Maxxis Detonator Tires - Clincher

Available At:
Detonator

With its reliable grip durable tread and affordable price tag the Detonator is well suited for Winter training Summer racing and all your rides in between. The Maxxis dual compound tread uses M-shaped grooves to offer a great combination of traction and speed with great water dispersal. Silkworm puncture barrier provides bead to bead protection. 700c x 23mm. 60 TPI casing. 120 max PSI. Folding bead. Available in a various colors. 235g.

User Reviews (37)

Showing 1-10 of 37  
Titus   Commuter [Jun 15, 2016]
Strength:

Price, rolling resistance, weight, little wear.

Weakness:

Lower grip with high pressures.

Interesting that everyone is complaining about punctures.
I run this tires for almost 6000km now - on the road of course and occasionally in the forest. I had maybe 3 punctures until now but this is very acceptable...
Very fast tires for the road. I use the 26" 1.5 version on a mountain bike modified for road use. You can feel the difference in effort (lower effort) compared to other brands.
I use them mostly in the city.
Side grip is a little low but that is just normal for this size and tread.
The wear is very decent - i had tires that wear faster but the grip was worse. I used them every summer for the past 3 years and they are not even 50% tread wear.

Similar Products Used: Schwalbe, Irc, Continental.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Randy Snelling   Recreational Rider [Mar 02, 2016]
Strength:

I have had two sets of these and am completely satisfied having put over 2000 miles on each set. No problems with punctures until later on in the tires life.

Weakness:

none really to speak of

have had two sets of these and am completely satisfied having put over 2000 miles on each set. No problems with punctures until later on in the tires life. I would recommend these tires to the recreational rider with no reservations.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Stephanie Boartight   Commuter [Dec 02, 2014]
Strength:

Look pretty, roll well, reasonable grip

Weakness:

Cut easily and puncture easily, not suitable for urban riding or on sharp gravel.

I got these on my brand new 2015 Whyte bike just 7 weeks ago and in that time I have had 5 punctures, they seem to be OK in the dry and actually roll really well but in the wet you can almost guarantee a puncture. When I took them off today to replace them with Gatorskins the tread was full of cuts - I can't have cycled more than around 100 miles in the time I have had the bike but they were in very poor condition.

I would not recommend these, buy something more robust.

Similar Products Used: Continental Gatorskin 700cx23
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Available At:
vic   [Jan 08, 2014]
Strength:

Price

Weakness:

I have had 5 flats with these tires in about 200 miles of riding.

Not recommended.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
yone   [Apr 04, 2013]
Strength:

Good grip

Weakness:

hard to put on rims, worn up fast comparing with other tyres I used.

I have this tyres for 2 months (around 300 miles). No punctures at all. But, they worn up fast, especially rear tyre.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
JOSH   Recreational Rider [Jul 10, 2012]
Strength:

cool colours.... good grip

Weakness:

fitst ride 35kms 3 puncture flats

DO NOT BUY THESE TIRES.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Oren   Road Racer [Jan 31, 2012]
Strength:

Price, grip, speed - ok for their price.

Weakness:

Eat up gravel and puncture a lot.

Purchased these tires for training in the Winter. While their grip and roll is ok, they keep puncturing, despite being brand new. Especially when it's wet. I've flattened three times in the recent five or six rides. Other tires have lasted hundred of kilometers without puncturing under the same conditions. Feels like these tires are made of margarine - they simply eat up little pieces of gravel and rocks, and embed them in the tire wall. The only good thing I have to say about them is that once you get a flat, they are thick enough so you can continue rolling until a safe stop to change the flat is found. They might do better in dry conditions. A classic case of "you get what you pay for". Though there are many better options out there. Comparably, I've ridden with Vittoria Zaffiro regular/pro's - While their ride is harsher, they are far more resistant.
Avoid these and invest in a higher quality tire.

Similar Products Used: Vittoria Zaffiro, Vittoria Zaffiro pro, Vittoria Rubino Pro, Michelin Pro3 race and light, vredestein fortezza tricomp, Hutchinson fusion 3 (another product to avoid).
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Available At:
Peter   Commuter [Jan 13, 2012]
Strength:

They roll well.

Weakness:

Punctures.

This tyre came on the first and only bike I have ever had. I commute about 200kms per week.
I hope there are better types than this in the marketplace. Todate I have just rolled up 1600kms and I have had about 20 punctures. My colleagues have nick named me "puncture Pete". In desperation I went to a local bike shop and they suggested some tyre liners which have helped a lot. I have only had a few punctures in the last 600 ks.

Similar Products Used: None to date
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Peter Jacobsen   Recreational Rider [Jun 03, 2011]
Strength:

Grips the road well. Can take high pressure (up to 100 psi). Smooth ride.

Weakness:

Limited, if any, puncture protection.

I bought these tires to ride from Shanghai to Saigon. They're not puncture-proof (10 flats in 5000 km) but I've been surprised at how long they last. I would say they have at least another 2000 km in them, if not more.

Up to now, there is no evidence of cracks or any wear aside from the part that grips the road. The sidewalls still look like new.

Similar Products Used: None. These are my first touring tires.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
thegeneralBPT   Commuter [Jan 19, 2011]
Strength:

...

Weakness:

puncture prone during basic city commuting

Detonate is exactly what these tires do. I had a stretch where I had 4 punctures in 5 days...front and back tires. You are better off riding bare innertubes wrapped in duct tape

Similar Products Used: replaced with Panaracer ribmo PT with no problems
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 37  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.