Hutchinson Top Speed Tires - Clincher

Top Speed

Hutchinson Top Speed Puncture Resistant Tire is the tire for the road is you want to reduce flats. The fine lateral tread pattern of the TOP SPEED ensures the fast dispersion of water and improved handling on slick surfaces. 4 EXTRUSION technology increa

User Reviews (16)

Showing 1-10 of 16  
Little Bunny Foo Foo   Triathlete [May 18, 2010]
Strength:

I got them cheap.

Weakness:

Weak tire with high rolling resistance. Easily cut.

I bought them simply because they are cheap and light. I neglected to put rolling resistance into the equation and forgot to look that up. These tires are slow, slow, slow. They are the second slowest 700c tire I've used (after the Forte Kevlar tire). To be honest, I don't even like training on these tires because of how they bog me down. I occasionally use these on my commuter, but I almost would rather just leave my 700x37 tires on there for the extra comfort.

Additionally, they cut very easily. I've put more miles all my other tire and combined this pair has more and deeper cuts than all of them. It's not like they don't see the same roads, but I am unsatisfied with these. I plan to put these tires on any of my bikes once I sell it. About the only thing I can say is that I have yet to get a flat with them, but we all know how subjective that is and how quickly it can change.

Similar Products Used: Continental GP4000, Forte Kevlar, Vittoria Rubino Pro, Vresden Somethingorother.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Okie Dokie   Recreational Rider [Jul 28, 2009]
Strength:

Inexpensive

Weakness:

Very fragile

Have gone through 4 of these tires. All were destroyed by cuts at relatively low mileage.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
cyclust   Recreational Rider [Nov 18, 2008]
Strength:

Flat resitance, durable, inexpensive. A great value in a training tire.

Weakness:

Ride isn't silky smooth, but it's certainly acceptable for such a durable tire.

I'm a big guy at 275lbs, so tires don't last me near as long as most folks, but I've had great luck with these. I bought the 25mm size, with the kevlar belt. I put these on approx 6months ago, and have put aorund 2500 miles on them. I just replaced the rear, as it was starting to get pretty squared off, but still looked fine. I just prefer to change my tires well before they are worn out. In any case, I've not had a single flat since I started using these tires. The front now has over 3k miles and should still be good for another 2k I would guess. The tread and sidewalls have held up great, even on the one I changed. The ride seemed OK, not fantastic, though at 275 lbs, my first requirement is durability and flat resistance. BTW, I just ordered 4 more, as nashbar had them on sale for $11!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
percivilla   Recreational Rider [Sep 01, 2008]
Strength:

Cheap, light, quality on my set seems good, flat resistance has been good, easy to mount, rear is just starting to flatten out and the front looks really good.

Weakness:

kinda slow, kinda noisy, thin sidewalls if you ride where there are bigger rocks.

Have about 1200kms on these so far, dont seem to be the fastest rolling and are kinda noisy. Replaced one after about 200kms because the sidewall had an abrasion which had partly cut through the casing. Despite all this though and despite being 180lbs I have not had a single flat after riding mostly crappy rock strewn shoulders at 120 psi in the rear and 115 psi front. there are a couple of small cuts in them but no problems. Didnt really have any great expectations from these as they are a cheap low tpi tire so relly they have been not bad. Will probably replace these with schwalbe ultremo or conti 4000's.

Similar Products Used: scwalbe ultremo, conti 3000/4000, vittoria rubino and zaffiro, specialized mondo (profile feels weird)
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Dan Miller   Recreational Rider [Jul 03, 2008]
Strength:

easy to take off rim

Weakness:

quality

This tire came on my 2007 Giant TCR A0. I just noticed a bulge on my front tire. On closer inspection, there are a number of areas on both front and rear tires that look thin/weak. I have put approx 2,500 miles on them, but think they should have lasted much longer. With all of the great tires on market, I wouldn't advise anyone to purchase this one.

Similar Products Used: Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Ben   Road Racer [Apr 26, 2008]
Strength:

cornering, rolling resistance

Weakness:

weak sidewalls with unexpected tears and sudden blowouts.

I am a collegiate racer, and I used this tire, front and rear, for 3 races (less than 100 miles). At the third race I had an unexpected explosive flat tire in the rear on a fast downhill section while in the middle of the peloton. Luckly, I was able to steer out of the pack and to the side of the road, to wait for the neutral support vehicle. Turns out the sidewall tore, either because of some small bump/hole that I didn't notice, or for no apparent reason. (I weigh only 140 lbs.) The rest of the sidewalls, on both front and rear tires, also show signs of accelerated wear. I do not recommend this tire to anyone. I am replacing both with something else.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Frank53   Recreational Rider [Nov 27, 2007]
Strength:

Price, ride comfort.

Weakness:

No warranty, rubber starts to seperate from carcuss, weak side walls.

These tires came with my Cannondale Synapse and had a good ride but when I noticed that the tread was starting to seperate I took them off and sent them to Hutchinson tire company for a warranty replacement. They responded by stating the tires were not under warranty. I live in a hilly area and can not live with a tire that may seperate when decending at 40+mph. I replaced them with Conti.Gp 4000 so far so good.

Similar Products Used: Michelin Axial (great tire) Conti. GP 4000, Forte kevlar road.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Matt   Recreational Rider [Mar 31, 2007]
Strength:

light, no puntures, long lasting

Weakness:

quality control issues

Put these on my newly built KHS Flite 700 because the price was right and claimed "punture resistance". Have been using them for 4 months now and have yet to get a flat. I ride around 60 miles/ week. They are holding up very well, have great traction and are very light. Just bought four more because I saw them on sale for $17 online. I hear quality control is not great, but am impressed with these.

Similar Products Used: vittoria zaffiro, hutchinson excel, hutch reflex, vittoria roma 22, kenda cheapos
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
headwind_hater   Recreational Rider [Jan 30, 2007]
Strength:

Looks, Grippy, light

Weakness:

Tank Track Rolling resistance

I was looking for light red/black tire to replace my worn Michelin tires. These were rated at 210g and said they were puncture resistant. As soon as I put them on and got on my roller trainer, I noticed the rolling resistance was as if I had put on a mountain bike tire. My speed dropped like 3mph while using the same wattage and gear. It also left black residue on my roller. I had ordered another pair for my other bike and returned them ASAP to get my money back. I'm not so fast that I can afford a tire that slows me down 3mph. Got some Michelin pro2 race, and now I'm back to my usual speed.

Similar Products Used: Michelin
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
shansen   Recreational Rider [Aug 25, 2006]
Strength:

Price, weight.

Weakness:

Cut very easily

Cheap, light weight tire but cut easily.I wouldn't buy these again.

Similar Products Used: Michelin Hi lite comp
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 16  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.