Michelin Pro2 Race Tires - Clincher

Available At:
Pro2 Race

  • Michelin's benchmark Road racing tire
  • ESC: Extra Supple Casing 127 tpi cross-ply carcass
  • HDPP: High Density Puncture Protector under the center tread
  • HPRS: High Protect Rim System protects tire from rim bead friction
  • DC: Dual compound co-extrusion for low rolling resistance in the center and extra grip on the shoulders
  • SE: Silica Energy rubber compound for optimized grip vs. rolling speed

  • User Reviews (14)

    Showing 1-10 of 14  
    Anita Miller   Triathlete [Apr 19, 2013]
    Strength:

    puncture resistance, wear, performance

    Weakness:

    none

    These tires came stock on my 2007 Giant TCR-W -- a top-end tire on an aluminum 105-level bike! (Thank you Giant!) Six years and 4700K later: 0 punctures, very little tread wear, no cracking, no cuts ... no problems at all! The fact I'm under 100 lbs probably helps, but these have been the best tires I've ever had on any of my road or commuting bikes.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Available At:
    J.J.   Road Racer [Jun 02, 2012]
    Strength:

    Low rolling resistance
    One of the fastest clincher tires ever made
    Grip in cornering
    Reasonably good durability

    Weakness:

    None

    The Michelin Pro2 Race are like a holy grail of road clincher tires. Discontinued product, and then the Pro3's that replaced them have quality and durability issues. I heard that the Pro3's were outsourced from France to Taiwan or something like that. Pro2's are hard-to-find and excellent tires. The bike feels like it wants to stay upright during aggro cornering. The grip or 'feel' of the tires is hard to describe in words but I would say it feels "velvety".
    There are lots of bike products which call themselves "Pro"-something, but not many that are actually used by pro-peloton racers. The Michelin Pro2's were one tire actually used by a substantial number of pros. If you can find them, they are worth the money.

    Similar Products Used: Michelin Ironman, Michelin Krylion
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    jj   Road Racer [Apr 22, 2010]
    Strength:

    grip

    Weakness:

    price, bad buncture protection

    The worse tire ever. I run this tires for 3 weeks and everyday i went for a ride i've got a flat. Ride with a tube only would be more safe and enjoyble.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Available At:
    Jerry Gladstone   Recreational Rider [Sep 15, 2009]
    Strength:

    Fantastic grip and smooth ride. Absorbs road vibration.

    Weakness:

    Cuts easily, sidewalls started to crack.

    An excellent tire for racing and even training rides. Great ride and grip. Cuts easily and picks up road debris. Sidewalls on rear tire started to crack under my 185 pound weight. Decent mileage expectations.

    Similar Products Used: Continental Grand Prix 4000S
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    BlackSteel   Recreational Rider [Dec 01, 2008]
    Strength:

    Fast and comfortable. Very predictable when cornering.

    Weakness:

    Maybe some premature wear in the back, but nothing worth crying about.

    Great tire with very few flats. Now that they are discontinued I am at a loss of what to replace them with. I don't anything else will combine the speed, ride feel, flat protection and longevity of this tire. I may go for the Pro Race 3's but it doesn't sound like the same quality and the price is higher.

    Similar Products Used: I'm not sure there is similar product.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Available At:
    Kevin   Recreational Rider [Sep 25, 2008]
    Strength:

    Ride Quality
    Looks (mine are red)

    Weakness:

    Cuts easily
    Wears quickly

    Love the ride quality of these tires. Roll very smoothly and handle corners nicely. Very few flats after about 750-850 miles. I plan on trying something racier (Vittoria Open Corsa CX) just to see what's better. I have a good number of cuts in the rear and a noticeable flat spot in the center ridge. Mind you, I'm barely 150 pounds and I ride about 200 miles a week on above average roads. The front is still fine.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    pts_in_la   Recreational Rider [Sep 11, 2008]
    Strength:

    Comfort and durability. Better resistance to surface cuts than the Axial Pros; FAR better puncture resistance than the Pro3Races.

    Weakness:

    Only that they're discontinued!

    It took 1K miles with the Pro3Race to remind me just how great the Pro2Race is: fast, comfortable, and very reliable. I've had no more than 10 flats in 18K miles of riding on these tires. If only Michelin would keep making them!

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Mike   Recreational Rider [Aug 26, 2008]
    Strength:

    Low Rolling Resistance
    Feel great in corners and descents
    Wearing evenly
    No flats thus far

    Weakness:

    None yet.
    $72 bucks a side is a drawback. I wouldn't pay that much for any tire. Finding them on sale is easy enough

    I picked these up because I was looking for something replace my Bontrager Race X Lites. The MSRP is a bit daunting. I ride about 150-200 miles a week and these have been outstanding this summer.

    Similar Products Used: Bontrager Race X Lite
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    gbcraig   Recreational Rider [Aug 23, 2008]
    Strength:

    Apparently puncture resistant
    Good wear

    Weakness:

    Possibly slightly increased rolling resistance

    Replaced the Bontrager raceXLite tires with these. The Bontrager rear lasted 1,500 miles. I got 2,200 miles on the Michelin rear tire before it got square enough that I replaced it. My Michelin front has 1,700 miles and still looks fresh. I used to get occaisonal flats with the raceXlites. I have never gotten a flat with the Michelins, so they're either good or lucky. I actually though I felt increased rolling resistance when I replaced the raceXlite's with these tires, but I'm skeptical that I should really be able to tell that.

    Similar Products Used: Bontrager RaceXLite
    Vredstein
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Marknorm   Recreational Rider [Aug 05, 2008]
    Strength:

    Sturdy but not heavy. Smooth ride..a noticable difference from stock tires. Wide 25mm are very comfortable without sacrificing speed.

    Weakness:

    Cosmetically the tires look wider than your racer friends might approve of.

    I was really impressed with the ride provided by these tires. I had no idea how important tires can be in the feel of a ride. When it came time to replace my Bontranger Race tires that came with my bike I did some research and selected the Pro2. These are a lot sturdier in construction than the Bontranger but did not seem to weigh more. I will caution that with the gray/black tires you can barely notice the gray...so these are more like an all black tire. Also, I wanted to replace my 25mm wide stock tires with the same size Michelin Pro2's. The 25cm Michilins are wider than the Bontranger of the same calibre. So much so that I have to give them a little push to get them in between the break pads. It's all for the better. The ride is silky smooth and extremely stable and reassuring. I think the more substancial tire construction gives the entire bike a surer feel, both in straight line and in corners. The Pro3 is getting the most attention now but if you can find the Pro2 the lower prices should help.

    Similar Products Used: Bontranger Lite.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Showing 1-10 of 14