Performance Technique Rollers

Performance Technique Rollers 

DESCRIPTION

Technique Rollers to fit bikes with wheelbases up to 43". Lathe-turned PVC drums, all-steel epoxy-coated frame folds for easy storage and transport, non-slip coating on side rails. Use them alone, or combine them with the optional HR-300R HydroForce fluid resistance unit.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Jul 08, 2007]
a k
Road Racer

Strength:

Very quick to set up and use, simply unfold and ride. More fun and better more natural feeling warm up than trainers.

Weakness:

Noisy ridged drums.

My favorite for race warm ups. Since they are easy to hop on and off(no need to crank the bike into a trainer) Plus they fit most bikes w/o adjustment so they can be traded among teammates. I.e. no need to schelp four trainers for four people. Proabably won't last forever, but at this price its nice to not have to baby yet another piece of bike equipement. If I rode indoors I would invest in one with alloy. Not having resistence is fine my me, i would rather use my gears, but I know you can purchase a resistence unit from performance.

Similar Products Used:

Cyclops fluid trainer, performance trainer, cyclops rollers (very nice!)

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 26, 2003]
bicycle268
Road Racer

Strength:

DURABILITY. STABILITY. SET IT AND........FORGET IT

Weakness:

not enough resistance. the grooved pvc can be a little noisy and lead to premature tire wear. price--for $130 more you could get a mean set of Kreitlers

These rollers have been my winter companion for 7 years now. The pvc drums are like new, with no warping or noise. the belt is on it's way out, but after 7 winters of daily use I'm not gonna complain. My sweat has completly eroded all paint from the frame but it's not like it's my car. Never a problem. never a worry.

Similar Products Used:

a mean set of Kreitlers

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 15, 2003]
jcycle
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Good set of starter rollers. Cheap. Great fun. They work. I was torn between giving them a 3 or 4 rating because they are cheap rollers and you get what you pay for so 4 would be realistic but comparing them to other rollers i guess a 3 for quality of ride.

Weakness:

Noisy, and vibrate quite a bit. Bad seems to shake and make noise too. Not a whole lot of resistance until you start turning the bigger gears. But at high speeds there was so much vibration being transferred to the floor that things where sliding off a nearby table (not kidding. I wouldn't get these if you live in an apt building. I have em on my wood floors and when i'm on em my house sounds like a swarm of locusts.

These are my 1st set of rollers. I hated stationary trainers (boring.) I bought them to learn how to use em and see if i like em before i dump big bucks on a set of Kreitlers. Price was right and they do the job. Next winter I will sell em and buy a set of kreitlers though.

Similar Products Used:

stationary trainers. Friends kreitlers.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 26, 2003]
KillerQuads
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Folds easily, no resistance unit needed, good traction, good return policy

Weakness:

Poor quality control (check for out of round drums), heavier than aluminum, PVC material is a little soft, no level adjustment on feet for uneven floors, static electricity.

I started riding again and have ridden 3,500 miles on the road from mid summer 'til now (winter). I use rollers to maintain my fitness (15 miles a day). My old Minoura rollers wore out so I bought this set of Performance rollers on sale. The Minoura's aluminum drums have plastic end caps. Eventually the end caps loosen and the rollers become very noisy. The Performance rollers are PVC so they should not dent like aluminum and they look like they are one piece, so I hope there are no ends caps to loosen. The PVC material is soft, so it can be nicked by pedals or cleats. The surface is not smooth like aluminum rollers; instead, there are are circumfrential fine grooves. This helps lateral traction and prevents slipping and tire squeaking. However, this may mean faster tire wear. Also, I noticed that the tires and PVC drums generate static electricity, so I get little jolts when I touch a support while riding and the drums are dust magnets. The drive belt is thick and strong and can be mounted either right or left since there are belt grooves on both ends of each drum. It seems to be under higher tension than other rollers I have owned. This tension and the heaviness of the PVC rollers creates more resistance, so a resistance unit is not needed. I brought home the Performance rollers to find that the box had been previously opened (unstapled and retaped). That made me upset that I bought used restocked merchandise. When I tried them out, there was a loud rumble that would not go away (I tried moving the belt to the other side to no avail). I went back to Performance (140 miles round trip) and exchanged the first set for a new, unopened set of rollers. The second set had an out of round front roller that wobbled and made the front of the bike shake. I swapped it with the rear roller, so I could steer better, but now the rear of the bike vibrates. This will probably make the rear drum bearings fail eventually. I dread driving another 140 miles to exchange this set for a third set that might be just as bad or worse. I emailed Performance and hope to get a single replacement drum (awaiting their response). Until I get this set working, I cannot recommend these rollers.

Similar Products Used:

Minoura

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Apr 18, 2000]
Doc-Jay
Commuter

Strength:

Decent price
fold-away (takes less space)
rollers just make you better

Weakness:

no real problems

These rollers have done me well for the past 6 or so months. Helped me train through the winter. No real problems except that the band vibrates in a funky and somewhat noisy way. Don't know if other rollers do the same since these are the first I've been exposed to. Not really a problem, just an annoyance after an hour and a half. Quality was a slight concern seeing as these aren't from one of the BIG names in rollers but I'm very impressed so far. For someone looking for their first trainer, I highly recommend these. Rollers have helped me in so many ways.

Similar Products Used:

none

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 13, 2000]
Ben
Commuter

Strength:

Good price, quiet, and foldable for easy storage.

Weakness:

PVC drums easily nicked and dinged.

Much quieter than my old Blackburn. Love the way the rollers force you to get your balancing act together. It has helped me tremendously for my pedaling and efficiency on the road. Basically, it stops you from having bad habits while spinning. I purchased the fluid resistance option and believe me, you definitely get a workout with it. I wouldn't waste my time purchasing the fork option because it defeats the purpose of why you purchased rollers in the first place. I would strongly recommend this product to anyone who wants to train and receive immediate input to their riding style. It took me three tries before I was used to the rollers. I recommend when you start, to be near a wall or in a doorway in order to catch yourself so you don't fall off the rollers.

Similar Products Used:

Blackburn Trackstand

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 22, 2000]
Chris
Recreational Rider

Strength:

smooth rollers; foldable. Price

Weakness:

plastic rollers, not metal

for the price, these rollers work well. Metal cylinders would be better, but also more expensive. Good for the recreational rider/racer or for a mountainbiker looking to cross train on a road bike.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 31, 2000]
Mike Harris
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Affordable and seem to hold up, although I don't use them that much

Weakness:

The feet could be wider as you can't setup on carpet without support, but I think this is the case with most rollers.

Better to ride outside, but if you have to ride inside these are good as they force you to concentrate and actually do help your balance and spin.

Similar Products Used:

none

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-8 of 8  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.