Planet Bike Protege 8.0 Cyclocomputer Computers

Planet Bike Protege 8.0 Cyclocomputer Computers 

DESCRIPTION

Planet Bike 8.0 Protege Computer features a four-line, easy-to-read macromonitor LCD display provides upTo five pieces of data at a glance. Mode changing is easy: pushThe computer forward inThe spring loaded bracket andThe computer isThe button. Auto start/stop and LCD shut off Heavy-duty, oversized wire harness and ultrasonically welded case ensure a durable, weatherproof unit Fits handlebars 25.4-26.0mm Current speed Speed comparator RideTimeTrip distance Dual odometer (for 2 wheel sizes) Aver

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 13  
[Jan 11, 2009]
ChazMan428
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Easy to read
Water resistant
Durable
easy to use
Overall great value

Weakness:

no illumination for riding at night/early morning

I LOVE THIS COMPUTER!!! In reading some of the others reviews I noticed they are older, so thought I'd give more current info. I've not had any sensor problems or any problems with it whatsoever. I've ridden through a heavy rain with it and no problem. I had been using the 5.0 model but it didn't give me the info I wanted. However, the mounts are the same so the new computer fit into the mount for 5.0 no sweat! The mounting hardware didn't fit my handlebar but clever use of velcro fixed that. There are four settings to cycle through and two of them are odometer readouts. One of them is digital clock so no need to wear a watch. Current speed, ride timer (which automatically stops when you stop and continues when you do)and ride distance are ALWAYS displayed, along with up or down arrows to show if you are currently above or below your average speed. One thing I like about it is that you can slide it out of the mount slightly (to disconnect from the terminals) when you don't want to collect data, such as a warm-up or warm down session, or other slow-downs that would effect average speed. It's easy to read and does everything I want. The best way to calibrate is to inflate the front tire to riding pressure, measure the circumference, convert to millimeters and input that number into the computer. The reference numbers that come with the instructions probably won't work because all tires expand differently when inflated. High-mileage riders may want to recalibrate every 500 miles or so as the tire wears because it will become slightly smaller.

Similar Products Used:

Planet Bike 5.0

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 15, 2008]
meeshu
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Displays most parameters on screen simultaneously without having to push a button to scroll through various parameters like on other computers.
Very good price!

Weakness:

Computer plastic case does not appear to be durable and might not survive a good knock or fall on a hard surface.
One sensor did not work right out of the box!? Wondering about the quality and reliability of these computers.

Purchased two of these computers (to minimize shipping costs, and to have one computer as a backup in case the first computer fails).
I like the idea of having most parameters displayed (like this computer does) without having to manually scroll through parameters.
It was fortunate that I ordered two computers as one computers' sensor unit didn't work. This was disappointing.
Although I prefer computers to display most(all) parameters simultaneously like this computer, I probably will NOT buy another Protege 8.0 computer, given the questionable quality and reliability.

Similar Products Used:

Cateye and Sigma.
Both brands are generally reliable and durable. But, both require manual scrolling in order to view all parameters.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 11, 2006]
dogmeat
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Just the info I need in an inexpensive, nice looking easy to use package. So easy to install and set up.

Weakness:

No backlite

Just what I need, with no extra crap. I can read the display without my glasses on. I've had it in the rain, and had no troubles. For $24 bucks, I wouldn't bother swapping the unit to another bike. I have a cat-eye for the bike on my trainer with cadence-- ICK! OK, I got cadence- but who needs that on a road bike? Wireless? Who cares, it's one cable wrapped around your brake cable housing- looks cool.

Similar Products Used:

Cateye

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 13, 2005]
davido8
Road Racer

Strength:

Nice display. Good price.

Weakness:

It doesn't work

When I first bought this computer I was really pleased. The display is very large and the numbers are quite visible. The problems started to occur when I began using it. The manual says that you can use it on two bikes but when I would swith the computer over to my mountain bike the computer would recet. This happened a lot. Then when I was on a 50 miler the computer just pooped out. I was going 40 downhill but it said that I going 5. My magnet was lined up and everything. Now its working again this week. I can't figure it out.

Similar Products Used:

Cat Eye 8

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Mar 19, 2004]
tizatron
Cross Country Rider

Strength:

Easy to use, accurate, clear display.

Weakness:

None

Great Computer. This is one of the best peices of bike kit that I bought. Realtively cheap, low profile design, single display gives all the information you could want. Displays average speed, nice see if your averages improve on the same loop or climb. Displays max speed. Check how fast on the descent. Most computers offer these functions but this computer splashes all that data on the one screen. I see other guys scrolling through menus, what a hassle. Bought a second wiring harness for the Mountain Bike. odo measures miles on each bike seperately or total. Does everything it should in a simple well built package.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 16, 2003]
Lee Beckler
Cross Country Rider

Strength:

This is neither a heart rate monitor nor a cadence counter. It is a basic computer that does exactly what it was designed for. Easy to read and easy to use. Great idea on getting rid of the buttons!

Weakness:

Ultrasonically welded to be completely weatherproof??? I don't think so. If I ride in heavy fog, the computer goes blank or the screen is scrambled. I recently got caught in the rain and the Protege 8.0 had to be buried. I was hoping the 9.0 would resolve this problem but the reviews don't look promising. If Planet Bike someday accomplishes the task of a weather proof system like the Protege, I will be back.

The Protege line is exactly what I want. I find myself tearing through traffic and love the fact that I can change from one screen of info to the next just by bumping the computer with my thumb. Great concept.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 18, 2003]
irishenglish
Recreational Rider

Strength:

No buttons to push.

Weakness:

Sometimes I can bike all day and not have any problems. Then other days, it just goes blank for a few minutes or a few hours. When it eventually decides to start working again, all of the settings are scrambled. I liked the design of this thing so well, I bought two of them. One with temperature and one without. They both have the same problem with going blank and then resetting. The temperature readings never were accurate, even when the rest of the computer was working.

Great design, just poorly built. I have given up on mine. I bought the a second one hoping that the first one was just bad luck. Unfortunately, it had exactly the same problem. I hate pushing buttons while biking, so I am hoping someday someone will make a computer like this, only it works.

Similar Products Used:

Cateye

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jun 08, 2003]
EPIC ERIC
Cross Country Rider

Strength:

Why didn't anyone do this before? Replacing the buttons with more data! It isn't hard for the eyes to find what they're looking for. You can read the clock while riding. Easy to setup. Durable cable. No cadence, but, watching the timer, if you do one and a half revolutions in a second, that's 90 rpm.

Weakness:

The tenth of the mile is only approximate for current, max, and average speeds, which seem to change by .2 to .6 mph increments. The speed readout updates every couple seconds. My Cateye got a more accurate reading every wheel revolution or two. It's not a major problem, but your maximum speed occurs for only a monent, and this computer may miss that. There's no reason the average speed should jump, for example, from 13.9 to 14.2 - division isn't hard to do. There is no option to manually start and stop the timer - you get time only while the wheel is spinning.

A great idea. Worth getting. Maybe the minor flaws will get fixed in a future version.

Similar Products Used:

Cateyes

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 16, 2002]
jima9426
Cross Country Rider

This is a follow up to my previous review. Upon further reflection, I realize I was a bit over enthusiastic in my rating. After some reflection, I feel that no cyclocomputer, that does not have a cadence feature deserves a 5-star rating, regardless of well it functions otherwise. Furthermore, since my original review, I have had a disappointing encounter with PlanetBike's customer service department. Therefore I am adjusting my original rating. I am entering a 3 now so that my net overall rating will be a 4 – a value that I think is more fair and accurate.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 03, 2002]
jima9426
Cross Country Rider

Strength:

Water/weatherproof, no buttons to fumble around with, accurate, easy to read, small and nearly inconspicuous, four lines of info on the display.

Weakness:

I would like to see a model with a cadence sensor. It's one of the reasons I started shopping for another brand. And the magnet might be a tad heavy, but nothing you would notice while riding.

This might very well be the most underrated and overlooked cyclocomputer the market. To those of you who have complained about the awkwardness of fumbling around with buttons on other brands, this computer is for you. I have owned it for nearly a year and have occasionally convinced myself that there is a better unit out there (especially when my vanity get the best of me at events). But I have always put this computer back on the bike. But after catching a gimpse at mine, I have even seen other riders show up at the event with a Protege. There is a rear wheel sensor/harness haravailable (130cm wire) that can be mounted it on your seatstay or chainstay so you can use it on a resistence trainer.

Similar Products Used:

Sigma, Avocet, Cateye

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 13  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.