Continental Ultra 2000 Kevlar Tires - Clincher

Continental Ultra 2000 Kevlar Tires - Clincher 

DESCRIPTION

This new Continental Training/Sport tire has a slick tread for exceptional grip on wet and dry conditions.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 13  
[Dec 09, 2006]
AJ68
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Relatively comfortable, good grip and not too expensive.

Weakness:

More punctures than I would have hoped for. Weak sidewalls.

I averaged about 1 puncture per month with these tires on suburban and rural roads - thorns are particularly deadly. After 2000 miles the skinwall on my rear tire tore (I guess 2000 miles is pretty good service life?). I replaced it with the new black rubber sidewall model. The tires were good all around and pretty comfortable on the road (The comfort might be because I used 25s at 105 psi - the new 23 felt similar, though). One strange thing is that using a trainer leaves a permanent flat spot on the tread that feels weird on the road. I switched to Michelin Axial Carbons and have had no flats in 1000 miles, but they seem "harder" than the Contis.

Similar Products Used:

Michelin Axial Carbons, Continental Giro and Sprinter (tubulars)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 26, 2006]
Bass cleff
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Equal performance wet or dry. Corners well.

Weakness:

Boring feel. No connection to the road.

These are light and there's no problem with the sidewalls. They will get torn up if you ride on bad roads with debris. Rear tread loses its curve and flattens out after 1000 miles. Kevlar belts are hard to install the 1st time. I replaced one worn tire with a wire bead ultra 2000 and it went on easier.

Similar Products Used:

Michelin axial Carbon

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 09, 2004]
505Sailor
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Nice performance on smooth, clean roads

Weakness:

Sidewall easily damaged, especially for a tire that claims excellent durability.

I bought these on the recommendation of a friend who uses them in DC. I purchased the 25mm tires for a bit more comfort, and because I'm 200lb. They performed well on the roads I normall ride (smooth pavement). Then I thook them on DC roads. Within a few miles I went through some rocks and debris, nicking one which caused a sidewall blowout! The rock somehow sliced the sidewall and punctured the tube. I patched the sidewall from the inside to get home, but the tire is basically shot. It sees that the threads on the sidewall primarily run in one direction making it easier to puncture.

Similar Products Used:

Michelin

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 22, 2004]
dpvwia
Road Racer

Strength:

Light, fast, good traction.

Weakness:

Durability, price.

Decent traction in wet or dry, good rolling resistance and smooth ride. After about 1600 miles, though, the sidewalls started giving out and the tread definitely was about shot. I got a few more miles out of them by swapping front/rear - but then I had a sidewall blowout.

Similar Products Used:

Vittoria

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jan 24, 2004]
Scoutman
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Looks better than the 1000 Traction Average amount of flats

Weakness:

Price Durability

Durability is questionalbe on these tires. I got a cut clear through the tread within 300 miles, and the other one ripped the sidewall in 2 places. All over the tire, I can see the threads for the sidewall coming through - Cheap construction. I went with another brand for my new tires.

Similar Products Used:

Michelin Panaracer Bontrager

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Sep 27, 2003]
Steve
Recreational Rider

Handling is fine. Durability is another issue. I've had more flats with these tires that with any other. Tread rubber seems to cut easily. Side wall very prone to cuts. Rim bead protector constantly unraveling.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[May 27, 2003]
Dropped
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Value. Performance.

Weakness:

Durability and flats. I picked up 3 puncture flats on one ride -- a record -- and have found these tires to be more flat prone than others I have used. Durability is also a question. I ripped the sidewalls front and back within 3 months, riding flat, clean roads. Again, that's a first.

Tire generally performs well at a great price. Nice traction in the corners and good wet weather performance. Tend to be more prone to flats than other tires I have used, and I ripped both sidewalls within 3 months. In 7 years of road riding I have never ripped a side-wall.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 04, 2003]
Jim
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Durability! Much more comfortable ride than similar training tires from Panaracer and Michelin.

Weakness:

Nothing serious, but maybe could be a little more sticky on some corners.

The Ultra 2000s among the most durable and dependable road tires I've used in 9 years of cycling. Just installed a new pair after getting 4,400 on my last pair and only 2 flats. Rotated them once. No sidewall problems, nothing. I got 4,100 miles on a set of the Continential Super Sport Ultra, which the Ultra 2000's replaced. Great tires.

Similar Products Used:

Panaracer, Michelin

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 13, 2003]
Jim
Triathlete

Strength:

Great look (many color available), cheap price.

Weakness:

Does lightning strike twice? Weak bond between sidewalls-wire bead. More prone to flats. Spend the extra $ and get a higher end tire.

WIRE BEAD Ultra 2000: A set of these came on my new bike. I was fully confident that they would be a great tire, but I soon found out I was wrong. While changing my first flat, the wire bead completely separated from the tire sidewall. In over 12 years of serious biking, I have never seen that happen! I thought it was just a defect, but within 2 weeks I got a flat in the rear tire...the same thing happened. I have to give credit to my local bike shop that offered to replace them under warranty even though I didn't buy my new bike from them. I paid the extra $ and now run Ultra 3000 kevlars. I have had no problems since.

Similar Products Used:

IRC Triathlon Conti Ultra 3000 Kevlar

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 12, 2002]
Keith
Commuter

Strength:

Predictable handling, good rolling, good flat protection, good in rain, light weight, very high-mileage tread-wear. Inexpensive. Available in colored side-walls if you want to be 'trendy' - black, red, blue, yellow, or skin-wall (natural).

Weakness:

Reports of sidewall 'issues' -- I have not experienced any, however. Not the fastest rolling tire, nor the stickiest in the corners -- if you are looking for a good crit tire, upgrade to the Grand Prix, or Grand Prix 3000. Compared to tires with finer casings and more plies, the Ultra may not have the best ride, but this is a trade-off for higher mileage.

In short: More miles-per-dollar than any tires I've tried in the past. My season is like this, so far: I commute daily year-round, but also ride fast rides on the weekends, the occasional organized century, and Ultra-distance brevets in the spring -- also, in 2002, I did Ride the Rockies in Colorado. I put 4000 miles on a set of these tires, and had three flats total, all of which were fixed with a patch. Tires still solid. I've never had a problem with the sidewalls on these, to date. I'm a fairly careful rider, but glass and such sometimes sneaks up on us -- I've been surprised what I can accidentally roll over, and still not get a flat. The rubber compound is sticky in the corners, yet sheds debris very effectively -- it takes a sharp particle angled just right to get seated in the tread. Even in the rain, where flats are more likely, I've never had a big problem like I've had with other tires. If I ever hear a rumour that Conti is discontinuing this tire, I'm ordering a CASE. I have no need to try anything else. If you are looking for an inexpensive tire that doesn't perform like and inexpensive tire, this should be on your list. I have raced, commuted, time-trialed, climbed hard, cornered hard, and completed a 400k brevet FLAT-FREE on these tires. Certainly, there is a place for special tires that cost more - but if you aren't getting paid to race, these tires will do it all, not break the bank, and keep you confident in the saddle.

Similar Products Used:

Michelin Axial Pro, Michelin Hi-Lite Prestige, Specialized Team Turbo, Vittoria Open All-Weather, Vredestein Fortezza, Performance GT2.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 13  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.