Sigma Sport BC 1606 L Cycle Computer W/ Cadence Computers

BC 1606 L Cycle Computer W/ Cadence

The Sigma BC 1606 L Cycle Computer W/ Cadence provides a better overview of the essential information during your ride. The backlight gives optimal readability of this information even in the dark. The Sigma BC 1606 L Cycle Computer W/ Cadence features an integrated storage chip that prevents the loss of set values during battery change as features such trip section counter, timer, and second wheel size are programmable. Includes wired cadence.

General functions
* Language setting, 7 languages
* LCD backlight
* Low battery indicator
* Backup function/through saving chip
* Two wheel sizes adjustable
* Clock and model name in standby

Bike functions

* Actual speed
* Average speed
* Comparison of actual and average speed
* Maximum speed
* Trip distance
* Programmable trip section counter
* Total distance bike 1
* Total distance bike 2
* Total distance bike 1+2
* Actual cadence
* Average cadence

Time functions
* Clock
* Stop watch
* Riding time
* Total riding time - bike 1
* Total riding time - bike 2
* Total riding time - bike 1+2
* Programmable time meter (countdown timer

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
Mark   Commuter [Jul 25, 2013]
Strength:

Just works, whatever the conditions. I've tried a few others, wired and wireless and end up returning to this simple, robust computer. The batteries last forever, there are no issues with interference, the display is easy to read. I commute year round and this computer has never had any issues no matter what the weather.

The trickiest part of mounting the computer is getting the crank magnet solidly mounted. Its easy on cranks with mostly flat backs but harder when the back of the crank is hollowed out.

Weakness:

User interface for set-up is confusing. Fortunately for day to day use you really only use the button to reset and the button to flip between screens.

Very reliable and trouble free.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
DWF   [Jun 28, 2012]
Strength:

Rox 8.1 - not this one, but speaks about the company: It seems to have a lot of functions, although it does not set up well. It promises on its website to set up on the computer but guess what? the docking station the Rox 8.1 does not match the unit.

Weakness:

ust got the bc sigma Rox 8.1. Beware: despite the promise to do so, there is no computer interface, despite their willingness to sell you an old one. After spending several frustrating hours trying to get it to work, leaving a message and email which were not responded too, I got a tech who told me that there is no docking interface that currently works with the newer 8.1 and 9.1. I suggest that I just blew 200$ for a promise unkept on their website and vote that Sigma is Buyer Beware.

Huge waste of 200$ so far this year.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Jay   Recreational Rider [Jan 18, 2011]
Strength:

Readout is easy at a glance, has back light if desired. Most non-exotic functions are included. I like the wireless version which looks cleaner and avoids snags on the cable. There is an 800 number to call for support -- they are polite and knowledgable.

Weakness:

Company consumer support. Manual serves multiple languages on small pages with pictographs instead of instructions. Confusion is easy if you don't already know how to install. Also,manual instructed to open xmitter battery compartment w "the tool" -- but there was no tool (reciever opened w a coin, xmitter had 2 tiny holes; ultimately I used small nails).

Had a Sigma bike computer for years but cable went bad & asked Santa for a wireless version. Appears it will serve well -- easy to read, has functions I want. But I do have customer service issues w Sigma. Unit wouldn't work on arrival, called - closed for holidays, then did not return call. Finally got 'em; said was a battery problem in reciever & bad battery problems were ongoing. With MY new battery, receiver appeared to work but wouldn't mate with transmitter - so no MPH etc. Xmitter battery check light showed OK, did all trouble shooting, reinstalled, no help. Called again. Result: xmitter battery also bad. Asked if they would cover $11+ in lithium 2Vs, said no, as it was a 2009 model and 2Vs died on the shelf. Asked how a consumer would know; they said it was a good question but it wasn't their problem. BTW, the manual is NOT user friendly. Just little stuff maybe, but Sigma shows a lack of customer concern.

Similar Products Used: I owned a wired Sigma bike computer and was very happy with it until cable connection became unreliable and repair was nearly as $$$ as a new one.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Kynuna   Recreational Rider [Jan 05, 2010]
Strength:

Cheap
Easy to install
Wired (no interference)
Big nummber on screen

Weakness:

Instruction Manual- very confusing

Cheap and Easy. Does everything you need except heart rate monitor. Instruction are somewhart confusing but once it was master the computer works great. As a Weekend Basher I don't need to be spendin hundreds of dollars on a unit and this one does everything thing i need. If I get more serious about my riding I may then require a more advanced computer

Similar Products Used: Polar CS200 CAD (crap)
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
hbrider   Recreational Rider [Dec 31, 2009]
Strength:

Inexpensive and easy to mount with rubber o-rings

Weakness:

Way too hard to use even after multiple manual readings and re-settings. Falls off the bike sometimes.

Easy to install, LArge visible numbers. Has most basic functions. Agree with other reviews. "The buttons and screen selection make zero sense, very unintuitive." Spent lots of pulling over to stop on the road attempting to figure our the buttons and multiple screens. Better to be riding instead of messing with the buttons. Gave up and replaced it with a Trek 9i and am now a happy rider with reliable features and easy intuitive large number screens.

Similar Products Used: Specialized, Cateyes, Trek, Garmin.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Khuan   Recreational Rider [Apr 11, 2009]
Strength:

All 16 functions
Stem mounting system
Option to turn off cadence display
Option to remove cadence sensor
Large, clear display
Release mechanism
Sleek sensors and magnets

Weakness:

No option to turn off bike 2 display
Current speed resolution (0.5kph)

I bought this mainly because I was interested in monitoring my cadence and I prefer a wired computer. The minor hassle of wire routing is far outweighed by the benefits of lightweight (1 battery) and reliability (zero interference).

Now I've used it for 6 months, I find I don't monitor my cadence anymore because I can estimate it pretty well myself. I've since removed the cadence sensor from my bike and turned off the cadence display on my computer.

However, this does not detract from the quality of this product. I would highly recommend this product to anyone.

Similar Products Used: Sigma Sport BC906
Cateye Velo 5
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
slyman   Commuter [Apr 08, 2009]
Strength:

Cheap. Very reliable - I ride in all conditions including tropical rainstorms and it has always worked. Works with two bikes, but the second bike kit is only marginally cheaper than a new complete kit and not the easiest thing to find.

Weakness:

The two wires which are plugged into the carrier for cadence need to be (lightly) crimped onto the carrier otherwise they will eventually fall out and cadence will stop reading. Manual could be better. Setup is not particularly friendly, but once learned it makes sense. Would be nice if you could display speed, cadence and distance at the same time, but it can only display speed and one other function - this is a very minor issue because it does record them all.

I wanted a cheap computer that did cadence and the 1606L fitted the bill. I also wanted wired because I was worried that my front lights (Ayup) might interfere with wireless transmission. I have since bought a second bike kit and an additional computer for my wife. Cheap and reliable, as only a wired computer can be.

Similar Products Used: Some old cateye wireless computer that never worked reliably.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark Beattie   Recreational Rider [Jun 21, 2008]
Strength:

Many many features, backlight, rubber o-ring mounting.

Weakness:

User interface is poor. Difficult to reset data easily.

Installed fine, setup is fine, cadence works fine. The buttons and screen selection make zero sense, very unintuitive. This computer does what it says it does, but is nowhere near as friendly to use as say a Specialized or a Cateye.

Similar Products Used: Cateye, Specialized
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
tifighter   Recreational Rider [Jan 27, 2008]
Strength:

Has every function (except heart rate)
Reliable
Accurate
Versatile
Auto detect between different bikes

Weakness:

Cadence sensor doesn't work well with all cranks
Speed increments of .5
Too easy to enter set up mode accidentally

Had the old school version which worked well for years (still does). I upgraded to this one because of the backlight, and the auto detect feature which automatically changes the data to your second bike upon mounting. Now I don't have to remember to pull out a pen and poke a pin sized button to change to another bike setting. Other nice features include 3 contrast settings and average cadence. I've found Sigmas to be reliable. It is initally difficult to program since the instructions are small and bent on printing in as many different languages as possible. Setup is easy with the O rings, which are durable. The mount is versatile; I can mount it on my aerobar without using an aerobar computer kit. Display is easy to read, it's accurate, and weatherproof. Cadence sensor doesn't work well with certain crank arms. Works great with Shimano, but not with Truvativ. It would be nice if the speed increments were .1 instead of .5. Also, it is too easy to enter setup mode if you happen to push both buttons at the same time. Haven't lost any data, but it sure is annoying when it happens. Otherwise, the computer is jam packed with features and is a great value.

Similar Products Used: Previous generation Sigmas
Cateye Astrale (mount cracks)
Cateye Cordless (terrible)
Performance (great but they stopped makin em)
Vetta (no success with these)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.