Continental Contact Tires - Clincher

Available At:
Contact

The Contact is the jack-of-all-trades among city and trekking tires. A uniform center treadbelt assembly ensures a smooth and speedy ride on the road. Flexible shoulder lugs and fine sipes guarantee grip in curves and on loose surfaces. The tire constru

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
DirtRoadRunner   Recreational Rider [Nov 20, 2010]
Strength:

Cheap
Durable
Roll well for size

Weakness:

Heavy

These tires are great for the price. I have the 32's on my every day commuter and really like them. They roll suprisingly well for a heavy 32, but are bombproof. I fly over railroad tracks, hop off curbs, and hit all sorts of other junk on the road all of the time. The tires take it without even flinching. I crossed a set or railroad tracks at 24 mph on these tires the other day without an issue. Perfect tires for a commuter or all-purpose bike, as they do fine on gravel too.

Similar Products Used: Panaracer Pasela
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
dext   Commuter [Apr 19, 2009]
Strength:

In almost 2 years of daily, 4-season riding: 1 flat!
Very smooth, comfortable ride. German quality.
Good enough grip.
Relfective sidewall.

Weakness:

not available EVERYWHERE but, available enough in Toronto, Canada at least.
Otherwise, none really. Like anything, lighter is always desirable!

Another virtually flat-proof, yet smooth riding, extra durable and light enough tire from ze Germans!

Similar Products Used: Conti Sport Contact.
Conti Avenue.
Vredestein Perfect.
Avocet Cross copy.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
pumpman_182   Recreational Rider [Apr 06, 2009]
Strength:

Robust and highly flat resistant, even on rough pavement and gravel, with a heavy rider. No sidewall issues.

Weakness:

Tire wear on rear tire seems a little high--I average 1500 miles on the rear tire, wearing them down until the Kevlar belt starts to show. Front tires I get 3-4K. Probably just a weight issue on the rears.

Started using these tires after 2 sidewall failures on highly-touted Pasela TG tires. Ran them for a year in 28 mm size on my road bike, then added them in 32 mm size on an older bike which I use in rain or when I expect to encounter some gravel roads on my trip. I ride a lot of tar and chip roads and rough pavement. Others have commented about this tire being heavy and slow--as a 250 lb. rider they might as well be describing me--but in two years and 5000 miles, I have fixed one flat, due to failure of a tube at the stem and no fault of the tire. I'm pedaling for fun and exercise, and these are great tires for my purposes.

Similar Products Used: Pasela Tourguard
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
John   Commuter [Aug 02, 2008]
Strength:

Flat resistant

Weakness:

HEAVY HEAVY HEAVY, poor steering response

I bought these to put on my Bianchi San Jose. Single speed with axle nuts so I dont want flats. These arrived and boy I could tell they are HEAVY. Roll okay but it took more effort to turn. Took them off. Weight, dead feel and poor steering make these among the worst tires I've used. Panaracer Urban Max a far better commuter tire

Similar Products Used: Conti top Touring 2000
Panaracer Urban Max
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
Earl   Recreational Rider [Jun 26, 2008]
Strength:

Good ride, puncture resistant.

Weakness:

I didn't find any

I rode corss-country on 700x32 Contacts in the summer of 2006. Had one flat on the road. Finished with tread left. Others in my tour group went through as many as four sets of tires.

Similar Products Used: Top Touring
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Heath   Commuter [Jun 20, 2008]
Strength:

No flats. Ride is good. Tread wears well.

Weakness:

My side walls are splitting. I've never run too much air pressure

37mm touring/commuting tires for daily and multi-day rides. I like the inverted tread pattern. But have sidewall issues. I'm still running the tires, but don't trust them enough to leave town without an extra tire.

Similar Products Used: Top Touring 2000s.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
JohnR   Recreational Rider [Dec 05, 2007]
Strength:

Confidence inspiring, fast rolling, have taken them on some moderate singletrack.

Weakness:

ummm, well they roll so well I have run out of top end gears on my 29'r. Maybe wet grass but hey...

I have the 37 wide. The road and path surfaces here are poor. These suit my favorite riding: commuting, day riding when I don't know where I'll go, noodling around with occasional sprinting (regadless of surface), traffic, occasional multi day casual trips. If I'm not on my road bike or tandem this is the tire I want. I can't imagine a better tire for 90% of my riding.

Similar Products Used: tried some cross tires for this application but they are slower.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
bike_ski_bike   Recreational Rider [Nov 15, 2007]
Strength:

Stable and strong

Great tires. A little more than I was planning on paying but it was well worth it. Perfect for my commuter bike.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Zaphod   Road Racer [Nov 14, 2007]
Strength:

nearly punctureproof (I've never flatted on these)

Weakness:

not as light as a swank road tire.

Lighter than any commuter tire, heavier than any race tire. Amazingly bomber and can corner with confidence on many surfaces. This tire goes fast on pavement but can also roll on dirt without issue. No it won't hang like a cyclocross tire but

Similar Products Used: I'm a tire junkie, too many to list
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
craigd   Commuter [Nov 14, 2007]
Strength:

very puncture resistant, hard wearing, good grip in all conditions

Weakness:

heavy

Have only had these on a few days but have to say i find them very resistant to debris even the biggest glass seems to not affect them, i get the feeling there a bit heavy but you hardly notice once you get going.

Similar Products Used: conti unltra gator skins
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 11  
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At: