Mavic CXP 22 Rims

Mavic CXP 22 Rims 

DESCRIPTION

The aerodynamic CXP 22 offers a pin joined rim extrusion and an impactful graphic approach. With eyelets for durability, it satisfies the most meticulous needs. 510 grams. FEATURES 6106 aluminum alloy Pinned Tradi...

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 17  
[Nov 17, 2016]
Don

Strength:

I weight 260 lbs and I've put 1000 miles on these in the last 3 months. The previous owner of this bike weighed around 170 lbs and had put around 4,000 in the previous 4 years. These rims have held up fine and haven't had any issues for me. I hop up and down curbs all the time, and often jump onto the dirt when there's a large group on a paved trail I need to bypass.

Weakness:

None for me

They've held up well even though I abuse the crap out of them. Guess I'm the one lucky person who's ridden on these

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 17, 2016]
mark

Strength:

Build nicely
Don't dent easily on pot holes
Build up easy

Weakness:

Spoke Holes cracking

Used for loaded touring, only got about 2000 miles out of them before the spoke holes started cracking around the grommets. Switched to CXP 33s and have never looked back.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 20, 2016]
Pekka Astrom
Recreational Rider

Strength:

None.

Weakness:

Started to crack around the spoke-holes after two months.

Yes, I've also had problems with visible cracks around the spoke-holes of the CXP22 (without eye-lets), but only in the back.

They appeared after a few months on my new bike, and I was quite disappointed. These rims came standard on a Merida T1 Hybrid bike, 2009, which I use for heavy touring.

I've read that many people have this problem. My only question is: maybe it is only on the elox surface?

In any case, I replaced them with cheap Giant S-R2 wheels in Thailand (100 USD per/pair, incl hubs), and they lasted almost two years on bad roads in SE Asia, until spokes started to pop in the rear, and two of them tore through the hub flange.

Still, I managed many hundreds of Km's to Phnom Penh, with a badly wiggling rear wheel. I gather these Giant rims were built for a tank, and will get you home in most emergencies.

Now Giant make their wheels in the old Mavic plant i Taiwan, I've read, but only after they upgraded the production routines...

Similar Products Used:

Giant S-R2, DT Swiss TK540

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Nov 01, 2015]
Graham
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Value, Strength,

Weakness:

None so far (2,500 miles) apart from a broken spoke on a rough country lane.

I bought mine second hand for £24 to use during the bad weather. The hubs are branded Giant. I had a broken spoke - no big deal as the wheel didn't go far out of true with 28 spokes. I decided the spokes were a bit loose - being machine made they had lost tension. I tensioned the wheels and trued them in situ - using a youtube video and Sheldon for guidance. Since then I've cycled 2,500 miles over winter/spring on our rough local lanes with no problem at all. No further maintenance has been required - the hub bearings are smooth with no play. Tyres are a cinch to get on and off the rims (Vittoria Randonneur). Braking surfaces are hardly touched.
When freewheeling down hill I regularly overtake other riders using wheels which cost much more so I conclude that they roll pretty well. As for weight - well they are each 75g heavier than my Open Pro rims - that bothers me not at all since I'm 75 kilo. Remember a full water bottle weighs nearly a kilo, including holder.A spare tube weighs about 80g and a few tools the same. You omit a puncture kit at your peril round here - especially when they cut the Hawthorn hedges.
I'm sorry to hear about the guy who had cracked spoke holes but just how much tension were the spokes under? My rims are OK. In fact I've bought another set - secondhand of course - as a spare.

Similar Products Used:

Mavic Open Pro, Shimano R501

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 18, 2015]
Kim

Strength:

None that I found.

Weakness:

I bought a set of these late last summer. My rear rim began cracking or splitting where the rim meets each spoke. I noticed this at several of the spoke-rim locations when the wheels were only nine months old.

I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND MAVIC CXP-22 TO ANYBODY. THEY ARE UNSAFE.

I bought a set of these late last summer. My rear rim began cracking or splitting where the rim meets each spoke. I noticed this at several of the spoke-rim locations when the wheels were only nine months old.

I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND MAVIC CXP-22 TO ANYBODY. THEY ARE UNSAFE.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Apr 20, 2015]
jake4242

Strength:

Nice looking wheel , rims are excellent and sturdy . good for most surfaces

Weakness:

very poor hub (Formula) , on mine, the cone covers kept working out , the wheel was replaced and the new one did exactly the same, The mechanic then glued the covers into place, which lasted a bit longer , but eventually they came out again , The wheel was then replaced with a slightly different hub and hopefully that will succeeed.

check which hub is in the wheel. if its a black hub with a silver cone cap , then id leave it.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jan 25, 2013]
Roadnoob

Strength:

Strong - Dependable - Never had issues/flats on them, but I did mount
Gatorskins tires & Bontrager tubes. (700 x18c -23c)

Weakness:

Noticeably heavier than a $400+ wheel. But for sub $100... what do you expect?

These came on my bike stock. Not sure what people are having issues with, but I've never has a single issue with mine. (I ride about 15-30 miles 3-4 days a week usually) most I've ridden at 1 time was 50 miles a few times. Worked fine.

Very dependable. They're quiet. Cheap, and they can haul my 200lb butt up a hill like a billy goat. I'd recommend them to anyone who just needs something that works without spending a fortune. Anyone who says they are slow, I was able to average 16-18mph on my average ride. (I know it's not much, but for a casual rider, it works)

I did go on a few club rides with my friends, was able to keep up easily when speeds went 23-30mph.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 01, 2012]
Christ

Strength:

Good value for the money (they are cheap for Mavics), tough as hell, eyeletted spoke holes, well made, look good!

Weakness:

Perhaps SLIGHTLY heavy for the weight whiners, but for a wheelset that can be had for under $180 all-in I challenge you to find better

I honestly don't know what all these other reviewers are on about. This is a fantastic rim given the price range (I've seen them go for $20 a rim at times). As one other reviewer said, they build up very well, easy to true, and damn can they take a beating. I rode a set right out of the box logging over 1200km in training this past season. I literally kicked the hell out of these wheels, massive potholes, streetcar tracks, tonnes of bunnyhops, etc. all on high pressure 23mm tires. And guess what? After leaving them on the bike for the entire season they were still less than 1mm out of true for both rims. I recently re-laced the rear wheel to a fixed gear hub to serve as my beater wheel on my city winter bike, and they've still held up as well as I expected. They come in a pretty wide array of drillings (I ride 20h front, 28h rear), and all said and done, no they may not be as light as an open pro or even a CXP33... But FFS, they cost half as much to 1/3 the price most of the time. If anyone really finds them sluggish, maybe try starting in a lower gear! Or hell, I know this is a novel idea when it comes to cycling, but perhaps ride more! I've never had any issues with flats or all this other rubbish about bottoming out the rim, but then again I make sure my tire pressures are always properly topped up.

Bottom line: They are a great training or commuting rim that is pretty easy on the wallet.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 29, 2012]
mark welch
Commuter

Strength:

Price: can be found some times for as little as 20$
great mid weight semi aero rim

Weakness:

none

I built up a 28 hole radially laced clincher version of this rim as a front wheel and I have gotten a mid weight work horse of a wheel. It built up like a dream like all mavic rims seem to do and have put about three thousand miles into it. Its hit alot of major pot holes and has been ridden 5 days a week through two winters. I've trued it a handful of times but its always been impressive how true I've been able to get it after hitting basket ball sized pot holes. The breaking surface has not visiably been worn down at all. I would buy and build more of these rims if given the chance.

Similar Products Used:

mavic cxp 21
mavic open pro

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 09, 2011]
david Longacre
Road Racer

Weakness:

I have had 10 flats this year, thinking it was my tires and tubes. Find out that it is the eyelet where the valve stem goes keeps punctering the tube right at the stem. Going tonight to buy some rim tape and cut out a doughnut and double tape the eyelet

Overall its a great rim, looks nice with my Black and Blue Trek. Nothging fancy but but cheap either. Like others have said, it does its job.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 17  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.