Kreitler Poly-Lyte Rollers

Kreitler Poly-Lyte Rollers 

DESCRIPTION

The aluminum drum tube is silver with blue polycarbonate end caps. The belt is white and the frame is red epoxy powder coated for a lasting finish. As with all Kreitler roller frames, folding is standard. No tools necessary to change the wheelbase.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Jan 04, 2007]
eljayo
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Exceptional quality
Simple/elegant design
Made in USA

Weakness:

None that I have found

I have been using my Kreitlers for almost a year now and I have no doubts that I made the right choice. Initially I went with the 1upUSA stand trainer and I would say that it probably the best there is for that category but I could tell right away that the locked-in feeling was going to have me bored to tears. Thanks to their generous satisfaction guarantee I was able to return it and get a set of these Poly-Lyte rollers and I haven’t looked back.

I started out using them in a doorway, which is a very good idea but it doesn’t take too long before you can get away from that (if you want). I’ve ridden off a couple of times and never found it to be a big deal… As long as you know how to get out of your pedals and you don’t put yourself in a position to break something valuable, you’ll be fine. The big thing with using these high quality rollers is the feedback you get. You will know if your pedal stroke is not smooth and it will force you to become more subtle with your bike handling. I don’t think you could find a better way to improve your skills and maintain some fitness during the off-season.

I also have to add that I can't imagine going with a different diameter of roller. This seems like the perfect size for me and I would think for most people. The big ones would be too easy for most and the little ones would only be appropriate for elite athletes.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 09, 2006]
laps
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Great tool to improve balance and coordination on the bike. Well made with lifetime warranty. Replacement parts readily available.

Weakness:

None noted. Don't think they are too expensive when compared to other trainers and rollers considering they are really a lifetime purchase.

(Price was for Dyno-Lyte model)It doesn't take but one or two rides to know that these rollers are far better than a regualar trainer. Rode with running shoes in a doorway the first ride, but was able to take a drink, change bar positions, and stand up - very carefully. Couldn't bring myself to go no handed. Made a feeble attempt and quickly abandoned the idea as insane. Second ride was in the middle of the room with bike shoes watching the 2005 Tour. Only crashed once when the riders were decending a mountain pass and I got a little into it. The point is, they are not that hard to get used to. The resistance is enough to allow for spinning at lower gears, but will get your HR up as you increase speed. I used the Watt chart available on the Kreitler website to make my selection. These are perfect for a strong recreational rider/wana-be-racer. Smooth and semi-quiet. Set the TV at 40 - 45 volume on the Kurt Kinetic trainer, but only 30-35 with the rollers. Still loud, but not terrible. Well worth the money. I agree the frame was more flimsy then I expected and the adjustment pins are stubby little things, but they have no force applied so it doesn't make sense to weaken the frame by drilling a second hole. Totally functional and will last a lifetime I'm sure. Folds up nicely.

Similar Products Used:

Kurt Kitetic Trainer (Excellent)
Cycle Ops Trainer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 10, 2006]
10kman
Road Racer

Strength:

Customer Support is great, always answer right away and with details Solid Build Folds up nicely

Weakness:

Not enough resistance for some of us Price is high, but it's an upfront cost

I originally started out with the Challenger, however it was WAY too easy, felt like no resistance for me. Luckily, traded up to the Poly-Lyte, and that is slightly better for resistance, but I can still find myself spinning along at 25-30 MPH without too much of an effort. I never tried the Dyno-Myte series to see how hard they were, but I was skewed towards the lesser models, since they are "so hard". I'm thinking I'd do fine on them. However, if you want max versatility, then either the Lyte or the Challengers with the Kreitler fan would give you plenty of resistance and allow you to spin all the same, which is their intention. The Lyte series is okay for me right now, I just gear up and run the tires a little soft so I get more resistance if I'm working out. For recovery, keep the tires aired up and spin. Quality is top-notch, however they are far from "whisper quiet". I've never had any indoor training unit that didn't make me have to crank the volume up on the TV/Radio. I don't mind though, that's the deal with wanting to train indoors.

Similar Products Used:

Challengers, 1UpUSA trainer, Kurt Kinetic trainer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 14, 2004]
GR Jacobs
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Super smooth, not boring like a regular trainer. Folds up for easy storage, fairly quiet. Lifetime warranty.

Weakness:

The price is high considering that you really only get a lightweight frame, 3 rollers, and a belt. I think they used to be preassembled, but now they aren't. You have to put them in a place where you can lean against something, or it's very easy to fall over. A doorway works well.

I owned the Kreitler Challenger rollers several years ago. I liked them, but there wan't enough resistance. These offer enough resistance for me. In just 3 workouts I have already noticed an improvement in my spinning. Rollers definitely improve your balance and spin, and these offer enough resistance for intervals. Feels like being on the road with a super strong tailwind.

Similar Products Used:

Kreitler Challenger rollers, and an indoor trainer (that I hated).

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 11, 2004]
Sam
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Quality craftmanship Great performance

Weakness:

Not cheap but worth the money. Will last a lifetime.

Price above in in Canadian dollars. Just purchased the Ploy Lyte's yesterday. Have had less than 1 hour on them but so far they are great. Had a windtrainer before but after riding these rollers there is no going back. I researched this quite a bit before I bought the product and it paid off. They were recommended to me by a cycling coach and he was right. The workmanship is superior. No other rollers came close to this product. They perform great and will help me become a better rider. All of the other reviews noted in this section about the Kreitler products is absolutely bang on.

Similar Products Used:

Minoura Mag Windtrainer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 18, 2003]
marimba_artist
Road Racer

Strength:

Craftmanship. Overall ride quality.

Weakness:

Hard to find and often backordered.

I purchased Kreitler's after I was able to ride a set of Kreitler's that one of my riding buddies owns. His set is over 20 years old, and except for replacing the belt, the function great. I also considered Performance Pro rollers, but decided the extra $$ was worth the cost. Kreitlers have a life-time guarantee. Don't hesitate to buy the Poly-Lyte or Dyno-Lyte--they provide plenty of resistance. In the end, I decided to drop nearly $300 on these rollers instead of custom wheels (Open Pro, Ultegra hubs) and I am glad with my decision.

Similar Products Used:

OLD Kreitlers. I also considered resistance trainers and tried the Performance fluid trainer which belonged to one of my riding buddies as well.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 24, 2000]
Kendall
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Quality construction and precision
Very smooth and quiet for rollers

Weakness:

A bit expensive but worth it

These rollers are very smooth. My cycling "stroke" has greatly improved and is much smoother. I was spinning at significantly higher cadence after a few weeks on these babies and it only took a few sessions and cracked rib cartlidge to adjust. Now I can watch TV while rolling. The mid size "Lyte" rollers offer plenty of resistance in higher gears for sprinting, but allow very little resistance at lower gears if you want to work on leg speed. If all you want is "frictionless" spinning go for the larger Challenger rollers. If you want to concentrate on sprinting and anaerobic threshold training go for the polymytes. The mid size Lyte series is an excellent compromize. Save the money and go with the poly series with plastic end cap if money is an issue. I might consider the flywheel for a bit more glide because it doesn't add noise but if money or noise is no object, get the larger drum Challenger rollers with fly wheel and fan for ultimate versatility and smoothness. As for me the Poly-Lytes are fine. IMO these rollers blow away stationary trainers because they require some skill and hone your muscle memory, but getting to the point of riding out of the saddle is risky and I'm not there.....yet.

Similar Products Used:

Minoura and Tacx

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 27, 2001]
steve
Road Racer

Strength:

quality built, very quiet operation, compact size when folded, great customer service, will smooth out your technique in a matter of weeks

Weakness:

none!

excellent value for money. with work/kids/limited time to train etc. these have been awesome - I find an hour/90 minutes on the rollers is just about right. very smooth operation and they'll help your pedal technique in a matter of weeks. as previously, noted there isn't a ton of resistence when in a lower gear however you'll find you can easily get your hr up to threshold levels at greater RPM's in higher gears. I may purchase the killer headwind for next winter to really maximize my limited time. great product and outstanding service from Kreiter - buy anything else and you'll only be disappointed.

Similar Products Used:

n/a

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.