Planet Bike Protg 9.0 Cyclocomputer Computers

Planet Bike Protg 9.0 Cyclocomputer Computers 

DESCRIPTION

Planet Bike Protege 9.0 Wireless Computer

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 21  
[May 30, 2011]
tony
Recreational Rider

Strength:

big screen

Weakness:

doesnt work after short period

terrible product. first one started misreading 6 mos into use. ordered 2nd and that one started misreading one month into use. dont waste your money on this.

Similar Products Used:

cateye

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Apr 02, 2010]
strohman
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Easy to use while riding.
Easy to read with its big display.
Very affordable.

Weakness:

None really, but I wish it were wireless!

I got lucky when I picked this computer. It has a nice sized display and it gives plenty of information, including time, time of ride, distance, speed, average speed, and total miles for your whole season. It also gives you the temperature, but that can be a little off at times. It's easy to read and easy to operate. On top of all of that, it's a great deal! Why spend $100 or more when this works so well for a fraction of the price. I used my first Protege 9.0 for 2 years, then when I upgraded my bike, I left it on there and bought a new one for my new bike. I have had this one for 2 years and I just replaced the battery yesterday, but the Protege is still going strong!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 04, 2010]
CircaRigel
Road Racer

Strength:

Accuracy
easy setup
ease of use
durability

Weakness:

inaccurate temperature readings if left standing in sun

I used the wired version many years ago and for many years when I was a triathlete, and even as I was starting my training for the Triple Bypass. I never had any issues with it. It was simple to use and easy to read, and its accuracy was superb, although after 13 years the display had darkened some. Temperature readings tended to be off if the bike was out left standing in the sun, but that wasn't really what I considered an essential function. It was certainly better than the wireless Ascent Delta I replaced it with (and am now trashing)... so much better that one really can't compare.

Similar Products Used:

Ascent Delta
Vetta C15

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 27, 2008]
cgk
Recreational Rider

Strength:

relatively easy to set up, cheap

Weakness:

Not very waterproof - computer shorted-out from sweat dripping on it. Very easy to accidentally reset. Occasionally stops working for no apparent reason

Although this product works reasonably well at times, it has some undesirable traits. The method of scrolling through the data (pushing the computer) can often result in an accidental reset of your ride data (very frustrating). It is also not very waterproof. On occasion, it has stopped working when exposed to even a slight amount of moisture. Had to completely dry out (2days) before it was working again. Temperature feature is not very useful because it is only accurate when not in direct sunlight. I decided to replace this computer with something more reliable after I lost all of my ride data half way through a double century ride.

Similar Products Used:

cateye, sigma

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jul 25, 2008]
Scott Cater
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Dependability, easy ro read, easy setup

Weakness:

Temperature gauge is not accurate in direct sun

After trying 3 different VDO computers and finding all of them to be buggy, I gave the Planet a try. I am very pleased with the performance so far. It shows lots of info and is easy to read. Set up was not too difficult compared with others I have used. It releases easily from the mount via a button and in general seems to be well made. I've put 1500 miles on it and it has not been buggy at all. The info display is large and easy to read. I found the temp gauge to be more of a gimmick than useful, but it's fairly accurate as long as it's not in direct sunlight. Overall I love this thing and hope that it keeps up the flawless performance.

Similar Products Used:

VDO

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 17, 2007]
commutebybike
Commuter

Strength:

easy to switch modes, large screen easy to read, multi bike with separate stats.

Weakness:

Tempermental setup, thermometer inaccurate.

I used this computer on my recumbent for two years without incident. It survived driving rain, snow, and blazing heat without fault. The only problem I have had with it came when I set it up for a second bike. Although I set up the Wheel Circumference for both bikes, the setting for Bike1 was always used despite switching to Bike2. This was obvious when a metric century I rode recorded 44 miles and the speed displayed was slow. The only way I solved it was to remove and replace the battery, and re-enter both bike's settings. Switching bikes has recorded accurately since.

Similar Products Used:

Cateye Astrale, Vetta

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jun 29, 2007]
fancy pants
Recreational Rider

Strength:

wireless

Weakness:

It doesn't work reliably

I got this computer put on my new road bike and it stopped working after three weeks.
I took it off to return it to the store and the plastic attachment for the handlebar broke.
I received a new one and it also stopped working in just a week.

Similar Products Used:

Cateye Enduro

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Feb 03, 2007]
RoadLoad
Commuter

Strength:

Has temperature, easy to read, pushing the whole unit forward while riding is a good system for switching between screens - it doesn't require taking your eyes off the road or concentation to switch between screens.

They can be found cheap on the internet - i.e., easy to replace.

Weakness:

Reliability. Changing the battery results in losing all your data and having to reset it all.

I bought this computer because of the high ratings, heavy weight materials and features (thermometer - I commute in the winter).

I has never been the same since I went through a light rain last summer. Since then it has regularly decided to simply stop working?

Initially, all it took to get it back running was taking out the battery and putting it back in. While a simple enough measure, in doing so, I also would have to reset my mileage, wheel size, clock, etc (= big hassle).

As of last week it crapped out again (5th or 6th time since the summer) and even with a new battery it totally stopped functioning on my ride to work the other day.

Will I buy another - yup, because it has all the features I'm looking for and it can be found cheap on the internet. At $20 I thought I was getting a deal on a highly rated computer. I'm now thinking at $20, I got what I paid for, its good for a year and when it stops working I throw it out and get a new one - no fuss, no muss.

Similar Products Used:

Ascent, Cateye (a number of them), Polar.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
[Apr 18, 2006]
pencildragon
Recreational Rider

Strength:

see above - it sure looks nice

Weakness:

see above - Ig you have 31c carbon handlebars, this product is not for you

This is more of a caveat emptor than a review. It really looks like a nice product, but hardware only fits 28c handlebars, and I couldn't find an adapter to get it out to 31c. There is noting on the manufacturers site, the eBay description, or the packaging to tell you it about this sizing limitation.. If it fits your bike, trust the other reviews. I am giving it a low value rating only because it was useless to me and there was no way an otherwise informed consumer could figure it out.

Similar Products Used:

Schwinn, Catseye

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jul 03, 2005]
carioca
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Weatherproof design Dummie proof no-button operation Large, informative display with four lines of data Can be used on two bikes with different wheels sizes Cheap! Simple, proven wired isntallation Reliable mounting system

Weakness:

Unreliable temperature display Display fades under extremely low temperatures No cadence!

This is a great product. It allows the user to use it on two deifferent bikes, so I bought an extra mounting harness and used it on my mountain bike and road bike. I used it during the Korean winter (very cold and snowy) and summer (very hot and muggy) and the only thing that ever didn't work properly was the thermometer. Everything on this computer is very reliable. The clock will drift a few seconds a month but that's no big deal. Under extremely low temperatures (-20 Fahrenheit) the display looks weak even with new batteries, but when the temps clib it gets better. I went through one monsoon season with tons of rain and the computer worked day in day out. It never stopped working. I only replaced it on my road bike because I wanted a computer with cadence, so I installed a Sigma BC1600. The mountain bike still has the Protege 9.0 and it still works great everyday.

Similar Products Used:

Cheapie Bell computers Sigma BC1600 Vetta and Cateye computers

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 21  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.