Continental Sport 1000 Tires - Clincher

Continental Sport 1000 Tires - Clincher 

DESCRIPTION

For all-around riding, this clincher tire offers high puncture-resistance and high quality tread compound for safe and comfortable cruising. Performance-minded tread pattern with treaded shoulders and circumferential grooves in the center for lateral grip. Fine casing with transparent sidewall offers good handling. Multi-layer casing construction offers high puncture-resistance, increased rolling performance and handling, minimum weight and increased comfort. Weight for 27 x 1-1/4 size is 380 grams; weight for 700 x 28 size is 350 grams.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 27  
[Oct 14, 2016]
Michael Beaver

Strength:

Great wet tyre.

Weakness:

No longer available

If run at the right pressure and bed them in properly I've found these are the best wet weather tyre I've tried. I run the front at 4bar in the wet and they handle perfectly. Good in the dry too but it's the wet where they excel. You have to rub the tread off them for a while before they work. It's the compound and construction that is good not the tread. Miles better than a GP 4000. I wouldn't know about puncture resistance as I've never had one personally with these tyres.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jun 19, 2014]
andrew unwin
Road Racer

Strength:

They are not too difficult to get onto my rims, good overall performance in mixed weather conditions.

Weakness:

Puncture magnets, these tyres are useless on real world roads where thorns, pot holes and glass are a constant problem, also they do not fit my rims properly, getting the beading to sit into the rim channel is often problematic.

This tyre is not expensive for a reason, it is rubbish, the walls of the tyre are really thin and do not offer much in the way of resistance to punctures against anything, constant road side repairs has forced to switch back to the generic chinese tyres my bike came with.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jul 04, 2013]
jimschauer

Strength:

Super smooth, no flats

Weakness:

Can't find them anymore

These tires are the bomb baby. Some of the smoothest rolling tires I have ridden. I use them on an old touring bike/commuter and have zero flats. My other commuter (bontrager t1 tires) has had 4 flats from glass in the last 2 months.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 11, 2009]
jimmyayer
Commuter

Strength:

low road resistant, good design for wet condition

Weakness:

if flat in smooth road surface...then i can only say it's weak

Just changed these tyres and my riding got really unreliable since the front tyre got punctured in the first ride...below average price

Similar Products Used:

Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[Dec 14, 2007]
Eamonn
Road Racer

Strength:

Handle great in wet or dry, on all road surface including dirt and gravel.

Weakness:

At high psi they wear too quickly and fall apart.

Got these with the bike when I purchased it used from a dealer rep in Oklahoma. They are fine for commuting, but have been using them for training lately at very high pressures and they just don't hold up. 110-115psi and the tread is breaking off and wearing quickly. Already need to replace them. Commute on them at lower psi (90-100) and they were great, but not suitable for too much more.

Similar Products Used:

I had an old pair of Vittorias that came with my last Bianchi stock from the shop. In over 5000 miles over 7 years never had to replace the front.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jul 01, 2007]
espace
Commuter

Strength:

Available in China, high-speed, low-drag, no flats (yet)

Weakness:

Paid a bit too much? They were a bit difficult to get on the rim.

I needed tires for my fixie and picked these up locally. I have been through all kinds of gravel, dirt roads, and construction sites, and still haven't had a flat in about 1500 Km. My rims are still true, but I don't know how much of that is due to the tires. They do okay in the wet, and fly on smooth pavement, when you can find it in Beijing. The whole city is a construction site right now.

Similar Products Used:

Armadillo, lots of MTB tires

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 01, 2007]
anklots
Recreational Rider

Strength:

They are 27"

Weakness:

Avoid this model. Poor quality. Flats every other ride.

Got those tires for my commuting/rain bike with old 27 wheels. It was disappointment. I had a flat tire after almost every ride. It couldn't be just a one with a defect, since both were sucking glass easily. I was very upset with the quality. This is definitely not what one could expect from Continental. I have to say that I have better experience with cheap generic 27 tires which I got after about a year of constant flats.

Similar Products Used:

Coninental Top Touring, Panaracer, WTB Allterrainasaurus, Bontrager.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Mar 03, 2006]
centurionomega
Commuter

Strength:

appearance great ride great handling ease of putting on rim appearance

Weakness:

flats

I am very happy with all of my Continental tires. I run them on all three of my bikes. I am not sure if it is the gum sidewalls or what, but I like these tires. I got these as a set of rain tires for the winter because of the aggressive tread pattern. The wear has been great on them so far. The one recurring problem that I have had is picking up shards of glass. Because I ride in the rain with these tires, the little "road diamonds" get washed out of the cracks in the road and seem to be ending up in my tire with increasing frequency. Usually I can ride with about two flats a year. I have had 5 in the past month with these tires. I usually don't like to blame flats on tires; but maybe for my particular application (rain tires) something with a puncture resistant belt would be better.

Similar Products Used:

Continental Ultra 2000 Continental Town & Country

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 14, 2005]
whirren
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Rolling resistance low Not had any punctures (yet)

Weakness:

so far none

I started roadbiking this spring and bought my first roadbike that had been sitting in the store quite some time. I expected nothing of these tires but they held up fine. They are showing some wear after 2000km ride but not worn out yet. Could be the bike but I experience little roll resistance. Since they are rather cheap i give them high marks, maybe the wear could be less why I give them a 4 overall.

Similar Products Used:

only MTB before

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 04, 2005]
rahavens
Commuter

Strength:

The sport 1000 is probably the best economy tire on the market. It offers very low road shock, very low rolling resistance,and very high economy at a very low price. Theese tires wear like iron. Theese tires work great with tube liners (they prevent 4 out of 5 flats). If you wan very good all around road bike tires at avery reasonable price these are probably youre best bet.

Weakness:

Most bicycle shopps do not carry the conental sport 1000.They tend to spoil bicycle commuters. They are not aviable in a folding model. They do not perform well in high performance racing applications.

The contenental sport 1000 is the best all around bicycle tire this ancient biker has ever ridden. I have for the past 5 years ridden them from my appt in phoenix to glendale community college and back(a 15 mile ride both ways). They were the smoothest,most comfortable ride i could immagine on a bicycle. The sport 1000s were the tires which did everything well. Theese 27x1.25 inch tires have virtually no road shock (i usally run 100 pounds of pressure in mine). For shock free tires, they have very low rolling resistance. I have ridden tires with less rolling resistance,but the road shock became intollorable. tires have proven to be the most dependable ones i have ever commuted on. I use tube liners to avoid flats. In the past 5 years i have had 5 flat tires. Arizona riders tend to have more flats than riders in other states so 5 flats in 5 years. I guess the worst thing about my sport 1000s is that they have spoiled me. The other problem with them, is that most bicycle shopps dont carry them.

Similar Products Used:

i r c, panracer, specialized, hunderes of others.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 27  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.