Specialized All Condition Pro Tires - Clincher

Available At:
All Condition Pro

  • Our All Condition road tire does absolutely everything well, making it one of the best multi-condition tires available anywhere. The lightweight siped tread blends all-weather traction and our Dual Radius Tread design with exceptional wear and puncture resistance, without sacrificing rolling resistance.
  • Casing: 120 TPI
  • Compound Center: 70a
  • Compound Shoulder: 60a
  • Bead: Aramid
  • Flat Protection: Flak Jacket
  • DRT design for low rolling resistance and great cornering
  • PSI: 115-125

  • User Reviews (20)

    Showing 1-10 of 20  
    Tim   Commuter [Jan 24, 2013]
    Strength:

    Quick, high pressure, really pretty good for punctures, not a nightmare to get on, last a long time.

    Weakness:

    Heavier than Gatorskins. Less flex than Gatorskins so a harder ride.

    I am also surprised a the negative reviews on here. I have used these tyres for years, having tried Gatorskins (too flimsy for london roads) and Schwalbe Marathon 1.25 (too fat, too heavy but a great tyre) when I could not get hold of the Sp tyres. They hold up really well, for about 4000 miles. When they go bad, they go bad really quickly, the surface rubber dimples and becomes soft and then the punctures start. I would warrant that a lot of these reviews are from people who are running them under pressure. They need to be above 95psi and have a max of 125. As I said, I have run these for maybe ten years and never had any manufacturing problems or early flats apart from a nail that nothing would have stopped

    Similar Products Used: Vredstien S-Licks 1.35 (awesome butdont don't come in 1")
    Conti UltraGatorSkins 26 x 1
    Sp Fatboy 1.125 (awful)
    Schwalbe Marathon 1.3 (bombproof but big and heavy)
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Available At:
    Karl   [Sep 06, 2012]
    Strength:

    best rolling restance I have found for a 26" tire

    Weakness:

    none yet

    I live in Lake co. ca. The roads are wicked, and the drivers are worse. For me , I ride a old works hard tail. Went to this tire because I found a set in 26"x1.0. I love them so far. They are a vacume for gravel for sure, but I love the way they roll. I ride about a 100 miles a week, so I will let you know how they behave.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Mark Hartman   [Jul 11, 2012]
    Strength:

    Strong inner jacket

    Weakness:

    Wear out very quickly. Accumulate gashes surprisingly easily. Tacky objects cling to tire.

    A tire definitely not up to Specialized standards. These came on a new '11 Roubaix Expert. Most annoying thing is that the outside is so soft it picks up small rocks that get embedded in the rubber -- you can't ride these on suburban roads where you can expect to find those small asphalt chunks or you'll quickly feel as though you're riding on gravel. I had to get off the bike every few miles and clear them away or they wear down into the rubber. Wore out the back in 750 miles or so. And I only weigh 165 lbs....don't want to see how fast these wear on a larger individual! Will replace with something better...

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    gtrain55   [Jul 08, 2012]
    Strength:

    Easy to put onto rim
    Good ride

    Weakness:

    Durability
    Flak Jacket problems
    Soft rubber

    This tire rides just fine, nothing noteworthy about the ride and I liked that it was easy to put on the rim. I just did a century ride on these tires and on the 85th mile I got a huge gash on my back tire. I replaced my tube with a new tube and rode the rest of the distance without any problems. After getting back from the ride I have had two flats within a week (after a total of 30 miles) that have occurred on the same spot on the tire. Upon further inspection I have found that it is the flak jacket that has actually turned out to be the weakness of the tire. It seems to be a sort of metallic material that provides a rough surface for the tube to sit on if one gets a big enough gash and it ends up doing more harm than good. I have not had any less flats with the flak jacket than on my tires without the jacket. My sidewall also began to deteriorate after about 500 miles. I am going to retire the tire after about 1000 miles which is a very mediocre lifespan for a tire. I am going to go for a tire with a more sturdy rubber as the soft rubber of the Specialized tire is like a magnet for all things sharp, I have garnered a nice collection of small pebbles and the like.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    2
    Caz R   [Apr 08, 2012]
    Strength:

    Fairly easy to get on/off the wheel rim

    Weakness:

    Pick up grit/small stones, rolling resistance seems higher than I expected.

    These tires came with my new road bike. I inflate the tires to 120psi (middle of the recommended range). When riding in groups, while my companions coast down hills, I have to peddle to keep up! I have ridden around 450 miles on them. I often have to pull small stones out of the rubber when out for a ride, but no punctures until this weekend: I got a blowout & 1" slash through the rear tire and had to condemn it. Could not identify what caused the damage. After rest stops, I always inspect my tires carefully before continuing and keep my bike indoors between rides. Looking for some new tires with less rolling resistance now.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Kevin   Recreational Rider [Feb 28, 2012]
    Strength:

    Durability, Comfort, Longevity

    Weakness:

    Weight, Wow factor

    A very good training or commuting tire. Not light, not racy, but not supposed to be either. If you want a set of tires to give you a comfortable ride and lots and lots of training miles these are them. I have had two sets on two different road bikes, one set has given me one flat over the last six months of winter commuting on disused and broken farm roads. I have them on an old Shwinn Varstiy that weighs 44 pounds when the rack and panniers are on and loaded. I have the 23mm version and it was the front that got the flat. Very tough.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Rex Perry   Road Racer [May 25, 2011]
    Strength:

    light for a tough tire

    Great training tire, especially on the rear wheel. I have over 2,000 miles them and they're still keeping me away flats and sticking to the road in the rain. I've had none of the separation problems stated in some previous posts

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Shayla   Recreational Rider [Apr 21, 2011]
    Strength:

    Long life, puncture resistant, hold the road.

    Weakness:

    Heard of some manufacturing flaws, but haven't been a victim of any. Otherwise, found no weaknesses. They made it through an area of broken clamshells on a riverside bike path when my husband's Continental Gatorskins suffered a 1.5" sidewall cut.

    Never flatted on the Specialized AC PRO & AC PRO II tires and have used them on 3 road bikes since 2005. At correct inflation they wear well and protect tube from random debris.

    Similar Products Used: Specialized All Condition (not PRO), Michelin Pro 3 Race
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Jan   Road Racer [Mar 09, 2011]
    Strength:

    Durability great, the Armadillo casing is thick and bombproof. Running this thicker (top cap like) casing has given me confidence running over glass, debris and even so far as to make a very rigid wheelset feel more compliant. "Rubber is your friend", don't be afraid to have a little extra in the right place.

    Weakness:

    A tad heavy, but if you have a light wheelset who cares if you have another 30 grams of weight, if you flat the person with the Armadillo casing will have minutes over you.

    Specialized Pro All-Condition 700 x 23 are one of the best all-around training tire I have used. I have had very good luck with the durability and they have a nice ride quality.

    Similar Products Used: None. Specialized makes this tire in a unique way. I am done with easily cut Vittorias, I like Bontrager products, Michelin Pro 2/3 are great but suffer cuts frequently, Continental's good, Hutchinson's decent too. Have used many light, race tires. I understand with thin casings, minimal rubber much is left to luck or lack of it when it comes to durabilty.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Jazzalive   Commuter [Feb 27, 2011]
    Strength:

    Ride comfort, durability

    Weakness:

    Sticky and gritty. Moderately heavy.

    Wow, I'm surprised by some of the negative reviews of this tire. I've ridden them for over 1000 miles and have not had a single flat(knock on wood) I find them very comfortable durable. Not sure about fast though, as they are very "sticky", in that they pick up road grit all the time. I spend a lot of time sweeping the tires with my gloved hand as I ride. Maybe that accounts for me not getting lots of flats. Nice tire. Good for all weather commuting and club rides.

    Similar Products Used: Hutchinson, Specialized Roubaix, Continental Sport
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Showing 1-10 of 20