Specialized Roubaix Armadillo Elite Tires - Clincher

Available At:
Roubaix Armadillo Elite

  • The Roubaix tires are the perfect match for the rider who wants the ultimate in performance without the harsh ride. Comfortable large volume 25c casing, merged with fast-rolling 23c Dual Radius Tread (DRT) ensure a supple ride that rolls fast and corners extremely well, all in one tire. Now with the Armadillo Elite technology: the ultimate in lightweight puncture resistance.
  • Armadillo Elite technology: the ultimate in lightweight puncture resistance
  • Casing: 25c 120 TPI casing
  • 700 x 23c dual compound tread
  • DRT design for low rolling resistance and great cornering
  • Compound Center: 70a
  • Compound Shoulder: 60a
  • Bead: Kevlar
  • PSI: 115-125

  • User Reviews (9)

    Showing 1-9 of 9  
    Brian   [Nov 30, 2012]
    Strength:

    No Flats! Smooth Ride.

    Weakness:

    Still looking for one

    After riding Michelin's and suffering a back to back flat on the same ride (due to glass in the tire that I initially couldn't feel) I decided to explore a tougher tire. I don't ride from a racing perspective so I don't have a lot to add there. I tend to ride longer endurance rides like centuries and double centuries. Prior to a century ride last summer I switched to the the Armadillos, the day before. Needless to say I was concerned about my initial ride on them being a full century but that's how it went. This particular century was the Hot Hundred starting at the University of Alabama and venturing out on some of the worst back country roads I've ever been on, think teeth rattling for most of the 100 miles. In that regard, it wouldn't matter what tires you were running but what I will say is that for flats... SAG was very busy... just not for my bike. While two of the riders I was with throughout the ride suffered flats, I had no issues. I run at about 105 PSI on them and since I weigh about 165 lbs I haven't had any wear issues even though I'm over 3000 miles on them. I do plan to change them out and make them spares before getting too far into the coming season but mostly this is from my psychological standpoint of not wanting to push to long on them and not because I see any visible signs indicating they need changing.

    Simply put, unless someone introduces me to another tire that is clearly more durable, comfortable, with a similar price tag, I will be riding this tire for many years to come.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Available At:
    Dr Meredith James   [Mar 08, 2012]
    Strength:

    Comfort, and puncture protection.

    Weakness:

    Very difficult to fit.I'll use talc next time.

    Great tyres ! They work really well on our poor road surfaces, and the extra air gives a really comfortable ride.Not as fast as 23's but in my case thats academic. I run them at 100psi. I tried 125psi, but it was tooth cracking, on our crap roads. So far no punctures.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Don Racine   Recreational Rider [Dec 04, 2011]
    Strength:

    Durable, low rolling resistance, best selection/lowest weight. Great ride, good comfort, 165lb. rider at 100psi. 200 miles/week

    Weakness:

    none

    Ride more, fix less flats, train consistantly, great all-around, all season tire. 23/25c size is optimal for this application of secondary road w/ mucho debris (broken glass, cactus tumble weeds)

    Similar Products Used: conti-gatorskins, michelen oriums
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    bill vermeulen   Recreational Rider [Feb 16, 2011]
    Strength:

    smooth ride

    Weakness:

    lasted only 800 miles

    most comfortable tires I've ridden.I thought it was the carbon frame that gave a smooth ride till I tried other tires.

    Similar Products Used: the non armadillo roubaix tires. they lasted 1200 miles
    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    dubdryver   Road Racer [Dec 15, 2009]
    Strength:

    Very Durable, Offers a good ride. If you combine with a liner, you could consider these BOMBPROOF! No flats, no drama, they just ride and ride! Also I run these at 110psi. at 174lb.

    Weakness:

    The tire is a little bit wide, and does require you to squeeze the tire through the brakes. Check to make sure your frame/fork has enough clearance. I didnt experience any clearance problems. I have the elite version on the back wheel, Pro version on the front, but I do not think either of these wheels really grip super well when you have to get on the brakes, the braking grip I will say is just average. I have gotten a small slit in the center of the tire from road debris but it has not effect the performance at all!

    I have used this tire for about 3 months now (front tire). I have just under 3k miles on them and have not had any similar problems to the other reviews. The 23/25c setup is kind of interesting at that I have not found any other tires the same, and it works. It provices a bit more cushion than a 23c with less contact patch than a 25c.

    Similar Products Used: Michelin Pro 3 (did not like, kind of soft and wore out)
    Hutchingson Fusion 2 (These I will suggest, very good durable tire)
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    sobo   Recreational Rider [Jul 29, 2009]
    Strength:

    Flat Protection--Nothing even comes close
    Flat Protection--Armadillos rule!
    Did I mention Flat Protection?

    Weakness:

    Will wear out quick under big riders
    A little pricey
    Limited distibution (Since they have the "Specialized" name on them, the only place you tend to find them are Specialized dealers and the Specialized web site)

    If you would rather spend time riding then fixing flats then you need to consider this tire. Yes, it looks big, yes it is a little slower and doesn't roll as well as your cool race tires, but they WILL NOT Flat. I would especially recommend this tire to any rider over 200 lbs. Big guys, and really big guys, believe me, this is the only tire you need. I am 6'6" and my summertime riding weight is about 260 and I have destroyed more Michelins, Vittoras, annd Contis than most of the little guys can ever dream of. I have used these exclusively for over a year now, and after close to 2000 miles I have not have a flat. And this is riding on the same roads that I could not go 100 miles without flatting other tires. Highly recommended for big guys, and also recommended for those of you who are past the wannabe-racer- gotta-look-cool-like-a-racer mode, and just want to ride without fixing a flats. The only major downside is that big riders will square off the back rather quickly. But by rotating them, you should be able to get more than 1000 trouble-free miles out of a pair (much more if you are a little guy). Don't get me wrong, I like to push myself and try to go fast, and I love the road feel of some of the racier tires, but they just do not offer the protection of these tires for a big rider like me.

    Similar Products Used: Michelin Lithion, Michelin Krylion, Continental Gatorskins, you name, I have tried it and destroyed it
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Cannondale Rider   Triathlete [May 26, 2009]
    Strength:

    puncture protection
    sticky - for wet conditions

    Weakness:

    VERY difficult to get on rims.
    Slow and bulky

    Personally, I hate these tires. While it may be true that you increase your puncture protection with these tires, you do so at the expense of increasing your chances of a compression flat. These tires need a lot of air. They are bulky and feel like you are on a touring bike. I bought these specifically for riding downtown to avoid puncture flats, but overall my "flat-tire rate" is no different than when i had Michelin pro 3 racing tires on my bike.

    Overall, i guess these tires ARE designed to do what they do, but you may find you are unnecessarily compromising on other aspects of your ride by using them.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    2
    Velomonkey   Recreational Rider [Mar 08, 2009]
    Strength:

    The ride is smooth and I have yet to get a flat. Before I was running Michelin Open Pros and got flats often. I have money and time by not having to change flats (so far ;).

    Weakness:

    These bad boys are wide. The tire lists as 23 but it looks larger than a 25. The first time I saw them on my Felt R45 it looked a commuter bike. But after 100 or so miles I grown accustomed to the look. I run 115 psi and seem to bounce a little on broken pavement, so I am still looking for the correct PSI for each ride.

    No more flats, easy to get on my Mavic Cosmos wheels and hold a line well

    Similar Products Used: Open Pro2 and 3
    Kenda Kaliente (good value)
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    camelbucks   Recreational Rider [Jun 16, 2008]
    Strength:

    Excellent puncture resistance. Fast, plush ride.

    Weakness:

    Extremely hard to get onto the rim. Use lots of talc.

    Awesome, awesome tire. Rides as fast as the 23c tires I have used, but very plush ride. Excellent durability and puncture resistance. Takes the sting out of poorly paved roads, common to the Texas hill country. Not particularly heavy considering high volume and tough shell.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Showing 1-9 of 9