Kurt Kinetic Trainer Trainers

Available At:
Trainer

- Super quiet ride - watch TV, videos, or play the stereo at normal levels. - Patented, sealed (leak proof) fluid resistance unit for silky smooth ride. - Speed sensitive resistance unit automatically adjusts the difficulty level. - Resistance levels from 20 watts (5 MPH) to 2,500 watts (50 MPH). - Easy bike attachment / removal with the Quick Release Level Lock. - Trainer folds in half for easy transport and off season storage. - Industrial quality frame with lifetime warranty. - Precision made in the U.S.A. - Patented Small Wheel Adapter enables use of bikes with wheels from 16" O.D.. - The first recumbent friendly fluid resistance trainer. - The first BMX friendly fluid resistance trainer.

User Reviews (33)

Showing 1-10 of 33  
crisbay   Recreational Rider [May 03, 2009]
Strength:

Better built than my CyleOps, easy setup and centering, lifetime warranty, no notorious "O" ring that plagues other fluid trainers, neon green color a perfect match to my Orbea Orca and minus 20 percent coupon from REI :-)

Weakness:

A bit noisy compared to Cycleops Fluid2

Better resistance that closely matches a road workout. Centering of tire is possible and easy setup. No direct physical connection to the fluid chamber which resolves the issues of leaks like what plagues other fluid trainers.

Similar Products Used: CycleOps Fluid2, Performance Ascent and Minoura Magnetic Turbor Trainer
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
John Shea   Recreational Rider [Jan 08, 2009]
Strength:

Well Built, I think

Weakness:

Chinese hardware is second rate the bolt threads are rough and the Acorn nuts required a socket to even get it started on the bolts!

Dead on Arrival - The drive-side impeller is rubbing on something making the unit very noisy. Have contacted Kurt for a replacement.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
5
dennyj46   Triathlete [Jan 23, 2008]
Strength:

Nice stable, solid unit that is reasonably quiet with realistic resistance

Weakness:

More expensive than some but worth it in the long haul I think

Nice unit, very solid and stable. Bikes are easy to switch but you have to have the right kind of skewer to fit in the slot. Shimano doesn't seem to work. I bought an old steel one for $10.00 and now don't worry about scratching, etc.
It's fairly quiet and I think the loudest noise is the noise the bicycle gearing and wheel/spokes make. No problem listening to TV or videos. Need to turn them up a bit but not obnoxioulsy.
The resistance seems very near normal riding. I seem to ride the same gears as normal. It has a good flywheel and the even coasts pretty well. Easy to sustain momentum.
I like it and recommend it, my daughter does too.

Similar Products Used: An old Racermate. No similar trainers just Tenturi, Lamond and Lifestyle stationary bikes
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Beanpole   Recreational Rider [Jul 09, 2007]
Strength:

Solidly built and produces road like resistance. Not too loud.

Weakness:

Either my wife needs different skewers on her new bike or I need to get a new trainer. Can be a pain to set up the first time. Kids like to play with it.

This trainer is great for those long Colorado winters and easily fit my mountain bike. It is relatively quiet for a trainer. The resistance feels true. It is pretty stable, attesting to its heavy duty construction. It does not wobble at all. It was going so well until my wife and I got back into road biking. My wife tried her bike first. She found out that the trainer does not fit the skewer on her Specialized but she didn't realize it until she nearly went through the TV. Praise be to God, the TV is doing just fine. The Specialized's skewer is pretty scratched up, though. Now I am hesitant to put my road bike on it. I don't want to scratch the skewer so I think I will go back to putting a slick on my mountain bike and training on that in the winter.

Aside from the skewer thing, it is a pain to set your bike up for the first time. It made me feel like I need another hand.

Similar Products Used: none.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
jim9090   Triathlete [Jun 27, 2007]
Strength:

Sturdy.
Very realistic road feel.

Weakness:

Very noisy. I have to have the TV on full volume to hear.
Heavy.

8000 km on it, over 2 winters. Overall, this is a great trainer. The ride feels very realistic. It's noisy and heavy, true, but those are minor as far as I'm concerned, compared to the great ride.

There have been a few problems. After about a year, the resistance unit developed a leak (despite this being a near impossibility), then the tightening knob on the resistance unit broke, and then the quick release started popping loose on hard efforts. Each time the LBS replaced or fixed the problem, no questions asked. In fact, after the quick release problem, they replaced the whole trainer, figuring maybe I got a lemon. (Huge kudos for D'Ornellas, here. If you're in Toronto, they're the place to go).

Except for these problems, it's been incredibly sturdy, even when hammering out of the saddle -- no vibration, no movement.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
Flying Dutchman   Road Racer [Feb 08, 2007]
Strength:

Heavy construction and sturdy.

Weakness:

None

Purchased the product in November 06 and have logged over 500 miles. Prior purchasing the unit I reviewed several trainers to decide on the Kurt Kinetic Trainer. What I liked about the product was the sealed leak proof fluid chamber with magnetically coupled drive shaft. All other trainers had fluid leak problems after consistent use where the seal overheated causing the seal to wear out. I was also impressed with the structural construction of the unit and how sturdy it was when riding the bike up right. The product runs smooth and to road like conditions.

Provides a very good work out for the winter months.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bigjohnson54   Recreational Rider [Dec 25, 2006]
Strength:

It feels solid when I'm on my bike in the trainer, and I weigh about 225, and the bike is easy to put in and out of the trainer, just takes a few seconds

Weakness:

none

The kinetic trainer is quiet enough that you don,t have to turn up the tv much. I did not experience any vibrations. The resistance feel is realistic. 1 hour on the trainer seems harder than riding outside, probably because it is steady, no wind, hills, or traffic.

Similar Products Used: Just some cheap ones I tried out at the lbs
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
rustacarirulestheworld   Road Racer [Nov 10, 2006]
Strength:

Heavy duty, quiet, smooth, best replication of an actual ride.

Weakness:

Our two kitties hate it.

Simply the best trainer out there. I rode mine 650 miles/month last winter and am finally going to get it back out for this winter

Similar Products Used: Cyclops..vibrated first, then leaked, then was returned.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Doggity   Recreational Rider [Jul 24, 2006]
Strength:

Utterly reliable. Smooth, quiet linear operation. Way overbuilt for any sane user. Wide base makes it very stable.

Weakness:

It's heavy. It's not cheap. That is ALL.

I read the reviews of this one and its competitors. It seemed a no brainer to buy this one, even if it was a bit more up front. I was right...you get what you pay for! No hydraulic fluid leaks, no excessive noise or vibration (if you're getting this, you're either using a tire with too knobby a tread, and/or you've got the roller torqued too tight to the rear tire). Way, WAY overbuilt for any sane use...you'll never break this thing!
It isn't QUITE like a road ride, of course. But the resistance does increase in a very linear and natural manner as you gear up, simulating riding the flats pretty damn closely. Just get one...I guarantee it's the last trainer you'll ever have to buy. (Hint...they go on sale at the beginning of spring) 5 for both value and overall rating. I just don't think it gets much better than this.

Similar Products Used: This is my 1st and probably last trainer.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
cucamelsmd15   Road Racer [Feb 05, 2006]
Strength:

Stable, quiet, durable. Good warranty to back it up as well.

Weakness:

none

I picked one of these up for the upcoming winter training season. Read: long base miles with nothing to do while the weather is nasty outside. Ive been riding it about 3 months solid now, and its great. Living in an apartment, its nice to keep things quiet, and the people below me never complain. I have been riding anywhere from 2-4 hours an evening as my schedule permits, and I think this thing is built for the long haul. Its quiet enough that I can watch TV or read a book without any distraction, or having to blast the TV. I will digress and say its not like riding on the road, because what road do you ride that is tuned with a Powertap? Realistically though, its a great trainer, probably the best, and it carries a great warranty. I have read reviews of vibration, and I can say I dont have vibration at all. I have a feeling this has more to do with how you set the bike and trainer up, rather than the trainer itself.

Similar Products Used: Performance trainers, all leaked and sent back
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 33  
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At: