Vittoria Corsa CX Tires - Clincher

Available At:
Corsa CX

150psi Front tire. For racing.

User Reviews (19)

Showing 1-10 of 19  
greg   Triathlete [May 14, 2011]
Weakness:

Can't install on zipp rims without tools.

These tires are nearly impossible to fit on a Zipp rim. I have over 10 years experience riding and racing road bikes and there is no way to install these without tools. Worst part, is I got the zipp clincher rims so I could change a tire during a long course race (ironman). If I can't install these at home, how will I ever get them changed during a race?

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Available At:
Tim Barnhart   Recreational Rider [Jun 18, 2007]
Strength:

Beautifully smooth, quiet riding.

Weakness:

Easily damaged beyond repair.

If you are wealthy or get your tires for free these are the best riding, so smooth! But they are cut easily. I've gotten about 600 miles on a pair and the rear is all chewed up with little tears and the black underlining showing through. Probably not safe to use. Vredestein Fortezza much tougher so back I go.

Similar Products Used: Panaracer Stradius Pro, Continental 3000s, Hutchinson Top Speed(AWFUL!)
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
1
Thylacine   Road Racer [Jan 12, 2004]
Strength:

Fast, light, great feel - the best road racing high pressure that I have ridden. Great for road and criteriums.

Weakness:

Not made for everyday training - these are racing tires (this is really not a weakness though).

These tires rock. Don't be mistaken, they are race tires and are not made for everyday training. They are as close to singles as you will find. Fast, grip the road like hell and light. Pump them up to 150psi and hear them hum on the road. Simply the fastest high pressures that I have ridden. They got me through the road racing season without a puncture.

Similar Products Used: Michelin, Continental, Hutchinson.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
  Recreational Rider [Aug 05, 2003]
Strength:

RIde ; less rolling resistance, handling performance, wet performance, grip, braking performance - all superior.

Weakness:

TIre is soft compound and will wear quickly. Supposedly the EVO version is better, but I have not yet tried it.

Vittoria Open Corsa CX is the best performing tire I have ridden on.The rolling resistance, handling characteristics, braking, and ride comfort are far superior to other tires I have used, including Continental GP3000, and Michelin Pro Race. THe Vittoria is a much more stable tire. However, it does not last - you pay for the performance.

Similar Products Used: Continental GP 3000, Michelin Pro Race
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Brian   Triathlete [Jun 16, 2003]
Strength:

Very supple, nice feel on the road Corner well Mount and dismount very easily - and you're going to need it

Weakness:

Soft tread cuts easily Cuts often go right through the casing

I bought six of these when I found them at a good price. They are called Open Corsa CX, they are clinchers. I'm not sure what tubular reviews are doing here. They do ride very well, they feel supple and corner well. However, they cut like nothing I ever had before. And when they cut, they typically cut right through the casing - I can't believe there is kevlar in there. I have had to throw two away so far. I just did the Spud triathlon yesterday, and I flatted about a mile from the end; this one had a cut but only a small hole through the casing, so I put a patch on the inside and I'll see if I can get some miles out of it. The two new ones will be on eBay shortly. I have no idea how long they last, I have not yet gotten 300 miles out of one of them before a terminal cut. For reference, I am a big guy - 225 lbs/102 kg/16 stone, so maybe they behave differently under the typical 150 pounder. I guess I'll go back to Michies, but I have no experience with the Axial series. I had a bunch of Hi-Lite Supercomp HDs, which were good, and BiSynergics which were fantastic. I rarely got flats in any of those and they were reasonably supple, but they don't stick as well in corners.

Similar Products Used: Michelin Hi-Lite Supercomp HD - good for the price, although you'd occasionally get one with poor tread alignment Michelin Hi-Lite Prestige - ditto Michelin BiSynergic - best tire ever? Performance
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Available At:
robert taylor   Road Racer [Jun 14, 2003]
Strength:

pretty fast, not as some others, but it gets the speed i want. NO PUNCTURES in three months. Good luck with other companies.

Weakness:

no as fast as i want them. They could be a little better for the price.

I like the tires a lot, they dont puncture or slide like the michilins. Continental stinks, I would never use them again. This is the perfect tire for me, they are loyal and i can trust them.

Similar Products Used: michilin pro race, yuck, just use these for the front. I used continental once!
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
CoreyC   Road Racer [Mar 24, 2003]
Strength:

easy to mount

Weakness:

No durability, too expensive

This is for the EVO CX tires that I was told are a replacement for the Corsa CX. Regardless, they are a total waste of money. Avoid these tires like the plague. They are the absolute LEAST durable tires I have ever ridden. After two 60 mile training rides on decent roads, I had one puncture, and cuts all through the rear tire, and some on the front as well. After variuos other rides of 30 to 70 miles, I had 3 holes on the rear tire where the rubber had been torn off and I could see the casing. So I only put about 300 miles into these tires, and they're shot. Not acceptable for $50 tires. I know they are made for racing, but so are Conti GP3000's, and they are 10x as durable.

Similar Products Used: Conti GP3K, Specialized Cipolini turbo
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Available At:
Chris   Recreational Rider [Jan 06, 2003]
Strength:

good cornering and rolling

Weakness:

extremely soft tread

These tires should be considered "race only". They do everything very well except hold up under normal riding conditions. I've gone whole seasons without a flat only to find with the Open Corsa a flat every other ride.

Similar Products Used: The Continental Ultra is a more durable product.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Nao   Triathlete [Dec 27, 2002]
Strength:

Exterior

Weakness:

Lack of durability (tread and inner tube) Price

I agree with a previous reviewer. My Corse CX tubular tires were not durable (tread and inner tube). I was disappointed with Vittoria quality. This tire is sure looked beautiful, though. I am now very happy with Tufo S3 Lite tubulars. S3 Lite is cheaper, but more superior than Corsa CX.

Similar Products Used: Tufo Jet Pro and S3 Lite, Hatchinson Tempo1
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Available At:
Itself   Recreational Rider [Oct 24, 2002]
Strength:

Cornering

Weakness:

Everything. They just do not hold up.

These tires are not very good. They wore out really fast, and the casing had so many cuts to them that it looked like someone took a machete to them.

Similar Products Used: Vredstein Tri-Comps, Michelin Pros, Conti Grand Pri 3000 4 seasons
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 19  
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At: