Shimano 105/Mavic CXP-21 Rims

105/Mavic CXP-21

Genuine Shimano 105 8/9-spd hub, laced to semi-aero Mavic CXP-21 rim with machined sidewalls for improved braking power. Silver anodized rims are complimented by silver 14/15G spokes and brass nipples. Includes skewers.

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
mark welch   Commuter [Feb 29, 2012]
Strength:

price(paid 16$)
build up very well

Weakness:

very week vertically(spent alot of time keeping this thing round over the years)

I built up a 32 hole half radial track rear wheel with one these rims. Its basically a dumbed down version of the cxp 22. I've ridden on it for about two years and a couple thousand miles. Its done the job but is reaching the end of its troubled life. The breaking surface has worn away faster than many other mavic rims I've had. it has at least three flat spots from hitting pot holes in milwaukee. It does not true very well after taking these hits from pot holes but with some diligence its still remains very true considering how really banged up it is. Unless you snag one of these for real cheap and dont ride in a pot hole ridden city like milwaukee I would not recommend one of these rims.

Similar Products Used: cxp 22
sun m14a
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Mike Mitchell   Triathlete [Jun 25, 2008]
Strength:

Handle the bumps like a mountain bike.

Weakness:

I am 200lbs and to this point I can not find a weakness in these rims.

I have road the CXP 21 with out a problem. I ride on all kinds of terrain and in all kinds of weather. I am by the coast so you never know what the marine layer will do. I love them.

Similar Products Used: CXP 22, and an older Mavic 44.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Paul   Recreational Rider [Jun 28, 2007]
Strength:

I like the red/black color, and the ride was great until the wheels gave out.

Not impressed! First set degraded quickly (1500 miles), spokes kept breaking on front, rear rim warped in an emergency slide to avoid a car that was about to pull out of a gas station in front of me.

Front wheel on second set is good after about 2000 miles, but the rear rim is fracturing at several spoke holes. At 220 lbs, I am heavier that most riders, but of all my bikes, this is the first time wheels have suffered this kind of fracture.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
emckee   Recreational Rider [May 07, 2004]
Strength:

105 hub = good performance for not too much $$$

Weakness:

heavy rim which cracked way too early.

I received these wheels as stock on my OCR 1 two years ago (no, I didn't pay $900 for just the wheels). They're kindof heavy, about 2.2kg for the set. However: After less than 10,000 km, I have found signs of stress fatigue cracking around the spoke holes in the rim. I'm not that heavy of a rider (78-80 kg) so they should've lasted a lot longer. The 105 hubs are definitely the highlight of the wheelset. It's a great hub that doesn't way much more than the DA hubs (about 44g) for a fraction of the price. Maintenance on the hubs has been a dream (ie, no maintenance required). Final analysis: Good hubs, lousy rims. Keep looking.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
skichese   Recreational Rider [Feb 26, 2003]
Strength:

indestructable!

Weakness:

too heavy for optimal performance

Bomb proof rims are perfect for commuting, training, or touring. They've lived on my commuter for five years and have needed NO MAINTENANCE WORK - never even been out of true once! I don't own a car so they've seen their share of miles, potholes, curbs, snow, and rain. I give them a four simply because they are too heavy for a serious rider looking for performance.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
niteschaos   Road Racer [Dec 14, 2002]
Strength:

I am 195 and ride 120 miles a week. These things let you focus on doing one thing...TRAINING.

Weakness:

None! Heavy guys don't fear, with proper tension, these are your trainers!

These came laced to Tiagra Hubs on my Felt F75. The front one I haven't had to touch in 1898 miles of training in Atlanta. Atlanta has the roughest road I've ever come across, so that is saying a lot. I've broken a bunch of spokes on the rear, but only then I've just inserted new spokes, retensioned and the rear rim came back into line. I had a friend crash infront of me on the same set of rims and his rear was trashed. I've crashed worse than that and it didn't do that, but I'm also not is 220 pounds either. For training rims, I don't see anything better for the dollar out there.

Similar Products Used: I race on Reflex Sew-ups.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andres Omana   Road Racer [Aug 01, 2002]
Strength:

Strong,unexpensive,versatile.

Weakness:

None

They´re so strong, you can train with them so many miles without any ploblem. Making a weight/strong comparation they´re a serious optiom.

Similar Products Used: Rigida DP-18, Ambrosio balance (pretty good to), Mavic open pro.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
jimmythefish   Recreational Rider [May 24, 2002]
Strength:

Strong, cheap.

Weakness:

Heavy, uncool.

In the three weeks that I've been using them, I can say that they're bombproof training rims. If you're planning on racing get something else, but for rolling around in the real world they're great. When you put the race wheels on, you'll feel speedy.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
willieloo   Recreational Rider [Apr 09, 2002]
Strength:

Free and yet nice to look at. The chicks love them.

Weakness:

105 hubs not so nice.

Nice affordable sey of wheels. Mine were gift after someone got a pair of Rolfs. I was happy to have a nice looking aero wheels felt fast looked cool.

Similar Products Used: Whole Shimano line of hubs and Mavic wheels
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-9 of 9  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.