similar Products Used:

None.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 20, 2008]
daneellaw
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Easy to navigate and easy to read.

Weakness:

Stopped working properly after only 1000 miles.

I've had this for about 1500 miles, and it worked great for about 1000 miles, then started to get flaky. It periodically stops reading MPH, so I have to stop it and restart to get it going. What a pain in the butt!

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jan 14, 2008]
DarthWoody
Road Racer

Strength:

Simple, works.

Weakness:

Plastic tab on handlebar mount broke, but electrical contacts keeps unit in position and functioning. Would rate a 5 if tab hadn't broken

A fine cyclometer with wired speed and cadence. Rugged, lasted 6000 miles last year, same battery.

Similar Products Used:

a cheapo bell unit

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 15, 2007]
mkauffman
Recreational Rider

Strength:

I loved the cadence on it, other then that the features are all pretty standard.

Weakness:

It did not last like I would have liked. I wanted an accurate reading of my mileage for the year, but no such luck.

I loved this computer for its first 2000 miles. From then on, it became a fickle little beast. The speedometer and cadence continually shut off requiring me to adjust the computer in its cradle until it sits perfectly. This adjustment works until I hit a bump. Now at about 5000 miles, it does not work at all. I cannot convince the thing to read anything. Even after cleaning all of the connections and whatnot, the computer remains worthless for anything but the current time. My room mate has had similar troubles, the cadence completely stopped working on his so he ended up cutting off the cadence wire. His speedometer still works.

Similar Products Used:

Planet Bike 9

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Nov 08, 2006]
Deerhaven111
Recreational Rider

Strength:

-Reliable
-Inexpensive
-Doesn't have above/below arrows - I hate those little tyrants.

Weakness:

Wires I suppose.

I've used lots of computers - from very basic to the Hac4 but keep coming back to the Astrale. I'm not sure why the one reviewer couldn't get auto-off to work - does for me. Also, these things keep working and working and working. The one on my commuter bike is 15 years old and has gone through heat/rain/snow. Keeps working. True, the wires are a bit annoying but for the money these can't be beat.

Similar Products Used:

Many

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 22, 2006]
giossr
Recreational Rider

Strength:

I love the simplicity. Only two buttons - one to start & stop, and one to cycle through the different pieces of info.

Weakness:

The one major weakness I see in this product is its lack of auto-stop (i.e. stops the timer when you are not moving, like at a traffic light). I would like an altimeter too, but I don't expect that on a unit in this price range. Also, I got caught in a thunderstorm once, and it has never quite worked properly since.

This product has max speed, average speed, actual speed, elapsed time, trip distance, persistent odometer (for those of you who like to keep track of the total miles on your bike), and cadence. I think there might be a clock in there too, but I never look at that.

Similar Products Used:

avocet, a long time ago

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 19, 2006]
tkjacobs
Road Racer

Strength:

Dependable
Cadence

Weakness:

Only 2 pieces of information shown at once.

I've just bought this computer, but I used the CatEye Astrale for 4 years on a previous bike.
The ONLY reason I bought this computer is that my PlanetBike 9.0 didn't have cadence.

Well, that's the only redeeming feature of the new Astrale.

Once you get all of the information at once from the Planet Bike you are spoiled.

It's so annoying to have to scroll through screens just to see your elapsed time, distance, and average.
With the Planet Bike 9.0 it's all there at once.

Plus, the cateye doesn't even have an above or below average indicator???

For now I'm going to run both computers at the same time, but the only reason I'm keeping the cateye on is for cadence, period. Otherwise it's the exact same Astrale they've made for years.
A different display would make this computer a knockout, but as it sits I can't stand it.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 10, 2006]
cowboycramer
Road Racer

Strength:

Cadence feature was nice

Weakness:

Everything breaks. Cheap quality. Screen is to small to read.

This product is junk. I've had it three months and I've had nothing but problems with it. 1st the speed sensor went out, the plastic shell broke. So I taped it back together, Next the cadence stopped reading (not because of sensor placement) and then the computer mount broke. I am not hard on my equipment but I have had nothing but failure after failure with this one.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized, Polar.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jan 06, 2006]
vandeda
Commuter

Strength:

-Has been extremely durable for me -Cheap -Just flat out works well in just about all conditions -10k miles on original battery, that seems pretty good to me.

Weakness:

-Wires ... OK, so the wires are annoying, and quite thin & fragile looking. -A backlight like my new Cateye double wireless would be nice since I do so much riding at night time

I'm surprised this thing still works. It's fallen off my bike at least 3 times now (and I feel fortunate it wasn't run over each time as it cars came darn close to running the poor thing over), has seen temperatures down into the mid to low teens and has seen torrential downpours. I can't say how pleased I'm with this computer for the fact that I cannot kill it. For me, the computer has worked, and worked well. I love the cadence feature, which was my main motivation to buy it. I love this computer. The only drawback is it's wired, so I'm giving their double wireless computer a try. Hopefully it'll work as well as my Astrale has worked.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 38  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.