Specialized Mondo Pro Tires - Clincher

Mondo Pro

  • The Mondo road tire was carefully engineered to be the fastest race clincher in the world, with a unique dual density rubber compound, extremely low rolling resistance, puncture resistance, and extremely light weight. The slick tread incorporates motorcycle-inspired dual radius design to minimize contact in straight lines, and its wider cantilever shoulder increases contact surface and traction while cornering.
  • Casing: 120 TPI
  • Compound Center: 70a
  • Compound Shoulder: 60a
  • Bead: Aramid
  • Flat Protection: Flak Jacket
  • Dual Radius Tread design for low rolling resistance and great cornering
  • PSI: 115-125

  • User Reviews (26)

    Showing 1-10 of 26  
    Wayne J   [Feb 07, 2015]
    Strength:

    Hard wearing and long lasting. Had two punctures - new tubes and away again.

    Weakness:

    None that I have come across.

    Have done 5000Km on a set with no appreciable sign of wear and tear, and the roads I ride on are sealed with big chip. Central wear rib still sitting proud of surrounding tube. Great in wet or dry conditions. Will certainly replace with same tyres.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Fitness Rider   [Jan 14, 2013]
    Strength:

    Very smooth; Good grip; Great cornering; Red sidewalls match my bike; Over 750 miles on them so far - one flat from chunk of glass, replaced tube and tire is still great

    Weakness:

    Sides seem a little knicked, but I'm still putting miles on them.

    I would/will buy these again and do recommend them to others.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    ouibyk   Recreational Rider [Jan 09, 2011]
    Strength:

    they been good to me.

    Weakness:

    not flashy like some of the cheap import crap out there (if your into that)

    Mondo Pro....2000 miles, no issues, no flats...nuf said!

    Similar Products Used: hutchison, bontrager
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    mthrfukr   Recreational Rider [Dec 04, 2010]
    Strength:

    great grip , very predictable/controlable in a slide

    Weakness:

    didn't last long

    They came on the specialized Allez Elite I bought new. First road bike. I promptly put 1500 miles on them within 4 mounths , until the rear had a flat spot 1/2 inch wide. I never got a flat (wow!).

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Dirtypaws   Recreational Rider [Aug 14, 2010]
    Strength:

    I haven't screwed them up yet. Look nice. Dual compound is very good in my opinion

    Weakness:

    The softer outer compound does get cuts in it.

    The Specialized Mondo Pro II came on my 2010 Tarmac Comp. This is my first road bike ever and these tires have given me zero problem. They are quite nicked up from rolling over sharp stones and glass but I have never had a flat. Didn't even carry a extra tube or patch kit for the first 6 months I owned these. I weigh 185 and inflate these tires to 125psi. I hit a car once and broke my fork, but the tire was no worse for the wear.

    Similar Products Used: None
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    ptwomey   Recreational Rider [Jul 08, 2010]
    Strength:

    None. It protected the rims from the ground.

    Weakness:

    Poor resiliency. I will not buy another Specialized tire - ever.

    Second worst tire I have ever owned (first being the one I replaced it with - a Specialized Armadillo Elite - it exploded with <150 miles on it). This tire exploded during a low stress training ride on a smooth, clean road. The tire had less than 300 miles on it and was inflated to 120 psi. I am glad that I was not cornering as I would have done down given the immediate deflation.

    Similar Products Used: Michelin, Continental, Maxxis (love the Detonators on my Giant OCR-C bike)
    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    oldgeek   Recreational Rider [Nov 01, 2009]
    Strength:

    Nice looking with color match to the bike.
    Good handling.
    Zero flats or problems.

    Weakness:

    none in my experience.

    Lots of comments about this tire blowing up and such. Can't believe its the same tire I have. Came stock on my Tarmac Expert. Maybe there was a bad batch out there, or I lucked out with a good set.

    I've put 4500 km on them with zero problems. I am over 200 lbs and run 110-120 psi. After a full season there was only a little wear in the middle of the rear tire, and a couple of tiny cuts. I could not find stock of the same color to replace the rear only, so I will run another type next season. ( Using the winter bike now )

    I ride in a city and there is plenty of glass and debris. On my previous sets of tires I averaged about 6 flats per season. So I figure these are well above average.

    Handling is good, easy turns, no slipping. I am not a racer, but descending a mountain road at 70 kph was fine.

    If I could have replaced the worn rear with a matching new one I would have.

    Similar Products Used: Michelin krylion
    Bontrager race
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    bdscott@comcast.net   Road Racer [Oct 18, 2009]
    Strength:

    None

    Weakness:

    Flats, slow, and too expensive for the product.

    This tire has no durability or flat resistance. I normally average about 3 flats per year (12,000 miles). I have had 3 flats in the first 350 miles. I really don't need practice fixing flat tires. Trash can is the verdict. The tire is also slow on the climbs

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Helmsdini   Road Racer [Sep 09, 2009]
    Strength:

    They look nice, traction is acceptable in wet and dry conditions, mount very easily, seem to wear OK.

    Weakness:

    Zero flat protection, freakish blowouts on the tread where the two types of rubber meet, cut easily.

    Pretty much pure rubbish. I have had 2 sets of these tires. The first set came on my Tarmac, the second was given to me free by a friend. Within the first 2 weeks of owning the bike, the rear tire exploded as if it were overpressurized while on a training ride. I consistently checked my pressures and kept them between the suggested 115-125 PSI. Wrote off the first failure as a bad tire. Two weeks later the front tire blew in the same fashion while the bike was in the garage on the bike rack. On my second set of tires, I have experienced 5 flats in about a month- three in one century ride. The tires have several cuts on them from road debris and just overall look unhealthy so I will be changing them out soon. I will add that they mount and dismount very easily so that is a plus- especially when you are changing punctured tubes on the side of the road.

    Similar Products Used: Micheline pro 3, Hutchinson fusion 2,
    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    2
    cobra9   Recreational Rider [Sep 03, 2009]
    Strength:

    Looks

    Weakness:

    Didn't last.

    Specialized Mondo Pros' came with my Tramac. Look good. Ride good. I usually ride Conti GP 4000 and these felt good. I was on a regular ride about 700-800 mile since I got the bike and had side-wall blow out on the flats.
    Can't really comment on flat resistance or longevity.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Showing 1-10 of 26  

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.