Hutchinson Fusion 2 Tubeless Tires - Clincher

Hutchinson Fusion 2 Tubeless Tires - Clincher 

DESCRIPTION

  • Hutchinson's pioneering tubeless technology eliminates tubes for a lighter, faster accelerating wheel that can be run at lower pressures
  • Carbon casing with carbon fiber beads and textile reinforcement from bead to bead
  • Special bead compound and a thin layer of rubber inside the casing seals the tire
  • Triple compound rubber: firm center, medium low angle, soft hard angle
  • Stan's conversion for mounting Fusion2 tubeless tires on any standard rim available separately (BTI #SX-8064)
  • 127 tpi casing. Try Hutchinson StickAir for a better tubeless bead seal

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 42  
    [Sep 26, 2011]
    Victor
    Recreational Rider

    Strength:

    No flats
    Ride

    Weakness:

    Price
    Problems with the rubber compound?

    Hutchinson tubeless Intensive and Fusion 3s
    Rims- ZTR Alphas
    This past year I have purchased 3 sets of Hutchinson tubeless tires 2 sets of Intensives and 1 set of Fusion 3s. I'm 175 pounds and inflate the tires between 90 and 100 psi. My mileage is around 150+ per week. I have not had any flats and the ride is much smoother than Gatorskins at 120 psi. HOWEVER, the troubling point that is of concern is the slitting of the tires around the center of the tire and some cracking found in the rubber compound in the same area. I just can not figure it out. I thought if I switched from Intensive to Fusion 3 the compound might be different, but it isn't. This slit/cracking begins to appear at 300 miles and is more prevalent on the front tire than the back. Six tires 6 identical flaws. What's up Hutchinson?

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    [May 04, 2011]
    mattsavage
    Road Racer

    Strength:

    Roll well, lower pressures, good wear.

    Weakness:

    a little spendy.

    I've been riding these for about 1000miles. Still going strong. No flats, even wear...

    I didn't set them up, they came on the rims from Corsa Concepts, so I can't comment on the setup.

    Similar Products Used:

    none

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Feb 10, 2011]
    tmabiker1234
    Recreational Rider

    I've put about 500mi on these. They feel good for the most part and have not yet flatted. A few that would have been flats but were sealed by the stan's fluid. The one thing that vexes me with this is that there are little tears and cuts all over each tire. I'm not sure if that's normal or not, but they do scare me a bit. If they are normal please let me know!

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    [Nov 28, 2010]
    GlennS
    Recreational Rider

    Strength:

    1. Great feel in riding and comfort
    2. Very robust under various conditions once they are fully "mated" to your rim
    3. Feel light, fast
    4. No more flats

    Weakness:

    1. Expense
    2. It can be work to get initial set up.

    I've used the tubeless for two seasons now.I have 4 other Stan's tubeless set ups, all MTB (one on a hybrid type tire). I love tubeless for being lighter faster, and for the ride at lower pressures. Want to eat up rocks and roots on your hardtail? Go tubeless and ride at 25lbs.

    I have found the benefit similar on the road. I keep them at 90 for my 180 lbs, and I feel as fast as my various non tubeless road tires at 120, but so much more comfortable, not to mention better grip, confidence at speed.

    I did wear out my rear Fusion II after about 1000 miles and have switched it to the heavier intensive. It develeoped a bit of a leak for while but the latex seems to have plugged it. My tires hold up for days with 10-20 lbs of the 90 last pumped into them.

    I find the following true of all tubeless set ups:
    1. It might take weeks for the seal to really become robust. Will always hold for the ride but lost a lot between
    2. Once it gets "really sealed", the set ups are VERY robust. I don't get flats.
    3. Every new rim set up can be a learning curve. Sometimes it goes pop right away and you're set. Othes can be frustrating, require calls to Stan, and some extra effort. I've never failed, but its been a lot of work to get Nevegal's on some used DT Swiss 29ers and in getting Kenda Kwest slicks on some mavis'c. I've never failed but it can require a commitment to get it done.

    Similar Products Used:

    There is no similar product

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    [May 24, 2010]
    Sc0ttyb0y
    Road Racer

    Strength:

    Feel, Grip, pinch flat proof, comfort

    Weakness:

    Fit too tightly to rim and impossible to inflat with hand pump on side of road, pinch tubes putting back on.

    Used for about 500Klm of riding before first flat, took 4 hrs to change, fit was too tight for fingers to get on and off and pinched tubes with leavers, eventually got lift with passer buy to LBS and used goo to fix hole night mare, love feel of tyres but if something goes wrong your walking.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    [May 23, 2010]
    youngt2
    Recreational Rider

    Strength:

    roll well- pleasent ride get lots of questions from the ladies

    Weakness:

    don't last long/ a hassle to find/ must use some kind of slime ( messy)

    Durace sl-7800's were on the bike when I bought it so I switched over to the fusions with stans slime won't repeat all thats been said so far after 2 summers the rear finally split/slit along the center strip 1 inch or so with other wear slits elsewhere along the tire. threw in a tube (with a powerbar wrapper patch)& rode em home. Hutchinson advertises you can ride em flat in a clinch - awful tough on the rims though- They do feel nice etc. but they have their own set of problems instead.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    [Apr 27, 2010]
    kpny1
    Recreational Rider

    Strength:

    No flats
    Low PSI makes for smoooooth ride

    Weakness:

    They didn't "feel" fast. Guess that's the downside of the low PSI. But the comfort offset this. Racers might not like this tradeoff.

    I love tubeless on my mountain bike. And now I LOVE TUBELESS on my road bike.

    First ride impressions for Fusion 3 tires:
    Riding these tires felt to me like the first time I rode a full suspension mountain bike. They have the 3 c's:

    1. Comfort
    2. Confidence
    3. Kick-Ass ride

    Comfort-- Whenever I hit bad pavement, small NE spring potholes, pavement washboards, etc., I just flew right over them. No teeth rattling, headset stressing, bike creaking bumps. Like driving a cadillac.

    Confidence--No flat worries. None. Gravel, glass, etc.. Generally avoided the worst stuff, but felt comfortable riding right through what I would normally swerve to avoid.

    Kick Ass--It made the ride so much fun. My 4-year-old spent last saturday riding his new bike with a huge grin all day. I felt the same today.

    Install took about an hour, using stan's rim strips, valve stems and fluid. (Add $50 to the price of the tires.) I spent 40 mins on first wheel, then 20 mins on second. Stan's video makes it easy, even if it has the production qualities of a porno.

    Similar Products Used:

    Tubeless/Stan's notube setup on my mountain bike.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    [Apr 11, 2010]
    Robbo
    Road Racer

    Strength:

    Beautiful fast fluid feel to the ride
    Good grip

    Weakness:

    Bit tricky to fit
    Would be near on impossible to re-fit out on the road
    Wear out alarmingly quickly
    Both tread and sideway cut easily

    I so wanted these tyres to work for me but they just are not durable enough. I bought Eurus 2 ways to replace my old Eurus which had done 50,000km with no problems. Thought the tubeless was the way forward but much as I LOVE the grip and fluid feel of the ride they just are not durable.

    Similar Products Used:

    First set of tubless

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    [Feb 21, 2010]
    cnydirtroadie
    Recreational Rider

    Strength:

    Running 85 psi instead of 115 with tubes. Better hold on corners + road vibration eliminated on descents = increase in speed. Softens overall ride feel appreciably.

    Weakness:

    Conversions leak air more than true UST, although leaks are slow. Too low pressure = burps. Have not owned them long enough to judge durability.

    Have run tubeless off-road for years. Lower pressure = better grip + handling; no pinch flats. Decided to try Stan's conversion kit for road (2 tires, tape + sealant for $150) on standard Ritchey clinchers. Easy mount and seal compared to off-road: No levers required; compressor not necessary.

    Similar Products Used:

    no other road tubeless.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    [Feb 04, 2010]
    a_avery007
    Recreational Rider

    Strength:

    Ride Quality, cornering capability and sound- yes sound, just a smooth rolling sound

    Weakness:

    $

    Having ridden tubeless in a mtb application for over 4 years with nary a problem, I was eager to try this road system out. Used a Shimano tubeless wheelset with these tires and stan's.

    easy to mount- check
    easy to pump up, seat and seal- check
    hold air overnight- check
    ride for over 1500 mile without a flat- check

    can you say pleased- check

    Similar Products Used:

    everything

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-10 of 42  

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.